Winners…. and Losers…

That sounds like a really mean title… I totes see that now… but losers can be complimentary in some instances… for example, when you lose your front teeth on account of a sidewalk crack… you may be a loser but you won 2 new fake front teeth.  TOTES a compliment!  (by the by… for those of you unfamiliar with the word “totes,” (coughcoughMADREcoughcough) that is basically the awesome 13-year-old girl way of saying TOTALLY!!)  I’m up with the latest 13-year-old, especially in the hormone department!  Anywho… thank you to all who entered the balls and bungee giveaway last week.  I scientifically picked a whiner… erm… I mean winner by numbering everybody’s entries (both if you also entered via Facebook) and having someone give me a random number… and ta da… WINNER!  The winner is… drum roll on empty tissue boxes….

KATRINA

YEE-HAW!  Congratulations, Katrina!  It totally paid to have 2 entries… and the bribe of a million dollars didn’t hurt the process either.  😛  Yes, I realize my lame giveaway is no way near as cool as 1 million dollars, but just don’t tell Katrina that.  I will email you, Katrina, and you can send me your address that way.  As for the rest of you… stay tuned… more giveaway fun in the future to come. 

*********************

Now… on to the Losers.  A new show debuted tonight on ABC called Extreme Makeover:  Weight Loss Edition:

Great… another show to add to my summer que of NO TV WATCHING!!  But if I don’t watch my TV, who’s gonna use my remote?  If you haven’t seen last night’s episode or are wanting to watch it via Tivo, DVR, or online… do NOT read further.  MAJOR SPOILERS to follow!

These types of shows are generally really inspiring and touching… but I still have a problem with them.  This particular show isn’t as bad as some.  The cameras follow the participant for 1 year… 365 days… during which they are given a very strict diet and a regimented exercise schedule.  I ain’t never done been in the Army, but I’d imagine this show would be pretty close to it… except with less guns and explosives.  What I got from the episode was that the participant (in this episode, Rachel) was to work out 4 to 5 hours per day and eat a “die”t that does not include sugar, fat, and carbs.  Well… ain’t that a slit your throat kind of a life.  NO CARBS!!!  Why don’t we just stick a ballbat up my left nostril and call it a day.  The goal for Rachel was to lose 230 pounds in the space of a year… going from 369 pounds to 150 pounds.  Rachel pretty much rocked the first 6 months, hitting each of her weight goals, getting down to 239 pounds… then came the 2nd half of the year.  In the last 6 months of her journey, she lost a total of 31 pounds, 10 to 25 of those pounds were surgery for hanging skin removal, leaving her with only a 6- to 21-pound fat loss in those 6 months.  Hey… a loss is a loss… but she admitted her problem had been the eating.  She couldn’t “control” her eating.  It’s no wonder she couldn’t control her eating… she wasn’t allowed to eat anything!! 

Rachel and trainer, Chris!

These are just my opinions and were not addressed on the show, but I truly do think that the reason the last 6 months were so slow for her was because she came face to face with the restriction monster… that monster that tells you that you can’t have something and so you rebel and get it anyway, which inevitably ends up meaning that you eat 315 times more than a normal-sized serving.  I know this type of restricting weight loss works for some… but I can tell you from experience that it didn’t work for me.  After my bypass surgery, I was on a very restrictive “die”t… 70% protein and 30% vegetables at every meal… and each meal could only be 2 ounces.  I rebelled against that so hard that I gained every pound I lost back and stretched my stomach back out to original size.  Maybe that kind of thinking works for the more passive personalities… but when you be born as stubborn as a bull on steroids, it ain’t gonna work for you!

This is not to take away from the hard work that Rachel put in to lose the 161 pounds she lost in the space of a year (and skin removal surgery), but I’m just wondering if she’s going to be able to keep it off.  It’s not realistic that she should eat that way for the rest of her life and it’s also not realistic that she is going to exercise 5 hours a day for the rest of her life.  Normal people just don’t do that.  Further proof that the smartest way to lose the weight is to find a lifestyle that will work for you for the rest of your life… Hey, I know one… All things in moderation!  I’ll take payment in brain cells and cash…

Speaking of weight loss shows… this weekend my sister and cousin were in Salt Lake City eating at Tucanos Brazilian Grill, when they ran into this guy:

Lindsay, Rulon, and Jen-Jen

You wondered what happened to him after he walked off of the Biggest Loser and didn’t show face at the finale?  Well, he got a waitressing gig at Tucanos!  KIDDING!  Lindsay said he was super nice and he told them he was going to get back into wrestling.  So, there you go… Rulon update of the year!  Thanks, Jen, Seth, and Linds! 

Question of the Day:  Are you watching Extreme Makeover:  Weight Loss Edition?  If so, what did you think?

18 Comments

Filed under Inspirational TV

18 responses to “Winners…. and Losers…

  1. deannawade@gmail.com

    I did watch it and I agree with you. A normal person will not be able to exercise 5-6 hours a day. But that is the same with Biggest Loser. I would like to know what the contestants do all day long. How many hours to they exercise a day? Have any of them had “skin tuck” surgery? Can exercise along put that much excess skin back into place? I don’t really expect answers–I’m just thinking out loud.

    • It totally doesn’t seem like you can “tone” skin. I guess it depends on age and the elasticity of said skin, but there were a bunch of contestants on the BL with the flabby arm syndrome. I’m guessing that Spanx did wonders for most of them!

  2. Jenny

    I would love an answer to Deanna’s question about the skin. 🙂

    • I think it depends on age and elasticity of the skin… I know that the BL contestants (some of them) had flabby arms and I wouldn’t be shocked if most of them weren’t wearing Spanx.

  3. cl2

    Nope–not watching it. I watched the biggest loser for a few seasons, but it made me depressed. I don’t think this is realistic either. Actually, the minute I sign up for WW each time, I start eating like never before. You are right–all things in moderation. And exercising 5 to 6 hours a day? It is totally unrealistic unless you are independently wealthy.

  4. cl2

    Well, it just occurred to me as I hit enter–I guess independently wealthy doesn’t work either–Look at Oprah. I used to think–after one of her many diets–that if I had enough money to hire someone to cook for me, I could lose, too. Well, didn’t work for her.

  5. Avster

    No sugar and no carbs? I’d be dead after six months!

  6. Jen

    Yes Rulon was very nice, even though we were so embarassed to ask for a picture. I agree that the extreme dieting on that show is not something a person can maintain for the rest of their life. I guess the trainer just wants really fast results for his show.

  7. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: Are you watching Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition? If so, what did you think?

    My husband & I ended up watching it last night after we put the kids in bed. Just nothing else on really.

    We haven’t watched any shows like The Biggest Loser or anything like that before so I don’t know how it compares.

    We thought a lot the same way you did Whitney. I asked him a couple of times if he knew if she was still working while she was doing this. He said he didn’t know. One instance they were talking about her working out at 6am and I thought well maybe she IS still working. Then another instance they talked about how many hrs a day she worked out and I thought, well…no, she can’t be working.
    I wondered how will this lifestyle change her whole life if she isn’t living it truthfully and dealing with the time constraints and pressures of everyday life…?
    I don’t have the answers but I can see problems with this way of doing it.
    Not sure yet if I will continue to watch.
    I know that isn’t the way I would want to do it.
    I like the MFP way better. It is a lot more real and life change worthy. It is the healthy way to do it.
    Everything in moderation and re-training my brain in the way I treat my body and the way I reward myself for accomplishments.

    Keep on …keepin’ on….
    We will conquer!

    • That’s another great point, Louisa. If we all had 24/7 just to worry about weight loss we might be able to exercise 6 hours a day… but we don’t, so we have to work it in between all of our daily activities.

  8. Weight loss is all about a lifestyle change or else it’s never going to stick. You can do the fad diets (Atkins, the HCG thing, etc.) and you will get results, but you will most likely yo-yo back to where you were before or higher. I think you are right on with your attitude about weight loss and it’s obviously working!

  9. Katrina

    Ohhh Wow..
    I would first like to thank the academy… errr… LOL
    It’s seriously the coolest giveaway i have ever won! I’m so stoked!! You rock Whitney!! And i’m so excited to get it personally delivered. WOW the last delivery I got was from Dominos….. ohhhh Dominos!!

    I totes forgot that it was EM:WLE night tonight 😦 Super bummed out that I missed it!!

    Totes awesome for Lindsay and Jen-Jen to get to meet the ever controversial Rulon.

    • Haha… this is almost as important as an Oscar. I’ll phone the press! 😛 Glad you will get another delivery besides Dominos soon! I might try for this weekend, but I’ll let you know!

Leave a Reply

