Rumpitis and Bicycle Seats…

I do realize today is Wednesday and I do realize that I generally do a playlist post on Wednesday’s, but I’m totes bucking the system.  I’m such a rebel… before you know it I’ll be leaving one square of toilet tissue at the end of the roll just so I don’t have to change the roll.  Oh quit it… like none of the rest of you have ever done that.  Since I’m generally the only one who uses my bathroom (minus visitors), that only hurts me in the end!  LESSON LEARNED! 

I told you I took you all up on your great summer activities  idears.  I actually went to Al’s Sporting Goods on Thursday and picked me out a bicycle.  Next time any of you are in the Cache Valley area and need a bicycle, drive yourself to Al’s, ask for my pal Marilyn (the biker extraordinaire), and tell her I sent you.  I basically have been telling Marilyn that I’d be in to get a bike for months now and I finally drug my rump in and did the deed.  I told her to pick me out a bike that would hold me up… nothing more embarrassing than both tires popping midflight.  She picked me out a good one and told me to return the next day because the Memorial Day sale would be starting and I’d save nearly 100 buckaroos on the price.  Yay for sales!  I was planning on coming back on Fridee morning to get the bike, but when I got up Friday morning, the bike was setting smack dab in front of my computer.  The bicycle fairy came… and I didn’t even lose any teeth to deserve it (oh, unless you count the plethora of root canals I’ve had this year!)  I did some investigating and found out that my dad had gone and bought it for me… my early birthday present (my birthday is in October… so REALLY early) he said.  Thank you, Dad.  He may not be the affectionate type, but it’s things like this that show he cares. 

Meet Rumpita...

I’ve decided to call her Rumpita because since Friday, I’ve been on 3 hour-long bike rides and my rump has contracted a disease called PAINFUL!!  It’s not like I was expecting them to have a recliner seat on the top of the thing, but something more comfortable than a triangle-shaped barbed wire fence would be nice.  The biking has totes given my poor feet and plantar fasciitis a break, but it’s also transferred the pain to the rear receptacle portion of the body.  I hear that will lessen the more I do it… but for now it’s really cool that I walk like a bow-legged cowboy. 

I haven’t been on a bike since I was at least 14/15 years old.  So, it’s been an adjustment and of course I’m paranoid that the tires are going to pop under my weight and/or I’ll crash into a parked car and get sued for drunk bicycling.  I suppose that will also lessen with time… and I best be buying myself a brain bucket aka bicycle helmet to void off the alien abduction rays.   

I gotta say that riding a stationary bike in no way compares to riding a real bike.  I’ve been riding a stationary bike all winter long… but carrying my 314 pounds up a hill on a real bike is 10 times harder.  I huff and I puff and I drive as slow as a turtle, but I eventually make it to the top.  Tonight, I went biking with my mom who is an exerciser extraordinaire and she smoked me at all the hills and ended up waiting at the top of each of them for me to catch up… I blame it on the fact that she weighs half of what I do and her long legs do not have a bane to carry on the top of them.  But, pretty durn impressive for a near 60-year-old. 

Tonight it was so beautiful (after a weekend of rain and cold) that we decided to take a lunch, bike to a park, and eat it.  Madre stole her share of lilacs along the way (call the police somebody!) and I could be heard yelping every time I rode over a bump.  It was a super fun time and beautiful… even through my huffing and puffing.  I would totally recommend it… the downhill is totes more fun than the uphill, but at least I didn’t walk to school uphill both ways with no shoes or coats in below zero weather like they had to do in the olden days. 

Mom at the picnic… talking on her phone… her security blanket! She will probably kill me for posting this picture… so be it.
I almost moved into that red barn.

 

Question of the Day:  Do you bike?  If so, what do you recommend for more comfort on a bike seat? 

25 Comments

Filed under Exercise

25 responses to “Rumpitis and Bicycle Seats…

  1. cl2

    I used to bike. I tried biking a few years back–about 40 pounds heavier than I am now–and it was just too uncomfortable–but I was trying to ride my kids’ bikes. I love to ride bikes–I really need to get my own–one taht is built for my size not their’s!

  2. Liz

    Your seat looks pretty comfy, but they do make ergonomic seats with a hole in the middle. Supposedly relieves some pressure points or something. In my experience, no matter what you do you will wind up with a sore hinney. Sorry. But it does get better I promise. Biking is so much fun!!!! Enjoy!

  3. Avster

    I enjoy biking but unfortunately my area is too hilly. Not saying that one can’t bike if it’s hilly but due to poor knees I’m not comfortably able to do hilly biking. It’s comfortable that day but the next week I have to live with achy knees. Not worth it!

    However, go Whitters (and Whitters’ Madré)!

    As for a comfortable seat… don’t ask me. I recall my brother once purchased a gel seat. I personally thought it was quite nasty.

    • The bad knee twin! That must be why my knees have been acting up recently… I might have to get a fake knee put in because there are no areas around these parts without hills!

      Why was the gel seat nasty… did you overcook it… not enough barbecue sauce? 😛

  4. seth

    Haha, just remember the more you ride the less your tush will hurt:-) Hope you wear a brain bucket, and if you don’t you better not ride it again till you have bought one or else! They have saved my noodle more than once.

  5. Froggy1976

    Hoping for a bike for my birthday too. Was tempted to buy one the other day but figured if I don’t get for my birthday I will buy one after. The pictures you post on here are always so beautiful. The grass is so green and the mountains and just wow! I’m a little jealous of your scenery and your weather right now but would not trade that for the cold winters!

    • Froggy1976

      The bike I’m hoping for is a cruiser….big padded seat with springs underneath. Don’t know that it will be any kinder to the rump but it looks comfy anyway.

    • I will send positive vibes that you get that bike. I think you will love it! Thank you for the comment on my scenery. I live in a beautiful valley, but I’m with you… I could do without the winters… oh, and springs!

  6. Megan Kelly

    I just got a new bike yesterday! She’s a purple 1970’s Schwinn cruiser named Gigi and she’s quite the comfortable ride. I’ve got the big saddle seat with springs to help with bumps – instead of getting all shaken up, I just bounce up and down haha.
    I find that putting on the bike seat covers made with the thick rubbery gel kinda helps to take the edge off, but other than that, just persistence and spending time on the bike will get you used to the way it feels. I had a road bike for a long time and it took me a while before I could get used to the seat, even with the cover on it.

    • How ironic! Love the name Gigi and purple is my favorite color!! I bet it’s a blast. What a great idea about the gel seat bike covers. I’m going to have to look into that… can’t be any worse than what I have!

  7. Ally

    I’m so glad you got the bike. This sounds like a fun summer. Good for you! I don’t bike. But I am thinking of buying one for the hubby for Fathers Day so he can bike while I run. It’s not that I don’t like biking. I just prefer to run. Im training for my small bucket list item. June 30 is the day! I hope you get some good suggestions for your rear receptacle. If nothing else, it should get better with time.

    • 29 more days… you got this! I can tell already! It might be nice to have some company on your run, so I hope you do buy the hubby a bike. Maybe he would let you borrow it on occasion!

  8. Lindsay

    SWEET RIDE WHIT!!!

    That was super sweet of papa! Way to go Dad in the kind and loving department! Ride away on that bike! It is so freeing to ride away on a bike out in the open for some reason!

  9. Dessa Wade

    Yes,you are in trouble for posting my picture. I didn’t have time to pose very well – HAHA. Totally enjoyed our bike ride. There’s nothing quite like feeling the wind in your face and smelling the out of doors. The lilacs I had picked (not stollen) scented my ride the whole time.
    Just keep riding and your butt will get used to it. And I agree with Seth that we need helmets.

  10. My condolences on your case of rumpitis, but it will get better! Rumps are amazingly resilient body parts. Megan’s idea of a seat cover sounds like a pretty dang good one to me. I know they make bike shorts with that thick gel padding stuff in the rear. I don’t see that it would matter much if the thick gel padding was in your shorts or on your seat. Keep on bikin’, Whit! And get that brain bucket.

  11. Jen

    I was so excited when Uncle Rex told us he got you a bike. I thought that was so sweet of him to do. I also haven’t really rode a bike since I was young, other than last summer when Seth took me mountain biking (a whole ‘nother story). I love going to cycling classes at the gym though. Don’t worry, it takes a good week or so before your butt toughens up and gets used to bike seats, and then it won’t hurt anymore.

  12. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Hey Whitney !!! It has been 3 whole days without being able to ready your posts and so I am playing catchup now…

    Big congrats on the beautiful bike and the most awesome-ness of Dads too.
    How sweet was THAT!!
    I am so happy you have found another outlet for exercise and have been having fun with your new bike.
    It is also super sweet that you and your mom can ride together.
    Love the name Rumpita too…LOL.
    The pics you shared were gorgeous too ( even the one of momma on the phone – teehee).
    As for the behindie-itis… it really does toughen up with a little time & effort.
    As for me, I complained enough that my hubby bought me a wide bike seat and it has a squishy gel type feel to it too.
    I found this one online for $27
    http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=wide+bike+seat&hl=en&pwst=1&rlz=1B3RNFA_enUS385US385&prmd=ivns&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&biw=1024&bih=518&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=15329938051529592492&sa=X&ei=TLHqTczrIdKatwfuzonFAQ&ved=0CH0Q8wIwAA

    But this one looks more like what I have
    http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200430889_200430889?cm_mmc=Google-pla-_-Go-Karts&%20Electric%20Bikes%20+%20Scooters-_-Bike%20Accessories-_-233637&ci_sku=233637&ci_gpa=pla&ci_kw=keyword

    Can’t wait to read what you decide to do.
    Keep on …keepin’ on.

    • Ooo… thanks for the links, Louisa! I’ll have to look into those. I tried getting a gel cover for my seat at Wal-Mart, but the thing was too small. Will have to check into it further!

      Glad to see you back!

  13. Pingback: Summertime and the Living Is Easy… « craving a life

Leave a Reply

