Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Uprising!

Today’s song choice might seem weird if you don’t live in the land of make believe brain parties like I do.  It’s a glorious world… filled with Barbies and Mr. Rogers’ sweater vests, oh and Cadbury Mini Eggs are used to pave the streets.  I actually work on the street reconstruction crew in my brain… and I’m dagnabbed happy to eat the cement.  Shut up voices in my head… back to the topic. 

Today’s song choice is Uprising by a band called Muse.  Why do I say it’s a weird song choice?  Because it was not meant to be interpreted the way my brain interprets it.  If you read the lyrics the way they are written, it’s actually about government control over people’s minds (and a little bit about psycho wards), but I don’t like government and/or psycho wards, so I’ve made up my own version of what it means.  I can do that in the land of make believe brain parties… don’t stop me!  Even if you don’t live in my glorious land, it’s got a pretty great beat to exercise to… and that’s all that really matters… said the girl in the padded room. 

Rise up and take the power back
It’s time the fat cats had a heart attack
You know that their time is coming to an end
We have to unify and watch our flag ascend

They will not force us
They will stop degrading us
They will not control us
We will be victorious

Okay, so technically it’s really only the chorus and the last verse that I can use here… but it’s kind of empowering in a way. 

Rise up and take the power back (I was powerless over my weight for so many years).  They will not control us (they as in the thoughts I had… you are worthless… you can’t do this… yes I can!)  We will be victorious (who doesn’t like the feeling of being victorious?)  This works well for any trial you may be trying to overcome… not just exclusive to weight loss (and psycho wards).  I’m taking my body and mind back… see you later, old thoughts!

4 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Whitney's Playlist

4 responses to “Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Uprising!

  1. I love songs that make me feel empowered. Good tune and I like your interpretation.

  2. Jenalee

    Yea! I love it!

  3. Lindsay

    WHITNEY YOU ROCK! Love the song and love your interpretation

  4. I love this song and this is definitely a much funner way to look at it! Adding to my workout playlist as we speak…

Leave a Reply

