How Does the Caged Bird Sing?

I have a lot of thoughts swimming around in my brain right now… most of them are drowning and some of them are peeing in the pool and ruining the fun for the other thoughts.  I’m a going to attempt to make sense of them in this here post, but I can’t give any guarantees.  The only guarantee I’ll give is that I’ll probably snark at you all… ALERT!!!  HIGH WOMAN HORMONE AREA… ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK!!

The last few weeks I’ve been noticing this new emotion emerging from deep within my steel-plated heart.  I guess it’s an emotion because I’ve had an overwhelming urge to eat it away and I’ve been in a snarktastic mood… short with people, more easily annoyed, just an overall absolute pleasure to be around.  And I’ve been dealing with it horribly… going back to my old ways of eating more than my allotted calories for the day and then not caring a snoot about it… shoving it back down with an extra scoop of lard sauce.  I got to really thinking about it tonight (aka eating too many cookies and wondering what the heck was going on in my noggin).  As I thought about it, I came to the realization that I’m ALL talk and no action.  I have a case of the stagnant brainitis and it’s making me all kinds of restless.  So, restless that all I want to do is forget about everything, stop being the dagnabbed responsible human being that I am, and move to the beaches of Bermuda.  I know that won’t solve a thing and I know I need to deal with it in a more constructive way than eat 8 billion cookies and a side of orange slices, but my problem is I don’t know how to. 

I see myself as a caged bird, who desparately wants to free herself and sing whilst flying through the clouds… and it’s like I’ve made a small opening in this cage of mine, but instead of making my great escape, I’d rather sit on my tail feathers on my usual perch and stare at the opening because it’s what I know… and it’s safe… and I don’t know how to make my break because this is new to me and I’ve never done it before.  I have all of these grand thoughts in my mostly empty brain of what I’m going to do when I get skinny, but in the meantime while I’m not skinny, here I sit on this perch of mine covered with so much bird turd it’s hard to find a clean space to rest my bird brain. 

I decided that I need to make a bucket list… things I’ve always wanted to do… and I need to start small and build up to the big because you don’t just wake up one morning and say, Gee, I think I’ll go hiking in the Alps today!  I guess you could say that if you lived next door to the Alps… but you get my picture.  During the years I could never do anything on account of my weight, I never really felt too restless because I just tried to convince myself that this was how it was always going to be and I’d just have to live with it… but now that I’ve seen a glimpse of that open sky, I WANT to get out there and soar, but I’m going to need lessons.  My plan is to start small.  I’m going to think of 2 things… a small thing and a big thing and I’m going to tell myself that I will accomplish both of those bucket list items by January 1, 2012.  No ifs, ands, or buts.  The big thing is going totake time, so that’s why I need to start now, putting the pieces into place so that the puzzle will be completed in 7-1/2 months’ time.  I aim to call it Mission:  Uncage the Singing Bird.  

I am extending the challenge to any of my sweet and intelligent blog readers.  Who wants to join me in venturing outside of your comfort zone?  I’ll give anyone who wants to participate about a week to think of one big and one small bucket list item that you have always wanted to accomplish and we’ll revisit the topic several times over the next 7 months.  I’d recommend making the goal attainable in the amount of time given… like, don’t say you want to become President of Uganda or Donald Trump’s hairspray sprayer… it needs to be something that can be accomplished in that amount of time. 

Like my good pal, Big Bird says… The sky’s the limit… you just need to learn how to use your wings. 

Question of the Day:  Is anyone interested in joining the mission?  If so, let me know in the comments!  If not, do you have a bucket list? 

36 Comments

Filed under Mission: Uncage the Singing Bird

36 responses to “How Does the Caged Bird Sing?

  1. cl2

    I’m FIRST!!! Of course I’d like to join you. I’ve been eating more lately, too. I don’t dare get on the scales (but I’m at my boyfriend’s and he can see the history of who weighed on his scales, so no way I’m going there!).

    I actually have found the more I talk to people about my weight loss or share the secret that I’m trying, the more I sabotage myself. I have to keep it a secret from anyone in my close group of whatever they are. I’m trying to resist running to Burger King or McDonalds for breakfast.

    I’m going to tell you this, though. Some 6 years ago when I found out the boyfriend from 28 years ago was getting divorced, the one I let get away, even when I was probably close to my highest weight, I called him anyway. I knew if I didn’t go after him, someone else would nab him–as I had rejected him once before. Then I quickly lost 30 pounds and walked myself to death–and then gained it back–but stayed in the relationship pushing myself through my self doubt. AND he has forced me to do things I never would have done overweight–like fly again, go to Alaska to see my daughter (I’d always wanted to go to Alaska)–try moving out of Utah and live here with him. I’ve never lived more than 30 miles from where I grew up–Brigham City. I had to force myself to live. I still hesitate.

    I’ll think of something big and small–I’ve got to think a lot about this.

  2. Dessa Wade

    I’m also in Whit! I think we are more restless this time of year because we have been cooped up on winter but I hear what you are saying. Let’s do it!

  3. cl2

    I’ve thought of one. I’ve been working on this one for 6 years and have yet to do it–I don’t know if it will be my big goal or my little one–SKI again. Still thinking while forcing myself to work THIS EARLY.

  4. Amber

    I would love to, I think I really need this too. Thanks for the idea!

  5. Avster

    coughsmallitemvisitgoofballfromeastofyoutohaveasnarfestcough

    • Avster

      Where’s the edit button? Ignore that other post by me.

      coughsmallitemvisitgoofballfromeastofyoutohaveasnarkfestcough

    • What happens if I like the snarf fest option better!? What are we going to snarf on? Dead mice and dead quail salad followed by a Peep for dessert? I’ll be out by the back forty outhouse when you decide!

  6. Karen

    Whitney,
    I have had a “bucket list” all my life, only I called it my “do before I die list.” The first think I could cross off was to see the Boston Pops with John Williams conducting. Wanted to see Michael Jordon play basketball, Tiger Woods play golf, float the Grand Canyon, etc. I try to choose one or two things a year and make them happen. It takes making them happen. It is a great goal! Very possible. My big one may never happen because of the cost. I want to go on an African safari and see a giraffe where they belong. You can do it!

    • I just might have to adopt your list, Karen! You are always doing exciting things! I’ll need to see your African safari pictures!

    • Liz

      Giraffes are amazing in the wild! Definitely find someway to make it happen! I recommend either the Tanzania Serengeti area (Lake Manyara and Tarangiere are both smaller and beautiful) or Krueger in South Africa (absolutely crazy!).

  7. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Great post Whitney. I think this is a terrific idea. Setting small and larger goals always gives us some more motivation.

    Question of the Day: Is anyone interested in joining the mission? If so, let me know in the comments! If not, do you have a bucket list?

    I will have to give this some more thought…

    Currently, I am doing something I didn’t think I would ever do and that is being an Assistant Coach for a girls sand volleyball team.
    I am contemplating being a Coach next year ( for indoor or maybe sand again ). Never would have thought those words would ever be considered but my kids keep telling me that I would be a GREAT coach. The coach that I am assisting this summer thinks so too and she really doesn’t know me so that makes me think….hmmm.

    My main focus right now is the 5K walk/run I am going to sign up for in September. I plan to walk it and NOT be the last one across the finish line.
    It is a goal that is do-able and not too far away to accomplish. It is something I have seen others do and heard about but NEVER considered doing myself. I don’t know what made me consider it THIS year but my daughter is wanting to do it with me, so we are going to do it.

    Keep on…keepin’ on….

    • Already a couple of things going to get you out of your comfort zone, Louisa! High five for that! I bet it makes you feel so accomplished! I think it’s always good to have something to work toward.

  8. Ally

    Love the idea! My small one is a fun run the end of June. I will have to keep thinking on the big one. Thanks for the challenge Whit!

  9. Jenny

    I’m so in! I have been talking the talk to long, I’m about ready to start slapping myself! Good for you Whitney for realizing this, and for helping the rest of us to do it as well!

  10. Samerah

    Oh yeah, I’m in.

  11. Jacque Hunt

    I’m all in. In fact this is exactly what I needed to hear right now. I’m going to have to do some thinking about my bucket list but I’m with you all the way. I wish I knew why we sabotage ourselves. I’m my own worst enemy. I know that you may be feeling snarktastic but this post today was exactly what I needed. Thank you!

  12. Love this idea! I have a bucket list that I keep on my blog. I add things to it every once in a while, but haven’t done so much checking off. One of them is to drive a Mustang. I believe I will take a Mustang for a test drive before the end of the month. Wanna come? The big one I will have to ponder on for a bit. Thanks for the motivation!

    • Whoop!! That’s awesome that you already have your bucket list thought up! The Mustang sounds cool… I’d have to measure the seat circumference before I’d dare try it!! Would you just go to a dealership and ask them to test drive it?

  13. Chantal

    I’m so in! Love the idea! Thanks Whit! 😀

  14. Jen Nelson

    I would like to join your bucket list. I don’t know what my goals will be yet. See you soon!

  15. Liz

    Of course I have a bucket list! I like to travel, so many are in foreign countries, but I will try to think of two that are possible this year…

  16. Lyndsey (lyndsloo)

    Hi Whitney-

    Oh, how I love you so! You are amazing! I am constantly checking your blog to see if you’ve written something new. I love the bucket list idea and I’m definitely in! 🙂 My dear friend, Tami, just completed the A-Z list. I know you’ve answered questions others have asked before, but we could always learn something new from you or about you!

    Here is mine…
    A. Age- 24, which I think is pretty young, but my 1st graders think I’m “SO OLD”
    B: Bedtime- 11PM or later
    C: Coffee- Probably my second favorite thing on earth, after chocolate topped with more chocolate
    D: Dunken Donuts- DD used to be my midnight snack, 2 jelly filled powered donuts —YUM….NOT!
    E: Energy- Yes, I have some but I want more
    F: First Grade- I love this age! They don’t need diapers changes, but they haven’t reached the age where their parents need to wash their mouths out with soap from foul language. First grade is a happy medium!
    G: Grumpy – Occasionally grumpy from lack of food
    H: Happy- Yes, very happy! (Can you tell I love “Snow White and the 7 Dwarfs”?)
    I: Idiot – Also, I can occasionally act like an idiot (I know Idiot is not one of the seven dwarfs but it should be)
    J: Jogging- I’m getting pretty good at it!
    K: Kuster – My last name; I hate it but it’s a part of me, I suppose!
    L.: Lives in- Baltimore, MD (also called Baw-da-moor by natives)
    M: Movies- LOVE “Amelie” and “When Harry Met Sally,”
    N: Nature- beautiful, amazing, peaceful, wonderful
    O: Oregon Ridge Park- my favorite place to hike, run, and explore
    P: Pet Peeves- forks
    Q. Quote : “You have brains in your head, you have feet in your shoes, you can steer yourself any direction you choose.”
    R: Rome- AMAZING and I want to visit again
    S: Summer – beautiful but sticky
    T: Teeth- I love pearly whites
    U: Underpants – annoying but necessary
    V: Veggies- Yum! Asparagus, peppers, broccoli
    W. Weight Lost – 66lbs so far!
    X. Xtremely- I’m X-tremely cool!
    Y: Yawn – BORED YET?
    Z. Zipper- I actually have pants that FIT with these things on them! AMAZING!

  17. Kale

    Count me in! Must do some soul searching…

  18. Raven aka newmammaluv

    I am SO with you guys on this one!! I don’t know which one is which but these are two of my bucket list items….

    1. Bungee jumping again….
    2. Taking boudoir photos and letting my husband pick out the outfits aka completely letting go and letting someone else call ALL the shots.

  19. Pingback: I Am Odd… And Here Are Some Ends… Odds and Ends… « craving a life

  20. Pingback: Mission: Uncage the Singing Bird – The Goals… « craving a life

  21. Pingback: The Craving A Life Blogscars: The Posts… « craving a life

Leave a Reply

