Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Good Life…

Ask anyone who knows me well (all 2 people) and they’ll tell you I’m the queen of sarcasm!  Like, if there was a sarcastic person convention, I would be the club president.  Kind of like the “Hair Club For Men” but for sarcastic people… with and without hair follicles.  I think there is a place for sarcasm… in a teasing sort of way… and I have a dagnabbed blast with that kind of sarcasm; sparring back and forth with my sarcastic buddies (holla… you know who you are)!  But then there’s the brand of sarcasm that can also make a person very cynical and ugly and hateful and negative.  I’ve had that brand of sarcasm before.  For most of my life, I can’t ever say that I saw the glass half full… it was more all the way empty, crushed by a giant flat-footed Gildabeast, and then served at the local diner masquerading as Oatmeal.  Mmmm… shardy.       

I can guarantee you the reason I was so sarcastic and negative and hateful was because I didn’t like myself nor the life I was making for myself.  My hateful brand of sarcasm was a defense mechanism to hide that fact.  I think I covered up my negativity somewhat when I was out in public (the few times they had a sale at the donut shop), but when I was home alone or with my family, it was full force on the negativity train… we make stops at Self Loathing Avenue and Needs An Attitude Adjustment Boulevard! 

My constant negativity was wearing me down… pulling me into that pit of “you are worthless and stupid” brain parties… and when you feel that way about yourself, where are you going to find the strength and that little spark of hope needed to make a change?  It’s buried so deep you’d need to hire a construction crew and a couple of sticks of dynamite to dig it out.

The song choice today is “Good Life” by OneRepublic (one of my favorite bands)!  Because despite all the trials and tribulations and hard times, 50% of my outlook on life is determined by my attitude (TOTALLY just pulled that percentage out of my rear… take that statisticians!!)  I could waltz around my life (except, not really waltzing because I’ve been banned from ever moving in any sort of dancing motion to any kind of music in public ever again) seeing everything with a grey hue and depress myself to spinach season and back… or I could don my rose-colored glasses every once in a while, do a jig,  and actually take a good long look at the blessings in my life.  They are there, despite how many times I wanted to cover them up with all the “short end of the stick” problems I had.  I truly do think it takes twice as much energy (wow, being a statistician is totes the easiest thing in the world) to stew in your own negativity than it does to have a grateful outlook.  I know my brand of stewing didn’t do a thing for my energy levels… and talk about zit city, batman!

Now I wear my rose-colored glasses every once in a while… every time I do, I’m building up that faint spark that’s buried deep down in my nether regions.  It is a good life… most of the time!    

Good Life by OneRepublic

When you’re happy like a fool
Let it take you over
When everything is out
You gotta take it in

Oh, this has gotta be the good life
This has gotta be the good life
This could really be a good life, good life

Say oh, got this feeling that you can’t fight
Like this city is on fire tonight
This could really be a good life
A good, good life

 

 
 

I immediately smiled like a toothless idiot when I saw this sign... can't put my finger on why?

 

Question of the Day:  Put on your rose-colored glasses right now… what are you grateful for at this exact moment?

 

9 Comments

Filed under Little Things, Whitney's Playlist

9 responses to “Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Good Life…

  1. Jen

    Good song Whitney. Good thing I have you to keep me up to date on popular music. I usually only listen to the songs on the Lawrence Welk show! JK! Today I am grateful for being healthy and able to do everything I need to without needing help.

  2. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    I think the song choice is a good one!

    I think the reason that pic makes ME smile is b/c it looks like the sign is framing the scenery ( like a picture frame ) and it is just a very nice positive scene that stretches out forever and is very hopeful.

    I am a very positive ( cup is mostly full ) and open person and I am very thankful, grateful, and blessed most of the time.
    I, of course have my days though when I have to remind myself how blessed I truly am.
    Thank you Whitney for reminding me.

    Of course, I am thankful for my home and our healthy, happy, and beautiful kids.
    I am thankful for my life (b/c I could have easily lost it after giving birth to my youngest child).
    I am thankful for my husband who is one of the good ones even though he can be a (capital letters here )
    J E R K sometimes.
    Can’t say that I am always the easiest person to figure out sometimes…(in whispered tones for fear that he might hear me admit that…lol).
    I am thankful he is a hard worker, a good provider, and our protector. I guess we all can’t be great at everything but he is great at those things.
    I am thankful I get to stay-at-home & homeschool our kids and be the other side of the coin.
    I am a good teacher, affectionate mother, money-saver, disciplinarian, and decision-maker.

    It is a good life!

    • LOL, Louisa… whispered tones are my specialty! What happens on this blog stays in Vegas! 😛

      It sounds like you have a ton of great blessings! That attitude of yours will take you far!

  3. Chrissy

    I’ve never heard of this band before, but I love this song! It made me think of warm summer days when I take my children swimming in my parents’ pool and then we lay on the hammock or front porch swing eating popsicles. My son always loves to say, “Ahhh, this is the life.” 🙂

    I am grateful today for my kids, and the chance to give them a good life.

  4. seth

    smoked almonds…mmmm good!

Leave a Reply

