Guest Blogger: Madre of Whitinitis and Her Thoughts On Global Warming

Whitney’s Note:  Bwahahahahahaha… oh my SNORING!  No worries, friends… I read over Madre’s entry about global warming and made her change the subject IMMEDIATELY to a more respectable topic… CHOCOLATE and it’s effect on the cellulite.  Kidding again… I asked my mom to guest blog about her decision to put me on a “die”t at the age of 7.  She will share her thoughts today and then tomorrow, I will guest blog on my own blog to share my point of view on the same topic.  For those of you who are mothers/fathers who have kids with weight problems, maybe some of these thoughts will help you!  Thank you, Madre for being willing to do this. 

*******

After much persuasion I have agreed to guest post on Whitney’s blog today.  By way of introduction I am the proud mother of Whitney and couldn’t be happier that she is finally seeing her potential.  I am blown away by her writings, but shouldn’t be surprised because she has always been a gifted writer. 

Don’t expect the same humor Whitney has a knack of incorporating – I might be a bit boring so I apologize in advance.

Whitney asked me to address my decision to put her on a diet at the young age of 7.  There is no training beforehand on how to be a mother so it just comes with trial and error and I’ll admit I that I was trying to do what I thought was best for Whitney.  But hindsight is the best teacher so now that I look back I think I should have handled it differently.
 
I usually hid the cookies or candy thinking this would be a deterrent.  If I had it to do over again I wouldn’t do that.  I think it had the opposite effect because if you know you can’t have something and feel deprived it forces you to go to extreme measures to get what you can’t have.   I got after Whitney a lot for sneaking into things and that had to have been frustrating for her. 

It took me awhile to figure out that no amount of nagging from me was going to do a bit of good.  But I finally GOT it and just started making sure Whitney knew of my unconditional love for her.  I drove her crazy with hugs and kisses and looked for ways to encourage and praise her.  And I prayed! 

Madre and Whitney… The Early Years… (side note: Madre says to tell you to ignore the “psycho” person eyes in the top left photo… oh, and the HAIR!)

Her sister Lindsay, who I’m also extremely proud of, didn’t have any problems with weight and could eat anything and everything she wanted without ever gaining a pound.  She became an aerobics instructor at the age of 15 at a local gym and was an exercise fanatic.  I tell you this so you can get a feel for the chemistry in the home.  Whitney gained weight just by looking at food and hated exercise back then. 

But not now, you should see her go!  When I have crashed for the night and out cold in my recliner, Whitney is getting her second wind and heads out on her almost daily excursion. 
 
So, all you mothers out there, go ahead and learn from my mistakes. Don’t go overboard.  Moderation in all things is the key.  The most important thing you can do is love your children.   In spite of my mistakes, it’s a sweet thing to see where Whitney is at today.  She is a totally different person with a whole new outlook on life.  The world is at her feet!

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” 
– Maya Angelou

 

Question of the Day:  Do you regret anything about your childhood?  If so, what would it be?

 

11 Comments

Filed under Diet, Family

11 responses to “Guest Blogger: Madre of Whitinitis and Her Thoughts On Global Warming

  1. Dorothy

    Thanks for sharing your story. I am sure you will find many mothers and daughters that have traveled a similar path. I know my mom and I did.

    Different people try different tactics, and my mothers was shame. (I am sure that she felt like she had tried everything else and nothing was working.) She would police everything I ate, and tell me that if I ate it I would look like &@#!% (insert overweight relative name here). It did not help with me getting healthier, but it did cause fractures in our relationship that took a long time to rebuild.

    Looking back, I can understand the frustration. I would sneak food out of the deep freeze and eat it frozen, I was a hoarder, and I was a closet eater…literally.

    I agree with you that moderation is key. To this day I still have some of those habits in place, and I am slowly trying to turn them around. The biggest one I struggle with is food hoarding. Ray always teases me that if the apocalypse were to come, my family could live out of my purse and car for a week. LOL. It is true. I do not go anywhere without having food with me. It is everywhere. the car, the purse, my desk at work, my nightstand, the gymbag…you get the idea. The main difference is that now it is things like nuts, granola bars, and fruit instead of candy, cookies and chips.

    Whit is lucky to have a mom that cared then and cares now.

  2. Kim

    Awesome post Whitney’s Mom!! I was an overweight kid that has also turned into a very overweight adult. I am getting so much inspiration from your daughter..I read her blog daily!

    I too was put on diets at a very young age and was “deprived” of the good foods so I was constantly sneaking foods. I am the mom of 9 year old twins now and have taken a very different approach with my children…I have the not so good foods in my house and the kids can have it but don’t go crazy with it. That amazes me because when I was little..when good food came in the house it was gone the same day! Neither of my kids have weight issues fortunately. They could definitely be healthier eaters and we’re always working on that but for now, I’m just happy they don’t struggle with their weight the way I did. They are not embarrassed to wear shorts to school, they can participate in gym activities without being the fat kid that can’t keep up and they can wear the clothes they want and not be jealous of the other kids for being able to live ‘normal’ lives. Thanks again for the post..really gave me a lot to think about today! Happy Mothers day:)

  3. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Terrific post! I am so glad you and your mom are so very close, Whitney. In your interactions…the mutual love and respect shines through.

    “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”
    – Maya Angelou

    Love this quote – one of my very favorites!! Thanks for putting it up.

    Question of the Day: Do you regret anything about your childhood? If so, what would it be?

    I guess my biggest regret and the one that still haunts me to this day… not telling my parents about the sexual abuse I was receiving from one of my older brothers.

    I regret being so rebellious also b/c of the wedge it drove between my mom and myself. I could have tried to be more understanding of her situation ( while I was going through my teen angst, she was going through menopause – NOT a good combination!!!).

    Keep on …keepin’ on….we will do this thing!

  4. cl2

    Regrets about my childhood? Probably more regrets about how I am dealing with my own children right now–age 25-year-old twins boy/girl. They seemed to do “fine” up until the past few years. I’m going to have to take the hands-off approach–and love my son from afar.

    Mothers do the best they can without any training, like our mom said, and what they do, they do out of love. My therapist said to me that the maternal instinct is hard to resist even when you need to do just the opposite.

    My kids have no weight problems. My siblings had no weight problems. Our father was quite large most of our lives–as were all his siblings. My dad went up and down in weight all his life. He also very tall. Where he taught high school, they called him “Kong.” I lived in fear of getting overweight like my relatives and I sure did when going through trauma. We weren’t deprived of anything as kids food-wise except maybe not enough because it had to be shared between 6 of us and dad. Our mom always saved some for dad when he’d get home from work and the farm–and it usually never got eaten. My kids eat healthy–unlike their mother. Like I posted on another comment–my daughter is eating her rice chex right now. She lives on things like oatmeal, yogurt, turkey. They can eat one cupcake and walk away. I think they watched their mother. I learned to eat from emotions when going through difficulties in my marriage.

    Thanks for sharing your experience. Being a mother the past few years has been an experience I never want to repeat. It is so hard to step back and just love them–one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. One of my children hasn’t found his potential yet–the other has. Watching and waiting is pure torture.

  5. cl2

    I must add that all of my siblings at one time or another has struggled with weight issues. Four of us are overweight right now. Believe it or not, I’m the smallest of those 4.

  6. Jen

    Great post Aunt D and you are a good writer too. I will look forward to reading it again tomorrow.!

  7. What a great post. It takes a lot of character to admit mistakes. Not that I am speaking from experience as a mother, but it’s too bad that kids don’t come with owner’s manuals. I see how different I am from my siblings and can’t imagine what it must have been like for my parents to figure out what the heck they were doing with each of us.

  8. Andrea S.

    Thanks to both of your for your honesty. It is so tricky to be the perfect mom (well, probably impossible, but I’m really trying.) It is impossible to know what things we do will permanently affect our children in a manner that we didn’t anticipate. I guess that’s where a lot of faith and prayer come in. Unconditional love is the key. As long as both sides know this, then each will survive whatever comes. Love you guys!!

  9. Ally

    Good topic. I have memories of childhood bargains and bribes to loose weight. I now have an eight year old who is a little overweight. I am secretly very worried that she will struggle as I have. I try to set a good example for her and I do not hide food. Of course, there shouldn’t be any “bad” food in my house. I know the best thing I can do is set a good example. Any additional advice on how to handle this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to guest blog!

  10. Chantal

    Great post! Thanks for sharing!

  11. R.

    This is SO important to be able to see the problem thorugh a different lens. I am so glad that your Mom allowed you to talk her into this!! As far as any regrets from my childhood? Not really any that come to mind just a lot of odd nonsense. Like my Dad telling me for years that I was pretty, blonde, blue eyed and it was ok if I got Cs in school because I didn’t need to be pretty and smart. My Mom just pulled the “well then don’t eat” card whenever I complained about my weight as a teen. Now that I think about it I do wish that someone would have noticed that I gained 100lbs the year I hit puberty and taken me to the darned Doctor instead of trying to ignore it and hope that it went away on its own.

Leave a Reply

