Barking Seals and Butt Sitting…

The title of this post pretty much sums up my past week…  I got hired on as a seal trainer at Sea World and… KIDDING!  The barking seal thing refers to the way I sound when I cough… give me a bouncy ball and an audience and I could put on a show.  As I mentioned in a post a few days ago, I’ve somehow caught the dreaded heebie jeebie cruditis synctovirus… aka nasty shopping cart handle germitis.  Okay, so there is no scientific evidence that I caught the heebie jeebies from an unsanitized shopping cart handle, but I’m totally looking for something new to cuss out Wal-Mart for… and that was the first thing that came to mind.

Since I’ve been feeling like a Mack truck ran over my noggin for the past week, I have not done a second of exercise… unless you count opening the Robitussin bottle as exercise.  Childproof cap my rear buttocks… them things are Barking Seal Proof too!  Thus, the butt sitting reference from the title.  I’ve sat on my butt every single day since Monday… and you know what… I’ve hated it.  HATED IT!  How did I do this for years on end before?  I sat on my butt every dang day of my life for YEARS!  Was it because this time I didn’t have a large Hawaiian deep dish pizza from Pizza Hut sitting in my lap?  Was it because there was no tub of ice cream in the freezer?  I actually can’t believe I’m going to say this… is it because I kind of looked forward to my exercise?  NOOOOOOOOOO… who have I become!?!?!?  I’m a shell of my former self.  I’ve gone to the dark side and am now one of those really annoying bouncy exercising people I just wanted to smack in the face before. 

Let’s not get carried away, Whitney.  I still don’t like MOST exercises.  Weight lifting… SNOOZE!!!  Treadmill walking… BORE ME A RIVER!  Running… too much jiggling of my innards… last time I ran I swear I lodged my liver up underneath my pharynx (on the plus side, that makes it much easier for me to never become an alcoholic.)  But I can honestly say, when I can’t get my walk in outdoors, I genuinely miss it.  I miss breathing in the crisp fresh air (or in the winter the smog-infested not-so-fresh air)… I miss gazing at my beautiful surroundings… mountains so beautiful they make me want to cry… and I miss the high I get when I get my heart rate going.  Nothing can replace that feeling… (I take that back… sitting in a tub of chocolate might come close!) 

Thoughts lead on to purpose, purpose leads on to actions, actions form habits, habits decide character, and character fixes our destiny.
– Tryon Edwards

Question of the Day:  What keeps you exercising? 

Note:  Thank you to all the new people (and not-so-new people) who have left me sweet messages.  It is much appreciated and I am beyond flattered.  I appreciate y’all reading my ramblings and taking the time to comment.  Have a great weekend everyone!  Monday… same time… same place?  It’s a date! 

 

17 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Little Things

17 responses to “Barking Seals and Butt Sitting…

  1. Jen

    Even though treadmills are very boring, I’ve found ways to keep myself going. First of all I make sure I am watchin’ QVC or HSN or some other infomercial. Those things completely captivate me and I forget I am even running. Even if they are selling granny panties, I am totally convinced I need to buy it by the end of my workout. Secondly, after my workout, I feel so proud of myself so I want to do it again tomorrow. Have a good weekend Whit!

  2. Dessa Wade

    I’m with you Whit, I can do a treadmill for about 20 minutes but after that I’m bored stiff. I REALLY enjoy the classes offered at the gym like Zumba, Power body sculpting, & Step interval. I find if I change it up that I’m more likely to keep it up. I also absolutely love walking outdoors for the same reason, fresh air and a natural high. BTW, I think I’m getting your crude. thanks alot

  3. Karen

    Whitney,
    I start my day reading your blog. Your humor shines through each morning. You are terrific! Hope you start feeling better. I care! Karen

  4. I have worked sooooooo hard to get where I am and I know if I relax on the exercise it will all be undone in less time than it took to get me this way in the first place.

    It’s not worth it.

  5. Gwen

    I get really cranky when I don’t get outdoors everyday. Maybe even more cranky than when I don’t get my diet coke! Honestly, before coming to Boston I could have cared less about getting a walk in everyday. But now I find that a quick 30 minute walk everyday really gives me a boost in energy and takes away any lingering depression I might have. So I feel your pain! Being sick sucks but it makes it worse when you can’t get your endorphins! I would suggest watching the entire series of Arrested Development… or Buffy…those always make me laugh 🙂

  6. Donna

    LOVE your post…as usual.
    Your posts always without fail make laugh. 🙂
    I hope you get better soon. I had that a few weeks ago,its a horrible horrible thing to catch, and I’m 99.9% sure I caught mine from walmart too.
    Get better soon girl:)

    • Donna fonna fo fanna… It is horrible… maybe we both got the disease from the exact same Wally World shopping cart handle… I’ll try to solve the mystery when I go to Wal-Mart tomorrow! 😛

  7. Ruby

    I have just read your blog for the first time and it made me laugh, I thought wow she works at Sea World centre then I read it again ha ha you have an amazing sense of humour and I can see you are going to make my day!!

    As for the cold I had one not long ago and I actually saw the bl…y lady that sneezed in front of me!!!! I was not happy, but of course it was too late! had breathed in them little germ critters. I have been told to get something called First Defence, not sure whether they sell it in the US or not but I am gonna get some though. Hope you feel better soon 🙂 and thankyou for making my day.

    ps I live in Cornwall and we too have lovely surroundings!!

    • You are sweet, Ruby! Thank you for reading my ramblings and taking the time to comment! Sneezers who forget to cover their mouth are my pet peeve. It’s nice to share, but keep the germ critters to yourself!!

  8. Louisa

    Your cold sounds horrible.
    My kids got it back in Feb. at the roller rink ( lots of germ-ie kids there!).
    Naturally, since I am the mom, they gave it to me.
    It was nasty and took awhile to get over the cough but I am happy to say we are all fine to date.

    I love to walk outside as well.
    I am NOT the gym type or even workout in my own home type ( although the weather pushes me indoors once in awhile). I will do what I have to in order to get the exercise in for that day but I would MUCH rather be outside walking.
    You are likely to find me playing on the trampoline with the kids or riding bikes through town with the family on the weekends.

    I hope you kick that nasty cold soon so you can get back out there and start feeling good again.

    • I so agree on the walking outside thing… I’ll workout (begrudgingly) indoors when I’m forced to, but come good weather… see ya’ walls! Thank you for commenting, Louisa!

  9. Louisa

    I thought of something Whitney that is SURE to help you and the dreaded cough.
    My kid’s doctor told me this yrs ago and I have found that it works every time.
    Hot steamy showers !!
    Take a hot shower ( the kind that make the bathroom walls run and steams up all the mirrors ) and breathe that steamy air in deep. Do this over and over.
    Some people do not want to take a hot shower 2 to 3 times a day to do this but I find I can take advantage of every shower my kids take and my hubby takes and of course my own after my workout and get ahead of the game.
    I know some that make a tent out of a good sized bath towel ( over your head and shoulders and the whole sink ) and run the tap on HOT HOT HOT and breathe it in that way too.
    Whatever works is what I say!
    Try it!
    You need to get breathing that steamy air 2 – 3 times / day…more if you can.
    We have a big humidifier but do to our unique circumstances, it struggles to do enough for us.
    The shower thing is what really works.
    Do this for a couple days ( 2 – 3 x/day ) and I promise you will feel SO much better and that cough will be heading out the door!

Leave a Reply

