Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Hello World

Lately, I’ve been playing this song on a loop whilst riding Rumpita through the back roads of town.  Something about the wind in my face, the beauty around me, and the words to this song just make me want to fly for real, yo!  Just flap my arm flab up and down and take off like all those 300-pound chics who fly do!  When I was a kid and anyone asked me what super power I’d most want to have my answer was always flying like a bird.  It just seemed so freeing to me, soaring with the wind… and then crapping on whatever car was handy, aka Beulah the Buick.  (Ew… that was gross, I see that now… too late, my backspace button is stuck.)

So often I walk through life like a zombie person… nose to the grindstone, looking straight ahead, and dwelling on whatever issue I’m having that day.  Guess what… there’s a whole dagnabbed world out there, Whitney.  There’s beauty and triumphs and love and there is just so much to discover.  So many rocks unturned and trails unpaved.  Look around you… take it in… this was put here for you to enjoy.  Don’t take it for granted!

Hello World by Lady Antebellum

Traffic crawls
Cell Phone Calls
Talk radio screams at me through my tinted window
I see a little girl, rust red minivan 
She’s got chocolate on her face
Got little hands, and she waves at me, yeah she smiles at me.

Well Hello World
How you been?
Good to see you my old friend
Sometimes I feel, Cold as steel
Broken like I’m never gonna  heal
I see a light, a little hope in a little girl,  Well hello world.

Everyday I drive by a little white church,
its got these little white crosses like angels in the yard
Maybe I should stop on in, say a prayer
Maybe talk to God like he is there
Oh I know he’s there, Yeah I know he’s there

Well Hello World
How you been?
Good to see you my old friend,
Sometimes I feel as Cold as steel
And broken like I’m never gonna heal
I see a light, a little grace,  little faith unfurl.
Well Hello World

Sometimes I forget what living’s for, And I hear my life through my front door,
and I breath it in,
oh I’m home again
I See my wife, little boy, little girl, Hello World

Hello World
All the empty disappears
I remember why I’m here
Just surrender and believe
I fall down on my knees
Oh Hello World, Hello World,  Hello World

Question of the Day:  When did you last discover something new in your world and what was it?

11 Comments

Filed under Whitney's Playlist

11 responses to “Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Hello World

  1. Dessa Wade

    I went on a hike with our young women last tuesday and always when I hike my eyes are glued to the ground so I can keep my footing. Well, my sweet friend, Brielle, kept reminding me to look up at the beautiful surroundings and when I did it was like a breath of fresh air. I think that’s how we handle life, forgetting to stop and smell the roses and enjoy the little things.

  2. Karen

    Just want you to know that you did a beautiful job singing on Sunday. it was wonderful! Told your Mom in an e-mail that I had my windows washed yesterday and the world is beautiful today even from the inside looking out.

  3. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day:
    When did you last discover something new in your world and what was it?

    Good topic – thought of this just this morning on my walk around the track as a matter of fact.

    Lately some other people have been telling me I should get an ipod or mp3 player for when I am walking the track and/or cleaning my building.
    I was thinking about it and thinking about it …
    I guess I have been thinking about it for about 2 yrs now when I took the cleaning job and up until this am during my walks…lol.

    I kept leaning more toward buying one and then today it occurred to me on my walk that I really like NOT having one. I love music – don’t get me wrong.
    I wouldn’t carry my cell phone either if it weren’t for my kids at activities and needing to stay in contact.
    It hit me upside the head and occurred to me why it was taking me so long to decide.
    I love to listen to the birds, the breeze, even the dogs barking and the summer school kids out on recess. I like to think (and even talk to my daughter when she walks with me).
    I enjoy that time to myself. I enjoy the quiet time. It is a time when no one is asking me for anything or wanting something from me. It is a time when I am just me and not mom /wife/teacher/cook/maid/chauffeur.
    I like to talk to God and appreciate the wonders around me.
    I don’t WANT to be plugged in to some device.
    I homeschool so I am surrounded by the kids asking questions & noise in general 24/7. The time to myself and any quiet time I have is precious.
    I have no NEED to fill that space with music or anything else.

    I enjoyed this music choice and video, Whitney. I love Lady Antebellum. The male lead singer’s ( Charles Kelley ) voice is what I love the most.

    Like this song, I like to look and listen to the world and talk to God while I am walking.

    Thanks for the post – love it – as always!

    Keep on…keepin’ on…..

    • I love that too, Louisa… forgetting about all the technology and being one with the voices in your head! I like Charles Kelley’s voice the best too… the lady I can take or leave, but he has a voice of an angel!

  4. When I was on my walk on Sunday, there was a tree in blossom. I could faintly smell it, but did decide to stop and get my nose right up there. It smelled heavenly so I totally stole a blossom and stuck it behind my ear for the rest of my walk. I felt a little like a dork, but it made me happy at the moment so I didn’t care.

  5. Jen Jen

    I used to go through life just focused on my own world and problems. But the last couple years, I have really been appreciating the simple pleasures of life and stopping to smell the roses.

  6. Pat Mackay

    Sometimes it is hard to get out the door to go walking in the morning, but every time I do I put on some motivating music and enjoy the beautiful scenery of Cache Valley that I love and it is totally enjoyable!!! By the way, we both LOVE LOVE LOVE CHOCOLATE!!!!!!!!!

    • I am in dang good company on this chocolate train of mine. Is there anything better!? If it were a sin to eat chocolate, I think I’d gladly go to hell! 😛

      Re: the walking… there is no better scenery than what we have in Cache Valley… it truly does make it a pleasure to exercise out of doors!

Leave a Reply

