Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – The Incredible Machine

Let’s face it… I’ve treated my body like a junk yard for YEARS!  No exercise, lots of fatty food, no exercise, and one time I slammed my face against the pavement in an effort to control the pebble population.  It’s no wonder my body’s favorite pastime was sitting and then sitting some more.  It was all it could do.  I have learned, though, that the body is very forgiving.  Despite the years of abuse, it still mosies along and the more I work at it, the more it is improving each and every day.  I am grateful that despite my once 530-pound frame, I was still able to walk and move to work up my stamina and strength… not every 530-pound person can say that.  I’ve seen many in wheelchairs or bed ridden, desparate to be able to do anything.  Despite how many times I’ve cussed the ole’ body out for being too big, too slow, too diseased, too uncoordinated, etc., it’s been a resilient thing.  So, today I’m grateful for my body… and ALL of it’s flaws!

I like this song for a couple of reasons… A.) the drum beat is like the steady beating of a heart all throughout the song and keeps me moving when I’m out pebble searching… and 2.) the description of the body:

A heart that beats, an Incredible Machine
Made of blood and love and hope and lust and steam…

You can knock the sucker down… punish it, pierce it, break it, etc., and it still comes back for more… because it’s incredible… an incredible machine! 

The Incredible Machine by Sugarland

Feels like I’m flying,
Wings made of light
Brand new and shining
Like a shot rung out through the night

A heart that beats, an Incredible Machine
Made of blood and love and hope and lust and steam

Question of the Day:  If you had to choose to keep either your arms or your legs, which would you choose and why?

13 Comments

Filed under Whitney's Playlist

13 responses to “Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – The Incredible Machine

  1. Jen Nelson

    That is a hard question and I don’t know if I can answer it. When I broke my hand, I almost wished I would have broke my foot instead, so at least I could do more things with my hands.

    • The grass is always greener on another person’s leg! I think both would suck, but you are right… the hands seem more necessary. But then I’d hate to have to sit around all day. Conundrum!

  2. Avster

    May I keep one arm and one leg?

  3. cl2

    I need my arms to make a living–so I guess I’d choose to give up my legs. Not a question I really want to consider!!!

  4. Chrissy

    Arms. I need my hands for knitting, sewing, and just about every other hobby I have. I really don’t want to have to learn how to knit with my feet… but I probably would before I’d give up knitting. 🙂

    This was a really interesting question to me because my husband has slowly lost the use of his legs over the past 4-5 years and now has to walk with the use of forearm crutches. I can say from watching up close and personally that the body is an incredible machine, but the spirit that powers the body is an even more incredible gift. He is one of the biggest inspirations to me to start taking better care of my own body and not take it for granted!

  5. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    I love your post today, Whitney. I too have seen the light about how I have been treating my body these past 8 yrs. I am ashamed of myself and determined to change it now. God gave me a strong and healthy body and I have taken it for granted. I really am liking the changes I am feeling and seeing ( all be it not as fast as I would like but where would be the journey in that, right!?).

    Question of the Day: If you had to choose to keep either your arms or your legs, which would you choose and why?

    Tough one…
    I would choose to keep my arms.
    I love my legs and I hope and pray that I never have to make this choice.
    I can still take care of myself if I have my arms. I can still be independent and wouldn’t have to be taken care of by anyone else. I could scratch my own nose for heavens sake.
    I could still work and do sports and just about anything I set my mind to with my arms. Prosthetic legs are far more easily operated than the prosthetic arms too. The wheelchairs now-a-days are so adaptable as well.

    Keep on….keepin’ on….

  6. Our bodies truly are amazing things. I’m always amazed at the ability to heal. Our bodies are able to put up with a lot of abuse and keep on tickin’. As for your question, I’d have to say I’m keeping my arms. I did see a girl one time who was born without arms and used her feet for everything. She had the most beautiful handwriting . . . or is that footwriting?

    • LOL… yes… I think it would be footwriting… and I’m ALWAYS amazed at how people can adapt when they have to. It seems impossible from where I sit, but I suppose if one day I ended up in a situation like that, I would eventually make do.

Leave a Reply

