Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Life Is Beautiful!

Today’s song choice is one of my ultimate favorite songs of all time… it just makes me happy.  Listening to the lyrics, there were a few (or 50) different directions I could take this post, so I decided to narrow it down to 2 (be grateful… an hour ago I had it narrowed down to 49-1/2… you are welcome).  On to disjointed thoughts number one and two!

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve gone out in public and had remarks about my appearance… finger pointing… snickering… immature boys doing cat calls… losers rolling down their car window just to yell something real clever like at me when I’m walking (it’s a dagnabbed good thing I wore red mittens during the winter… hi Ker-Lissa… I gave a nice hearty wave to those hormone balls and they had no idea how many finger(s) I was holding up with them mittens on!)  Oh, the list is endless for what some of these mature folks will stoop to feel better about themselves.  I’ve always let it bother me… sticks and stones do break bones and words DO hurt… especially when your self confidence level is in the crapper anyway.  

Let the monsters see you smile,
Let them see you smiling.

I’m learning to smile through it… they don’t deserve to have any sort of a hold over me… that’s for danged sure.  I know that I’m improving myself… I know how far I’ve come and how hard I’ve worked to get to this point.  In the end, I have a leg up on them… I am making myself a better person and they are stuck down in their pit of self esteem-less misery trying desparately to grasp at anything to help them get out of it.  I should be the one feeling sorry for them… not the other way around.

***********************

Stand where you are.
We let all these moments pass us by.

Oscar the Grouch reporting for duty!  This stupid weather… it’s too dagnabbed cold and grey and my plantar fasciitis is flaring up and I swear I just cut off my little toe in a sidewalk crack incident and I want to move into my own house and I want to retire from working and sail the 7 seas (not really), and I hate spinach and germs and dogs and people who sneeze without covering their mouths and… WOW!!!  Slap a sticker on my forehead and call me Sponge Bob Cranky Pantyhose.  If I complained anymore, they’d have to duct tape my mouth shut and lock me in the dumpster. 

I’m too dagnabbed busy complaining about what isn’t to see what is!  I just need to stand still, shut the heck up (that’s a FEAT for me… a FEAT!), and savor all the little moments of life… a beautiful sunset (uhhh…what’s a sunrise?)… the fact that I am finding walking hills MUCH easier than I did last year at this time… there was a blue sky for part of the day today… I ate some most delicious grape tomatoes…  my Easter lily is blooming and making me happy…  What seems like a normal day-to-day occurence is a miracle really.  Perspective makes all the difference.  Overall, Life is Beautiful… even when some of it is ugly!

Life Is Beautiful by Vega 4 (This didn’t happen intentionally, but when I was looking on YouTube for a video of this song, I came across this one… a video made to one of my favorite songs about my all-time favorite TV family… the Taylors from Friday Night Lights!  It was meant to be!)

Life is beautiful
We love until we die

When you run into my arms,
We steal a perfect moment.
Let the monsters see you smile,
Let them see you smiling.

Do I hold you too tightly?
When will the hurt kick in?

Life is beautiful, but it’s complicated.
We barely make it.
We don’t need to understand,
There are miracles, miracles.

Yeah, life is beautiful.
Our hearts, they beat and break.

When you run away from harm,
Will you run back into my arms,
Like you did when you were young?
Will you come back to me?

I will hold you tightly
When the hurting kicks in.

Life is beautiful, but it’s complicated,
we barely make it.
We don’t need to understand,
There are miracles, miracles.

Stand where you are.
We let all these moments pass us by.

It’s amazing where I’m standing,
There’s a lot that we can give.
This is ours just for a moment.
There’s a lot that we can give.

Meanwhile, I had to laugh like a hooligan when after my post yesterday about fast food, I stepped outside today and this was right outside my door... who drove by and planted it? Fess up... Im on to you!

Question of the Day:  What did you smile about today? 

16 Comments

Filed under Whitney's Playlist

16 responses to “Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Life Is Beautiful!

  1. cl2

    And dogs! To know is to love one. My dogs are the 2 things that kept me alive. Losing them was really the hardest thing I’ve ever been through.

    But I know there are cat lovers and dog lovers–and I know you love your cat.

    Fat really is the “last” prejudice. I love those people who have said to me over the years when I haven’t wanted to go out to dinner with them or something, “You don’t look that bad” and then say things like, “I’m so fat” when they have 6 pounds they want to lose. I am SO WEARY of people asking me “do I look fat in this?” When they are 150 pounds at 5 feet 9 inches. And the medical community has been useless as far as I’m concerned.

    My therapist asked me once–when I was in the worst days of my life–how I felt about my weight. I said I just didn’t have time for it at the time. When I had time . . . (You know who he is, Whitney). Did you know he has struggled with weight all his life and his focus in college was weight issues. He was 211 pounds at age 12. He asked me who I knew who was overweight and to get back to him about it. The best people I’ve ever known are/were overweight. All my best friends are overweight. My dad was overweight all my life and he is one of my heros (they called him Kong where he taught school). Men aren’t treated quite as poorly for being overweight though. All his brothers and sisters were overweight, too–and wonderful people. Can’t ask for a better group to be associated with.

    When I talked about disappearing–I meant–I can’t diet and get shorter, so why can I diet and get thinner? Where do “I” go when I lose weight? Seems mind-bending to me.

    Yes–at least there was sun yesterday! My doctor has prescribed vit D3. My level is about 1/10th what it should be. Hope that will help! I think we live in the wrong place!

    • I like nice dogs… I used to have a paper route around ages 11 to 13 and I was bit at least 2 times by dogs on that route… that’s why I’m a bit nervous around the ones that bark at me when I’m walking! I bet your dogs wouldn’t have bit me!! I must have smelled like bacon.

      I’m on vit. D3 too… you should notice a bit of a difference in your energy level after you get your D up… it also helps bring the calcium up too.

      Your dad sounded like quite the character… Kong. I agree that fat really is the last prejudice. You could miss out on knowing so many quality people by labeling them as fat and lazy.

  2. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Another great post, Whitney.
    I haven’t seen “Friday Night Lights”. Looks good though.

    I have my ‘miss grouchy-pants’ days too. With kids at home all the time ( I homeschool ) I have to find the beauty in every little thing so I can be positive for myself and for them.
    I am thankful every day!
    When other people are being hateful or toxic, I have to remember that they are going through something to lash out at others. I also think of the saying, “Those that anger you controls/ conquers you”. It is hard but I don’t give them the reaction they are going for and it stops with me. I also pray for that person / persons.

    Question of the Day: What did you smile about today?

    These things make me smile…

    Our kids make me smile each and every day. I am so blessed to be able to stay home with them and educate them. They are active, healthy, energetic, amusing, generous, and very social.

    Our kids are terrific sleepers, so sound, and so complete. Makes me feel great knowing my husband & I give them that safety and security. ( I know that doesn’t sound like much but I don’t take it for granted b/c I didn’t have that growing up ).
    They look like angels and I am so blessed. They are bright, happy and healthy and well rounded…
    I couldn’t ask for more.

    Flowers make me smile. I just love them and am thankful that I can grow most anything. We plant flowers and vegetables every year.

    Animals make me smile and laugh out loud. Our horses are hilarious and they honestly seem to have human characteristics sometimes.
    Our full-figured-kitty is a complete nut and she cracks us up daily.
    I love my backyard birds and spoil them to no end. We love to listen to them, name them, and watch their funny antics.

    My husband makes me smile too. He is always up to something and has a twisted sense of humor. You just never know with him…

    A good book can make me smile or laugh out loud. I love books. My kids get that naturally…lol. Need that bumper sticker that says “I brake for book sales”.

    Love the pictures you took, Whitney. What a view you have!
    God is great!
    The Easter lilies are gorgeous! Such happy blooms!
    The McD’s trash on your doorstep was just a – t e s t. You passed with flying colors!!! Good for you!

    Maybe do a blog on smells. Smells that make you weak in the knees or bring up your spirits or make you want to hurl….
    LOL
    ~Just a thought.

    • I love how you talked about your cat as full-figured… I’m going to have to tell my sister to use that on her cat. He’s quite the big’un! I agree that animals can make you smile… I have a little runt cat who is 21 years old, I’ve had her since I was 11 years old and she always makes me happy… well… unless I wake up to find she’s thrown up on the floor again!

      Great idea bout the smells blog. I’ll add that one to my list. Gracias!

  3. Avster

    I’m glad you were able to put the mittens to good use!

    I have a feeling that if I lived in your neck of the woods you would be blaming me for the MickeyD trash bag!

  4. makingitperm

    great post again. people never grow up and respect, consideration and tact are no longer in most peoples vocabulary.

    Beautiful photos again! hello, amazing! I wish I could take pictures of snoooooooooooooow!

    really someone left mcdonalds on your doorstep? wtf? if you find out who did that we’ll get a mob together and beat them with sticks for being so rude.

  5. Dessa Wade

    Whit, thanks for this insightful post. I have watched your reaction in the past when rude people would make rude comments and I so wanted to walk over to them and give them a piece of my mind. Don’t they get it? You should walk with your head held high and know within your own self that you are an awesome individual.

  6. Jen

    I can’t believe someone left McDonald’s on your porch. Was it an empty bag or did it have something good inside? I also thought it was funny that this video has your boyfriend in it.

    • Haha, Jen!! I think it was a coincidence that the McD bag was blown onto the driveway with the wind or something… it was empty, but it was just the weirdest thing… especially considering I had just talked about it the day before!

  7. Jessica

    Whitney, most of your posts make me laugh, but this one brings tears to my eyes. I hate mean people. Why do random people think they need to speak or yell at us at all? If we all could look at others like God sees us…or as our parents see us….we would NEVER say hurtful things.

Leave a Reply

