Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Over the Rainbow…

It’s “Wizard of Oz” week over here at Craving A Life blog… pretty sure I talked about tornadoes and ruby slippers on Monday… might as well make it a theme week.  Tune in on Friday for the recipe of the day… roasted monkey heads in wicked witch stew with a braised and broiled Toto on the side!  KIDDING… no one call the animal protective services… no monkeys or Totos were harmed in the making of this post (that post was for Friday). 

I’ve always loved today’s song choice… ever since I was a wee kid and watched Dorothy sing it on a black and white screen while the scarecrow got his brain, the tin man got his heart, and the lion got his courage… and Dorothy… well, Dorothy got to hang out with a brainless scarecrow and a talking lion… how the heck cool would that be!?!?  Seriously!

The gist of the message of the song, “Over the Rainbow” is dreams.  It talks about a magical world where skies are blue and birds fly (99% sure they don’t poop on your head in OvertheRainbow Land) and there are lemon drops somewhere in there.  I have always been a daydreamer.  It’s what allowed me to escape from my fat.  In my daydreams, I was always skinny and I was successful and beautiful and everyone wanted to be my friend and no one ever made fun of me.  It was my safe place. I’ll spare you the dreams I used to have as a kid… okay, no I won’t… I always had a driver’s license and I always used that driver’s license to drive to the grocery store and buy boxes and boxes of Fruit Loops and Lucky Charms.  When I was mad at my mom for not allowing me to have those kinds of things… I would wish myself old enough to buy them myself!  I tell you, I dreamed big as a kid (LITERALLY!)  

For most of my life, my dreams were just that… dreams.  I never thought there was any way they’d ever come true.  I’d never be skinny, successful, beautiful, etc.  That wasn’t me… I would always be the fat, ugly duckling living in the basement… anything else was too far out of reach.  On this journey of mine, I’ve let myself believe that I could accomplish those dreams.  I may never be the skinniest gal on the block or the most beautiful, but I can be the best me I can be… and I can be successful.  There’s nothing I can’t do if I put my mind to it… NOTHING.  One day I’m going to buy me a piece of land in that city over the rainbow… I’ll buy my land and sit out on my front porch with my lemon drops and sing a song about a rainbow.  It will be glorious… and I hope you all will find some real estate there too… I need me some neighbors!   

Over the Rainbow by Ingrid Michaelson

Somewhere over the rainbow
Way up high,
There’s a land that I heard of
Once in a lullaby.

Somewhere over the rainbow
Skies are blue,
And the dreams that you dare to dream
Really do come true.

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
And wake up where the clouds are far
Behind me.
Where troubles melt like lemon drops
Away above the chimney tops
That’s where you’ll find me.

Somewhere over the rainbow
Bluebirds fly so high.
Birds fly over the rainbow.
Why then, oh why can’t I?

There are many, many, many beautiful renditions of this particular song, but I’ve found myself listening to this version the most when I’m walking… very calming. 

Question of the Day:  What are your biggest dreams?

 

20 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Whitney's Playlist

20 responses to “Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Over the Rainbow…

  1. deannawade@gmail.com

    I love reading your blog and for your information I have always thought you were beautiful–in and out.

  2. Avster

    Your fan club members are going to be informing you that you’ve always been beautiful. I suppose there may be an exception or two when you were being Oscar the Grouch but I’m sure those times were few and far in between.

    As for success… let me quote my good friend Clarence Oddbody.
    “Dear George, remember no man is a failure who has friends.”

    • I am always Oscary… we should totally get the roles in Sesame Street… you can be Grover and I’ll be Oscar! WOOOO HOOOOO! Meanwhile… Clarence Oddbody, eh? But he is right… I do have some great pals… like Avster!

  3. dessa wade

    Awesome Whitney!!! Cheesy as it may sound, my biggest dream right now is for my daughters to realize their full potential and see in themselves what I see. And to find joy in the everday things of life.

  4. Rex Wade

    I am amazed at the clarity of your feelings. I am super proud of the journey you are making. And this all comes from the strength from within you. I know the beauty from within and without you and love you very much!! I Love you!!! dad

  5. Lauren

    My beloved mother in law adored this song. She passed away 2.5 years ago from breast cancer. When you asked what I dream of, I automatically wondered what she dreamed of and why the song meant so much to her. I guess I’ll have to ask my hubby and see if she ever told him.

    My dream? My dream is to be the healthiest and happiest bread winner mom possible. My hubby stays at home with my darling 2 yr old (never met his beloved Nana unfortunately) so I get to work full time. I do get a lot out of working. I just wish I could do BOTH. Being healthy is a hard dream. Healthy to me means wearing regular clothes, keeping up with my son (he’s FAST!), and living long enough to grow old with my hubby (he’s 9 yrs younger than me). That’s what I want.

    Thanks for the inspiration!
    Lauren

    • Sorry to hear about your MIL… I bet she’s in her city over the rainbow as we speak! Sounds like a very attainable dream, Lauren! Your lil’ guy will thank you for taking care of yourself!

  6. I think there have been so many remakes of that song because it is something that everybody can relate to. Ingrid’s is one of my faves. I really like the version that Iz sings, even though it’s overplayed. He’s an extremely talented dude who died long before he should have due to weight problems. Makes the song even more poignant for me. Save me a spot in over-the-rainbow land. I’ll get there someday too.

  7. Louisa

    Great blog, Whitney.
    I enjoy the read.
    Call me old fashioned but I think I still prefer the original “Somewhere Over The Rainbow”.
    Good to mix it up though.

    Dreams? Well, I dream of being happy and content in my own skin again.
    I dream of my husband being proud to have me on his arm again and his libido coming back ( for me ).
    I dream my kids learn from my experience with my wt gain & my wt loss that they CAN take the time each day to do this for themselves.
    I was one of those that said ” I don’t have the time” and it was just another excuse. I got really good at excuses – but NO MORE!
    I dream about getting out and trailriding with my friends again.
    I dream my kids are good Christians, are healthy, happy, and successful.
    Those are just some of the things I dream about….

    • Louisa… Judy Garland’s version is awesome… I used to watch that part of Wizard of Oz where she sang he song over and over and over.

      As for your dreams… ALL attainable. You got this!

  8. Laurie John

    My favorite song – but I wish you would have recorded your own self singing it – that would be AWESOME!

  9. Jen

    Whitney
    Did you take that picture of a rainbow? If so you are quite a photographer! I will buy a house next to you over the rainbow. Just let me know where it is.

  10. Alene

    I LOVE that picture! I would love to send it to my son! Those people who live in that house in the middle are SO lucky. Lucky to live right under a rainbow and lucky to have made it on to this fabulous blog. I hope you don’t mind my lurking. You are such an inspiration to me. Whenever I am overwhelmed by something that seems just too difficult to change, I think of you and your persistence and good humor and it gives me such a lift! Your posts make me laugh and cry. You are amazing, Whitney! And I have always thought that. Watching your journey just confirms what we all already knew about you: You are the best!

    • Wow, Alene!! That is the highest compliment ever! Thank you!! I don’t mind you lurking… anyone who has the patience to read my ramblings is a saint in my eyes! As for the picture… I’ll send you the bigger version… I’m sure your house will make many more appearances here! I love the view!

Leave a Reply

