Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – If I Die Young

Not many people know that I own a plot of land.  I visited it the other day… went on a walk right up to it and sat on the grass.  It’s a peaceful little corner of the world… out of the way of the hustle and bustle of the city life, tucked back up into a rarely traversed stretch of road.  And I have neighbors… a lot of neighbors… they live so close, I can reach out my cold paw and touch them whilst still sitting in the middle of my plot of land.  I’m thinking about having a plot-warming party… sort of like a housewarming party, except for plots.  What gift is appropriate for a plot-warming party? 

My name is Whitney, I’m 32 and I own my own grave plot.  I know no one was expecting me to live very long… heck, I wasn’t expecting me to live very long.  I always used to tell my mom that I had a feeling that I wasn’t meant for a long life on this earth… that I just wasn’t going to be one of those people who lived to 80… and to tell you the truth, there were many times I thought it would be easier if I just passed on… freed myself from my massive body and major health problems.  So, when North Logan announced that they were going to make a cemetery, my folks bought their own plots and me one right next to theirs… 3 plots… all in a row.  I was certain I’d be the first to fill mine.

When listening to the words of today’s song choice, it’s morbid.  Some girl dying young… how sad is that?  But, then I read an interview with the band who sings it, and their inspiration for writing the song was very different than the way I was interpreting it. 

We wanted to write a song about making the most of whatever time you’re given — whether it’s two years, twenty years or two hundred.
We really have gotten to live and love at our young ages. ‘If I Die Young,’ for us, is about if it all ends at this moment, look at what we’ve gotten to do. Whatever time we’re given will be absolutely enough as long as we make the most of it.

Ahhhh… and there it is… a light at the end of the morbidity.  It’s a good lesson for all of us… make the most of the time you have… no regrets.  I’m taking that to heart now… now that I’m not planning on dying young… now that my sacred plot of land will remain empty for hopefully many years to come.  I’ll still accept gifts… what gift is appropriate for a plot-warming party?  The gift of life!

If I Die Young by The Band Perry

I swear to you I wasn’t expecting two of my most favorite things in the same video on YouTube… it was meant to be!  This song and Anne of Green Gables… who knew!?

If I die young, bury me in satin
Lay me down on a, bed of roses
Sink me in the river, at dawn
Send me away with the words of a love song

Uh oh, uh oh

Lord make me a rainbow, I’ll shine down on my mother
She’ll know I’m safe with you when she stands under my colors, oh and
Life ain’t always what you think it ought to be, no
Ain’t even grey, but she buries her baby

The sharp knife of a short life, well
I’ve had, just enough time

And I’ll be wearing white, when I come into your kingdom
I’m as green as the ring on my little, cold finger, I’ve
Never known the lovin’ of a man
But it sure felt nice when he was holding my hand, there’s a
Boy here in town who says he’ll love me forever,
Who would have thought forever could be severed by
The sharp knife of a short life, well,
I’ve had, just enough time

So put on your best boys and I’ll wear my pearls
What I never did is done

Question of the Day:  Would you have regrets if you were to pass on tomorrow?  (KNOCK ON WOOD!)

 

My sweet plot neighbor... already passed on too young... I'm taking her advice! The view from my plot...

 

The view from my plot...

5 Comments

Filed under Whitney's Playlist

5 responses to “Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – If I Die Young

  1. cl2

    Nope. No regrets. I couldn’t have said that just a few short years ago.

  2. You already didn’t die young. So you have to take that neighbors advice. And decide what’s next!

  3. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: Would you have regrets if you were to pass on tomorrow? (KNOCK ON WOOD!)

    Of course I would! I have small kids still at home…
    I wouldn’t get to see them grow up and become happy & productive adults if I passed on too soon.
    I wouldn’t want to leave my Dh to fend for himself either.
    There is a lot I still want to do & experience with my family…

  4. Ally

    Of course……

  5. Jen

    I am late in reading my blogs today. I loved that song and video. Funny that Anne of Green Gables was in it. I wish I could say I wouldn’t have regrets, but I am sure I would. I think everyone does.

Leave a Reply

