Weight Loss For Dummies…

I’m not only a member… I’m the club president (yes, the dummy club president)… we meet 7 days a week and mostly talk about dumb things like being dumb and hmmmm… my mind is blanking… that’s about all we talk about.  I had a request on MyFitnessPal (what up, Julie!?) to answer some questions.  Since I didn’t really have a planned topic for today to ramble on for 4000 hours about, I decided to answer them in blogging format. 

DISCLAIMER:  I know nothing, I have no official title of brilliance, and I am not offering this as advice… just spouting about the things that have worked for me.  If you enjoy “die”ting, best not be reading these answers because I don’t “die”t.  If you think sugar and carbs are the devil… again, avert your eyes because I eat them daily.  If you think all things in moderation is a stupid weight loss regimen… get the crimeny puffs off my blog!  😛  KIDDING!  You are welcome to still be here and mock my ways.  Like my good friend, what’s his name says… if it ain’t broke… don’t the crap fix it!   

1) What meals do you eat most often ?  I go through phases in my eating.  There are times where I’ll eat the same thing every day until one day I wake up and cannot even bear to look at the thing anymore… then I move on to obsessing about the next meal… eventually I do come back to the favorites, but I have to have a break now and then.  My favorite meals of late:

–  Taco salad with beans, lettuce, tomatoes, fat free cheese, Baked tortilla chips, etc.
–  Salad bar with an assortment of veggies and fruits, cheese, sunflower seeds, etc., topped with my favorite dressing… Hellman’s raspberry vinagrette (which only comes in the travel pack sizes… are you kidding me right now!?)
– Baked potato with either those 90 to 100 calorie single serving Green Giant veggies (the ones that have the broccoli with cheese sauce or the cauliflower with cheese sauce), light sour cream with a package of dry dip mix mixed into it, or my vegetarian chili on the top of it.
– Subway 6-inch veggie sub with provolone cheese

2) What is your favorite snack(s), and is ANYTHING taboo now?  Nope… nothing is taboo!  I can’t do the whole taboo thing or I freak out and eat the refrigerator… all things in moderation.  As for snacks, I’m fond of almost anything that is carby… lately I’ve been eating a toasted Thomas cinnamon raisin bagel (11o calories) with a tablespoon of regular whipped cream cheese (30 calories) and then a few strawberries…   I also really like granola bars, chip’ins, peanuts, apple slices with peanut butter, baby carrots and cucumbers with string cheese, etc.   

3) Did you end up dieting differently the last 30 pounds then you did in the beginning?  Not really… I’ve been trying to get in more protein recently since I’m a vegetarian and need more protein… but other than that it has always been All Things In Moderation (does anyone feel like they want to smack the dagnabbed broken record)?  
 
4) Did you experience plateaus or consistent loss?  I’ve had so many plateaus along this journey, they almost renamed the plateau, the Whitney stall… seriously… look it up on Wikipedia (but wait until I’ve put the page up before you Google anything).  
 
5) If plateaus were in the picture, how did you get back to losing weight again?  Just pressing on.  Staying under my calories and moving.  Not much of changing anything up.  It’s simple math… if you burn more calories than you take in, you will lose weight.  Sometimes the body has an adjustment period where it catches up to your previous loss.  I figure during plateau time my body is just on vacation in the Bahamas and will cooperate again once it’s recuperated.
 
6) What is the biggest piece of advice you could give the rest of us?  I’ve learned a LOT of things over the years (most of which I can’t remember… what continent am I on?), but I think my biggest advice is never looking at this journey as a “die”t… it’s a way of life… not something you can quit.  So, make sure you are doing something to lose the weight that you will be comfortable doing for the rest of your life.  No restrictions… just moderation. 
 
7) If you had to lose it all again, would you do it the same way?   Abso-FRUIT-ly yes!  I did have to lose it all again… when I gained all 180 pounds of weight back and stretched out my stomach after my bypass surgery, after that I did it the right way!
 
8) What is your favorite exercise, how long and how often?  Walking outdoors… hands down… it’s free, easy, free, and does wonders for the mood and attitude… fresh air, that is.  I at least try to do some walking 4 days a week for at least 45 minutes, sometimes it’s more like 60 minutes 6 days a week… depends on the week, the weather, who is on Oprah and Maury Povich, and whether my plantar fasciitis is acting up.

9) How about water… do you really drink 64 oz a day? Still?  I do drink at least 64 ounces of water a day.  I hear how many ounces you drink is supposed to be according to your weight… but when I put my weight into the equation it told me I’d have to drink 3 oceans worth of water per day.  Um… sorry… ain’t happening!  
 
10) Do you look at your past differently now than you did before you lost weight?   I truly think coming to terms with your past is part of the process, so, yes, I guess you could say I do look at my past differently.  There are things from my past that have physically kept me from any form of weight loss that I have confronted along this road and am now at peace with.  But there are still a lot of places I haven’t gone… and won’t go… yet.   It’s a total package… every last one of your demons and multiple personalities… they all need to be on board the “losing” train to win!

 Question of the Day:  What are your favorite meals? (Looking to change up my menus on occasion, folks!)

23 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Exercise

23 responses to “Weight Loss For Dummies…

  1. cl2

    Okay–go back to bed now–or do you write these at night?

    New meals? You are a vegetarian! The BEST thing I purchased recently was a George Foreman grill–and being from Brigham City, I love Maddox turkey steaks. My daughter can’t live without them (and has had to as she lives away from here at least half the year). She came home yesterday and I made sure she had two 9 pack bags to keep her and I going for the next few days. The best they’ve ever cooked for me is on the grill. I think they are over 300 calories each, but very filling, and my daughter has lost weight on them. She never had to lose much, but she is VERY FIT now. She eats a lot of plain yogurt and frozen fruit. I don’t like yogurt. She also eats cold cereal as a snack. Her favorite is Rice Chex–and she loves McDonald’s oatmeal and her 2 friends she was living with eat it on their diet. You can get it any time of the day–not just breakfast.

    Me–I don’t like yogurt or cold cereal or oatmela. Just thought I’d throw that in. I obviously raised my children different than I raised myself as I fed them all those things from babyhood on up. They have entirely different tastes than either other or I do–so being a single mother, we never much ate the same things as each other.

    Thanks for posting what you eat.

    And for me–so many people have tried to talk me into doing other exercise–going to the gym, etc., and I NEVER LAST. Walking–I love it so much that it at least lasts for sometimes months at a time. No treadmills, etc., for me (I’ve tried them all). That fresh air even in winter keeps me from losing my mind.

    • Haha Colleen! I do write these at night too. I have always wanted to just get a whole week’s worth of blogs done on Saturday or Sunday, but then I never can think of anything to write, so I do one a day at like 3 in the morning! STUPID!

      Back when I ate meat, I used to LOVE those turkey steaks!! Especially with some jellied cranberry sauce. Mmmmmm… kinda makes me miss them! One of these days I might go unvegetarian just to have some good meat.

      Couldn’t agree more about the walking outdoors versus the BORING treadmill! I am also not a yogurt fan… just never can stomach it!

  2. I really love baked potato with cottage cheese on top. I could have 2 potato’s and that for a lunch. It started as an alternative to sour cream when I never had any. I started using it instead of chip dip because that made me sick too often (okay only made me sick afer eating a cupful or more, which I usually did). The family all do it, now, too. Pain chips with cottage cheese to dip it in. Now MFP says my cottage cheese is full of sodium, wut?? So I’ll be in search of a lower sodium version.

    • LOVE me some cottage cheese on a baked potato… and now that I read labels more, the sodium smacks me upside the head! HOW!?!?!? I was also a fan of eating pain (and Plain) chips with dip and cottage cheese… mmmmm… If you find a lower sodium cottage cheese, you let me know!

  3. Not pain chips, btw, plain chips AKA ruffles style.

  4. Jen

    I love stir fry with brown rice. It is quick, easy, and healthy. Last night I made a breakfast frittata that had eggs, potatoes, bell peppers, and a little cheese. It is healthy and has protein too.
    Jen

    • I need to get off my butt more and make stir fry because I LOVE it. Especially a sweet and sour stir fry. That frittata sounds good, Jen… I like all of the ingredients!

  5. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: What are your favorite meals? (Looking to change up my menus on occasion, folks!)

    I really haven’t changed the way I cook for myself and my family. I still use fresh or frozen ingredients, I don’t add additional salt, and I don’t buy processed items. I cook from scratch 90% of the time and am conscience about what I use and substitute…
    I don’t bake as much now. I did make homemade banana nut muffins just yesterday. I don’t usually keep baked items within reach but I needed to use up some ripe bananas.
    My Dh & kids love them. I had one yesterday and it was 200 cals. I had one and am not tempted now.

    I love my fresh fruit smoothies and they are naturally sweet and filling and I know I am doing something good for myself. I usually take my vitamins at the same time.

    I eat a lot of protein
    ( hard boiled eggs, string cheese, apples with natural peanut butter, plain yogurt in my smoothies, milk, refried beans, nuts, tuna salad, meats).
    I literally keep a string cheese and a fresh apple and a couple bottles of water with me at all times if I leave the house).

    I eat pretty much what I want but I use a measuring cup ( the one cup ) to measure out my portions.
    I have stopped licking all the spoons and bowls and containers like a little kid. I have stopped cleaning up the leftover food on my son’s plate too. Better to just wash them in the sink and not be tempted.
    I use a small spoon when I eat so that I slow down and chew my food and take my time.
    I use a smaller plate as well.
    *I do this when we are out at a potluck or buffet as well…

    I drink a lot of water a day…usually 8-10 glasses a day.
    If I have fruit juice, I water it down ( I can’t tell the difference).
    I drink a glass of milk per day.

    I still buy the burrito size tortillas for my Dh & kids but I bought the taco size ones for me. I like to make homemade fresh chicken quesadillas and bean & cheese mini-burritos for myself and top them with fresh salsa.

    I also like to share this Layered Taco Dip with my family or take it to a potluck event :
    Spread 1 can refried beans on bottom of 9×13 pan.
    Combine 1c. sour cream, 1c. mayo, and 1 pkg of taco seasoning. Spread over beans.
    Spread approx. 2 cups of grated cheese (whatever you like) over sour crm/mayo mixture.
    Top with thinly sliced green onions and sliced black olives, if you prefer.
    Serve cold with tortilla chips! ( also good with low cal crackers)
    Refrigerate left overs.

    Keep on Keepin’ on….

    • Looks like I need to come over to your house for dinner, Louisa! Thank you so much for the 2 recipes… they look delicious. I just might have to try the bean salad here soon since it looks like it is good on protein and that’s something I could definitely use more of.

      I also love the small plate idea… it’s all about tricking the mind. And yes… it is a must to take your time when eating so it has a chance to tell you that you are full.

  6. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Oh I forgot! I wanted to post this new Four Bean Salad recipe that I love love love and it has lots of protein.
    Keep in mind that you could substitute for the dressing if you don’t want to make it homemade. This makes quite a bit by the way.
    It is a little sweet, and a little tangy, a little crunchy, and A LOT of flavor.
    Keep in mind that I am NOT a bean lover and I LOVE this salad…

    Whitney, your favorite dressing… Hellman’s raspberry vinagrette would probably be delicious on this!

    Housemade Four Bean Salad:
    1/2 cup white vinegar
    1/2 cup white sugar ( you could substitute but it really isn’t a lot of sugar when you see how much this recipe makes)
    1/2 cup canola oil (needs to be a light oil)
    1/2 cup chopped onion ( or 1/2 of a large onion)
    1/4 cup chopped green bell pepper
    1/4 cup chopped red bell pepper
    14.5 oz canned cut green beans ( you can also use frozen)
    1 can red kidney beans ( rinsed and drained real well)
    1/2 pkg. frozen lima beans ( optional )
    ~ In a large mixing bowl, combine all dressing ingredients and mix well. Combine rest of ingredients and mix well; cover and chill 4 hrs or overnight.
    Enjoy.

  7. Donna

    I think I can speak for all of us when I say THANK YOU for posting what you do. Also for ALWAYS being our cheerleader! I’ve been in such a rut lately not really caring or counting, but I’m back at it, and I have remember its NOT a DIEt its a life change.

    THANK YOU!!!!:)

    • Donna sweetness… I hate that you are having a hard time right now, but I already know that you can do it because you HAVE been doing it. Just be nice to yourself and allow yourself treats… You got this!

  8. Yay moderation!!! My favorite thing 🙂

  9. I LOVE breakfast foods, which is why I can’t “die”t. I like to make me an omelette with one egg and 2-3 egg whites, a little bit of cheese, and pile it onto Sara Lee delightful wheat toast. Yum!

    You continue to inspire me! I have been doing MFP for a few weeks. So far just a few pounds lost, but a few pounds is a few pounds, right? I am in need of all the support I can get, as I tend not to stick to these plans. Will you be my friend? 😉

    • Jami! I am a total omelette fan myself! Love that you can put so many things into it and have a whole meal!

      As for being MFP friends… OF COURSE!!! My username on there is WhitneyW78… if you go to the home page, click on the Community tab (far right) and then under it should say Find Members… click on that and copy and paste my username into the search. Look me up! Congrats on your few pounds off… ANY amount off is a good thing! 😀

  10. MJ5898

    Wonderful post, Whitney!!! As someone just starting out of this journey – relatively speaking seeing as how I have lost 52# but still have another 5,000 or so to go (okay really just 208 but you know what I mean) – it is so inspiring to read tips from a weight loss expert such as yourself! You speak honestly and practically, which is a refreshing change from the clatter one hears most of the time – fad “die”ts, eat this, but never that, etc. So thanks for continuing to be my heroine!!!

    • HA! MJ… 5000 pounds left… is that all? That’s nothing when you think about it! You are sweet and I have mucho respect for you because you keep on trucking along despite all of the setbacks. That is the secret to success and you, my friend, are on your way!!

  11. Deanna

    I am not much of a cook. My favorites lately include a fresh salad with lots of veggies and like you, a Raspberry Vinagerette. I also have become a huge fan of omlettes. You can do so much with them. Spinach, mushrooms, cheese…oh the possibilities are endless. So much protein too! Some vegetarians don’t eat eggs, but in case you do I thought I would throw that in there. Also, I love good old fashioned spaghetti. No need for meat like some do. Just a good whole grain pasta and sauce with some veggies added. YUM!

    • I LOVE me some eggs and omelettes are awesome because, like you said, you can put everything into an omelette and it’s a meal! Eggs aren’t just for breakfast any more. I’m also in love with pasta! Mmmmm… now I’m going to have to make me that next week some time!

  12. Liz

    Your dinners sound like mine. Salad probably 5x per week and then eat out or cook something the other two. We change up the salads though with a Mexican salad (salsa and lime instead of dressing with black beans, corn, avocado). The fancy salad with baked butternut squash, almonds and raisens on top of lettuce. The Asian salad with almonds, oranges and soy sauce. Subway is definitely my quick meal of choice. Chili is always yummy and lasts for a while… Or homemade pizza.

    • Ironic that our meals are near the same. I’m loving your different salad ideas, though… I never thought to do an Asian one… added it to the list! I love making a huge batch of chili and then using it for the whole week in different meal options… and who doesn’t love homemade pizza? Thanks, Liz!

  13. kim

    Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Awesome advice once again!

Leave a Reply

