Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Little Miss…

Yee Haw!!  Today is Playlist Wednesday!  Get out yer iPODS, friends… it’s time to add a new song to the playlist of inspiration!  Today’s choice is more of a warm up/warm down song.  Not much of a let’s beat someone in the head with some padded mittens song, but the lyrics are quite, for the lack of a better word, comforting. 

Not to get all depressing and whiny on Playlist Wednesday (I just realized that my name, Whitney, is almost exactly like the spelling of Whiny… except without a T and an E… Ma… do you have something you need to tell me?)   There were years and years and years when I was stuck in the “depths of despair,” literally depressed because I had no hope for ever getting out of my current situation.  I was going to be living in my cave in the basement until I rotted and the neighbors called animal control to investigate a dead skunk stuck in the storage closet.  I couldn’t see past my world of sitting and working and eating and crying and sleeping.  That was it… I was going to grow old (unless I died early due to an obesity-related medical issue, which to tell you the truth I would have welcomed at certain times) and I was going to be alone… just me and my food friends.  I even went through a phase where I was learning to accept that.  I would always tell myself… this is how your life is going to be… live with it! 

I don’t exactly remember what the turning point was for me getting out of that neverending cycle of despair, but I did!  And as I lost weight and saw success that way, I found hope… and that hope spurred me on until I began to have dreams that I told myself I could maybe accomplish one day… they weren’t just dreams for the sake of being dreams… they could become reality!!

I was out walking this past October with a brand shiny new album from Sugarland to listen to for the first time.  I love me some Sugarland… you noncountry fans need to reassess your life values, because Sugarland ROCKS… and they are pretty awesome LIVE too!  I was walking and listening to my brand new shiny album when the following song came on.  About halfway through the song I had to stop because the tears were obstructing my view (my grief… it sounds like all I do is walk, cry, and box!)… this was my story and you know what… it will be ALRIGHT! 

“Little Miss” by Sugarland (Jennifer Nettles GIRL POWER!)

Little Miss do your best,
Little Miss never rest,
Little Miss, be my guest, I’ll make more anytime that it runs out

Little Miss you’ll go far,
Little Miss hide your scars,
Little Miss who you are is so much more than you like to talk about

It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright,
Yeah, sometimes ya gotta lose ’til ya win,
It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright,
It’ll be alright again, it’ll be alright again,
I’m okay, It’ll be alright again, I’m okay, It’ll be alright again, I’m okay

Hold on, hold on, you are loved…

Looks like this song is copyrighted so none of the videos will embed here, so you will have to follow the link to YouTube to listen to the song and read the rest of the lyrics there… personally, I think it’s worth it… because you are worth it!

Why, yes... I did dangerously stop in the middle of this one-way curvy road so I could take this picture out of my car window... why do you ask?

5 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Whitney's Playlist

5 responses to “Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Little Miss…

  1. Lindsay

    Thanks Whit! I got teary eyed reading this post because I remember those years of despair . . . it hurt your sis Lindz to see you so down in the dumps ALL THE TIME! I hurt for you and wanted you to enjoy life since we only have the chance to live it ONCE (no second chances)! Now I have some peace knowing you are moving forward and not “waiting for life to end!”

    LOVE YOU!

    Your sis,

    Lindzer Loo Whoo

  2. Dessa Wade

    It does my heart so good to know that my daughter is in a better place. It does bring peace to my soul as Lindsay said. I think you are finally seeing in yourself what I have always seen in you but was buried. Sooooo happy for you and your future.

  3. Pat Mackay

    Hi Whitney: This is your #1 fan responding to this amazing blog.
    Can I tell you how excited and proud I am of you. I wish you continued success and happiness. And don’t forget, when you become famous I’m still planning on you singing at my funeral!!
    I think you’re great!!! Pat Mackay

    • Wow! THE Pat Mackay read my blog! Always love hearing from people I’ve admired along the way. Thank you for the support… as for the funeral singing… I’ll check my calendar! 😛

  4. Laci aka pb2myj

    ❤ ❤ ❤ this song Whitney- thanks for sharing! Adding to my inspirational songs!

Leave a Reply

