Happy Fridee!

Yeah FRIDEE!!  My favorite day of the week unless I work weekends… then my favorite day of the week is sugar cookie day at the Grist Mill!  😛  KIDDING… but not really kidding… you gotta taste their sugar cookies!  Meanwhile, back on the sane train, you will all be happy to know that I took my rumpitis to the Wally World tonight and I bought me some crash test dummy head gear.  I even tested it out by bashing my head against the door frame a few times.  Skull didn’t crack… helmet is still intact.  Purchase worth it!  I had to choose between a pink one and a red/white/blue one, so of course I chose the former… only to get my reciept and find that it was a MEN’S helmet!  No matter… I ain’t driving around in no pink brain bucket.  Nope… leave that one for Jem and the Holograms (she’s truly outrageous… truly, truly, truly outrageous!)  I look even more attractive wearing a bucket whilst pedaling… the fat girl on the small bike with the looks-too-small-for-her bucket on top of her head.  Phone the press… they’ll need a picture of this one!  But they’ll have to catch me first… I’m totes zooming 0.25 mph up them hills on a good day.  I’m figuring the camera dude could just stand still for 10 minutes while I’m pedaling up the hills and then still be able to reach out his arm and touch me.

In other news… Mission:  Uncage the Singing Bird  has pretty much been sitting where I left her last week… She is totally in need of a good cage cleaning and some flying practice, but we’ll make that a priority for next week!  PROGRESS will be had!  How are the rest of you doing on your goals?  Are you killing it?  I hope so.  Teach me a thing or two… then bring your ball bat over and you can take turns hitting me in the head with my new fangled bucket on!!!  Testing it out… one ball bat at a time!

The following You might be from Utah if… has been flying around my email a lot lately… and Facebook too!  So, I’m fixing to see how many of them apply to me.  Crossing my fingers that it says I’m actually from Rhode Island!!  😛  I’ll bold the ones that I think apply to me and then make snarktastic comments at the right of them in italics!

You might be from Utah if…
 
You keep your clothes in “Chester Drawers.”  – What!?!?!  They are seriously not called that?  My chester drawers totes need to be cleaned out!
You don’t pronounce T’s in the middle of words. (Moun’n, Lay’n)
You think a “G” at the end of a word is silent. (You comin’ in fer dinner?) – Yah, I talk like a hick… you got a problem with that?
You know what Fry Sauce is made of.   You totally aren’t a good Utahn if you don’t know mayonnaise and ketchup mixed is fry sauce!
You go to the duck pond to feed the Seagulls.
Green Jell-o with cabbage mixed in doesn’t seem strange. – Are you kidding me?  My grams used to put her whole vegetable crisper in the Green Jell-o mold!
You can pronounce Tooele.  – I’ll give you a hint… it does NOT rhyme with Cruelly!
The U is not just a letter – Neither is the Y. – Rivalary!  What about the A…
You have actually eaten funeral potatoes. – Side note… you don’t have to be at a funeral to eat these gloriously heavenly potatoes… but you’re funeral might happen soon after if you eat them too often!
You’ve gotten both heat and frost burns off your car’s door handle in the same month! – Bwahahahahaha… That’s still happening in June!
You are not surprised to hear words like “Darn, Fetch, Flip”, “Oh, My Heck” and “Shoot” – My sister and I used to have a contest to see how long it would take before we’d get grounded for using the word “Dam”… We’d be like… can we go to 3rd Dam and sit by the dam trees and the dam rocks and the dam grass and eat a dam hot dog.  Oh, we thought we were a flipping HOOT, durnit all to fetch! 
Your tulips get snowed on three times after they come up and twice more after they bloom. – I only have one tulip, but she’s a sturdy little bugger!
The largest liquor store is the state government.
You can go skiing and play golf on the same day.
30% humidity is muggy and almost unbearable.
You know the difference between a ‘Steak House’ and a ‘Stake House’.
You’ve broken down on the highway and somebody stops to help you.
You can see the stars at night. – My tradition every 4th of July after the fireworks… set up the camp chair, sit in it and stare up at the stars… GLORIOUS!
You were an aunt or uncle before you were three.
You have more children than you can find biblical names for.
Your family considers a trip to McDonald’s a night out.
You feel guilty when you watch Monday Night Football.
Your kids believe the deer hunt is a national holiday.
You drink Coke from a brown paper bag.
At least two of your salad bowls are at the homes of neighbors.
There is a similarity between a ward basketball game and the L.A. riots.
You think Jack Daniels is a country western singer.
You negotiate prices at a garage sale.
You can make Jell-O salad without the recipe.
You’ve heard about BYU football in a testimony meeting.
You have two gallons of ice cream in your freezer at all times.
Your father-in-law thinks Ronald Reagan was a liberal.
A member of your family wrote in Lavell Edwards for president in the last election.
Sandals are the best-selling shoes.
You buy your wardrobe at the local grocery superstore.
Schools stay open, even if two feet of snow falls overnight, but closes for the opening of hunting season. – Bwahahahaha… I used to get MAD that we’d never get snow days at school.  I think the whole 13 years I went to school, we had one snow day and that was because our bus got stuck trying to go up a hill. 
People wear shorts and T-shirts if the temperature rises above 32 degrees.
People wear socks with their sandals. – Oh, my dad is the poster child for this look… specifically argyle socks pulled up mid thigh and sandals with bright orange velcro. 
The most popular public transportation system is a ski lift.
In-state college football rivalries are bigger than the Super Bowl.
You don’t have to breathe cigarette smoke until you walk outside the building.
Every driveway has a minivan and a pickup truck.
When you buy a new vehicle, cigarette lighters are optional equipment but ski racks are standard.
Every time a new family moves into your neighborhood, the local elementary school has to hire a new teacher.
Your paycheck has an additional 10 percent deduction.
More movies are filmed in your town than in Hollywood.
You make a toast with red punch at your wedding reception.
You have more raw wheat stored than some Third World countries.
Your idea of a wild party is a six pack of Pepsi and a PG-13 movie.
You and all your friends come to your mother for a haircut in her kitchen. – Awww… the good ole Madre haircut days!  Sorry, Madre but too many bowl cuts and granny doos, and I had to fire you!
You measure Kool-Aid by parts per million.
You actually get these jokes and pass them on to other friends from Utah.

Not too bad… looks like I actually do hail from Rhode Island!  😛  I’ll get my tax forms from there next time! 

Hope everyone has a splendid weekend.  Do something for yourselves, stop to smell the roses, and eat chocolate!  Those are the only requirements!  Now, off with ya’!   Thank you for reading… see you back in town on Mondee… same place, different topic!

I've always coveted this house... quaint, old-fashioned, and on a beautiful spread of land. Next time the owner gives it away for free, I'm totally handing in my application!

Question of the Day:  What state are you from?  Using the above examples, how do you know you’re from there? 

21 Comments

Filed under Exercise

21 responses to “Happy Fridee!

  1. cl2

    Goodness, I went to all the work of answering and it didn’t work! (Something happened with my computer yesterday and ALL my names and passwords on places I frequent up and took a hike.

    Anyway–a few more–

    If you know how to pronounce Mantua.
    If you use the word “ignert” to mean “rude.”
    If you have towns and rivers named Virgin, Beaver, and Toquerville (of all things).
    I wonder how many people have cities named Nephi, Lehi. I actually thought Mt. Nebo must have been named by a non-member, but, nope, that is a Mormon name, too.

    And funeral potatoes are to die for–but my favorite is the jello made from whip cream, cottage cheese, and pineapple. Yum!

    • Bwahahahaha… I never thought about those city names until you mentioned them! That’s funny! I like that Jell-O too, but I prefer mine with strawberries! Jell-O is totally our state food!

  2. Amber

    See Whitney, I made Kool Aid the right way when I sold it! Your supposed to water it down…

  3. Kale

    You know you’re an Idahoan if you measure distance in hours. 🙂 I always thought that was funny about Idaho.

    One of my goals has officially been jump started! I wrote that I wanted to learn to play the guitar, and my awesome husband gave me one for my birthday yesterday! I’m so excited and feel so good about working to accomplish something I really want. Progress always feels great!

    Have a fun-filled weekend!

    • Kale! How exciting!!!! Are you going to take lessons or just go the teach yourself through books and videos method!? Of course we will need updates on your professional guitar playing status!

  4. makingitperm

    Here’s mine…

    1. Your co-worker has 8 body piercings and none are visible.

    2. You make over $300,000 and still can’t afford a house.

    3. You take a bus and are shocked at two people carrying on a conversation in English.

    4. Your child’s 3rd-grade teacher has purple hair, a nose ring, and is named Flower.

    5. You can’t remember if is pot illegal.

    6. You’ve been to a baby shower that has two mothers and a sperm donor.

    7. You have a very strong opinion about where your coffee beans are grown, and you can taste the difference between Sumatran and Ethiopian.

    8. You can’t remember is pot illegal?

    9. A really great parking space can totally move you to tears.

    10. Gas costs $1.00 per gallon more than anywhere else in the U.S.

    11. Unlike back home, the guy at 8:30 am at Starbucks wearing a baseball cap and sunglasses who looks like George Clooney… really IS George Clooney.

    12. Your car insurance costs as much as your house payment.

    13. You can’t remember… is pot illegal?

    14. It’s barely sprinkling rain and there’s a report on every news station: “STORM WATCH.”

    15. You pass an elementary school playground and the children are all busy with their cells or pagers.

    16. It’s barely sprinkling rain outside, so you leave for work an hour early to avoid all the weather-related accidents.

    17. HEY!!!! Is pot illegal????

    18. Both you AND your dog have therapists.

    19. The Terminator is your governor.

    20. If you drive illegally, they take your driver’s license. If you’re here illegally, they’ll give you one.

  5. Froggy1976

    I live in FL now but still call VA my home since that is where I grew up and most of my family is still there.

    I saw this posted somewhere earlier today. It’s not the same kind of list but it sort of works.

    Raised in Virginia where flip flops are worn year round, we have lightnin’ bugs in the yard & craw dads in the crick, fireworks on July 4th are necessary, y’all is a proper noun, chicken is fried, biscuits come with gravy, sweet tea is the house wine, we drink water from the hose, eat watermelon & corn on the cob all summer & you would never disrespect your elders.

    It fits all except the crick thing….it’s a creek.

    I did not get my bike yesterday but did get a sweet griddle on which to cook pancakes, now I just have to find a healthy alternative to the bisquick specialty I usually make.

    • Froggy1976

      Just curious, how does that little quilt square show up there? Is that something you assign or something the website does automatically? My apologies, not too familiar with wordpress.

      • Oh… the quilt squares come automatically via the wordpress site… unless you have an established wordpress account with an avatar, and then it shows up like mine does with my picture!

    • That description of VA makes me nostalgic for the good ole days of summer! I’ve never been to VA… but I’d love to visit one time!

      Yay for the new griddle! Bisquick specialty is definitely the easiest… but I’ve seen some good ones out there for lower cal!

  6. Gee thanks, Whitney! Now I’m craving funeral potatoes, jello, AND the Grist Mill sugar cookies. I will be at your house tomorrow with my ball bat to test out your brain bucket. Since I live in the same place you do, I’m going to just say “amen” to everything you said, but that would make me sound like I’m from the dirty South. I like to keep people guessing.

    • You are welcome for the cravings, Rachel! I’ll save you a place in line for the ball bat party… but just so you know, the doors might close right before your turn! 😛

  7. Ally

    I hail from Georgia. NOT Atlanta, I tend to think of Atlanta as a completely different world. I avoid it if at all possible. I am in the suburbs of the suburbs. Sounds alot like Utah minus the cold weather.
    As for my uncaged bird project, I have been in training for 2 weeks now and although I feel mire fit, haven’t broke a 14 minute mile, LOL! I also didn’t loose any weight this week and I was soooo strict with the diet and ran everyday! I am chalking it up to new muscle and trying to stay positive.

    • Good to know that Atlanta and Georgia are 2 separate entities… in case I ever get over to that part of the US!

      Doesn’t that so disappoint when the scale doesn’t budge after you’ve been working your rear off? Ugh… I TOTALLY understand… Keep going… the weight can’t hold on for too long! You got this!

  8. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: What state are you from? Using the above examples, how do you know you’re from there?

    I am a Missourian born and raised.
    I don’t have any of the cute sayings you all have and I don’t know where to look for them. Do you Google it or something?

    Anyway, I thought I would just update you on my bucket list.
    I have been walking at the track all week in addition to my other workouts ( Tae Bo or Vball ) to get ready for the 5k walk/run in Sept.
    Also, I coached my very 1rst sand vball game last night and amazingly I didn’t get too overly anxious about it. I actually had fun.
    I think I could do this coaching thing ( which is a HUGE change in my mindset & attitude ).

    The large cooler of ice water went over HUGE.
    Lots of other kids from other teams helped themselves to it and refilled their water bottles from it as opposed to the water pump about 10 ft away.
    My team was worried about the others taking their water….lol. I told them I filled it ( 5 gal ) and there was plenty. I told them it was ok with me. It was more important everyone stayed hydrated.

    Keep on ….keepin’ on….

    • Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

      I meant to tell you that now that I am back online at home… I went back and caught up on your posts and left comments Whitney.
      Missed reading your posts….glad to be back online.
      Looks like I need a new modem and I have a tech coming out Tues.

    • You could try Googling, You might be from Missouri if… I got mine in emails! I’ve been to Missouri. It’s a beautiful state! I can’t remember the name of the lake that we went to, but I’d go back there again… and Branson was fun too!

      Way to go on your bucket list items! So glad you’re having a blast coaching too!

  9. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    LOL – I did Google it…

    Here goes:

    You know you’re from Missouri when….

    I’m sure a lot these are true about a lot of states, but being from Missouri, I understand most of these.

    If your local Dairy Queen is closed from November through March, you might live in Missouri.

    If someone in a store offers you assistance & they don’t work there, you might live in Missouri.

    If your dad’s suntan stops at a line curving around the middle of his forehead, you might live in Missouri.

    If you have ever worn shorts and a parka at the same time, you might live in Missouri.

    If your town has an equal number of bars and churches, you might live in Missouri.

    If you have had a lengthy telephone conversation with someone who dialed a wrong number, you might live in Missouri.

    YOU KNOW YOU’RE FROM MISSOURI IF:

    You’ve never met any celebrities.

    Your idea of a traffic jam is ten cars waiting to pass a tractor on the highway.

    “Vacation” means driving through Arnold or going to Six Flags.

    You’ve seen all the biggest bands ten years after they were popular.

    You measure distance in minutes.

    “Down south” to you means Tennessee.

    You know several people who have hit a deer.

    You think Missouri is spelled with an “a” at the end.

    Your school classes were canceled because of cold.

    Your school classes were canceled because of heat.

    You’ve ridden the school bus for an hour each way.

    You’ve ever had to switch from “heat” to “A/C” in the same day.

    You think ethanol makes your truck “run a lot better.”

    You know what’s knee-high by the Fourth of July.

    You see people wear bib overalls at funerals.

    You see a car running in the parking lot at the store with no one in it no matter what time of the year.

    You know in your heart that Mizzou can beat Nebraska in football.

    You end your sentences with an unnecessary preposition. Example: “Where’s my coat at?” or “If you go to the mall I wanna go with.”

    All the festivals across the state are named after a fruit, vegetable, or grain.

    You install security lights on your house and garage and leave both unlocked.

    You think of the major four food groups as beef, pork, beer, and Jell-O salad with marshmallows.

    You carry jumper cables in your car and know that everyone else should.

    You know what “cow tipping” or “Possum Kicking” is.

    You only own 3 spices: salt, pepper, and ketchup.

    You design your kid’s Halloween costume to fit over a snowsuit.

    You think everyone from a bigger city has an accent.

    You think sexy lingerie is tube socks and a flannel nightie.

    The local paper covers national and international headlines on one page but requires 6 pages for sports.

    You think I-44 is spelled “foarty-foar.”

    You think that deer season is a national holiday.

    You know which leaves make good toilet paper.

    You find 105 degrees F “a little warm”.

    You know all 4 seasons: Almost Summer, Summer, Still Summer, and Construction

    You know if another Missourian is from eastern, middle or western Missouri as soon as they open their mouth.

    You think “frog gigging” should be an Olympic sport.

    You’ve ever tried to use a butter knife to cut the summertime air to get some relief.

    You think Imo’s is larger than Pizza Hut.

    You failed world geography in school because you thought Cuba, Versailles, California, Nevada, Houston, Cabool, Louisiana, Springfield, and Mexico were cities in Missouri.

    You actually get these jokes and forward them to all your Missouri friends….LOL

Leave a Reply

