Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Uncharted

So, I’m thinking it would totally be nice to have some sort of road map for this life we have to live.  A detailed listing of what all’s going to happen, which pit stops to take, how many flat tires to prepare for, how many times you’ll run out of gas, when the motor will explode in your face, and how many cows to slaughter for the lifetime supply of hamburger storage in the built-in car freezer.  Gee, that sounds nice…  I’d never forget the reason I made a special trip to the grocery store ever again!  (no, that didn’t just happen tonight… why do you ask?)

Fortunately, that’s totes not the way life works.  We don’t know what’s going to be around the next bend in the road… will there be a deer jigging on the highway?  How many falling boulders will I have to dodge?  This life is all uncharted… but I’m pretty sure if we just keep on moving in the right direction, dodging as many of the catastrophes that we can, we’ll make it to the treasure at the end of the road eventually.  And fer goodness sakes, Lem… let’s never forget to enjoy the journey!  Life isn’t about the destination… it’s about the journey to the destination.

Uncharted by Sara Bareilles

If you have a few minutes, totes watch the video (if you can’t get it to play on my blog, click on the YouTube link and/or press pause and wait for the red line to reach the end before playing it).  It’s a fun video (thanks for the heads up, Rachel).  It’s like name that celebrity!  Here’s a brief synopsis of who shows up in the video:

Sara Bareilles’ new video starts with Professor Ben Folds introducing us to the song, and once it kicks in we’re confronted by a myriad of guest musicians lip-syncing to the song on homemade video footage. The ‘Uncharted’ video features, in no particular order, (big inhale) Josh Groban, Pharrell Williams, Ingrid Michaelson, Adam Levine and all of Maroon 5, Cary Brothers, Greg Laswell, Adam Gardner and Ryan Miller from Guster, Laura Jansen, Tegan and Sara, Vanessa Carlton, OneRepublic‘s Ryan Tedder, YouTube lip-sync sensation Keenan Cahill, and Sugarland‘s Jennifer Nettles (exhale).

No words
My tears won’t make any room for ’em, oh
And it don’t hurt
Like anything I’ve ever felt before

This is no broken heart
No familiar scars
This territory goes uncharted

Just me
In a room sunk down in a house in a town
And I don’t breathe
Though I never meant to let
it get away from me

Now I have too much to hold
Everybody has to get
their hands on gold
And I want uncharted

Stuck under the ceiling
I made, I can’t help the feeling I’m going down
Follow if you want, I won’t
just hang around
Like you’ll show me where to go
I’m already out
Of foolproof ideas so don’t ask me how
To get started
It’s all uncharted

Each day
I’m countin’ up the minutes ’til I get alone
‘Cause I can’t stay
In the middle of it all, it’s nobody’s fault

But I’m so low
Never knew so much I didn’t know
Oh, everything is uncharted

I know I’m getting nowhere
When I only sit and stare like I’m going down
Follow if you want, I
won’t just hang around
Like you’ll show me where to go

I’m already out
Of foolproof ideas so don’t ask me how
To get started
It’s all uncharted

Jump start my kaleidoscope heart
I love to watch the colors fade
They may not make sense
But they sure as hell made me

I won’t go as a passenger, no
Waiting for the road to be laid
Though I may be going down
I’ll take in flame over burning out

Compare Where you are to where you wanna be
And you’ll get nowhere

I’m going down
Follow if you want, I won’t just hang around
Like you’ll show me where to go

I’m already out
Of foolproof ideas so don’t ask me
how to get started
It’s all uncharted.

Question of the Day:  Would you rather know before hand how your life will turn out?  Why or why not?

14 Comments

Filed under Whitney's Playlist

14 responses to “Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Uncharted

  1. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    I really enjoyed the song choice and the video.
    Josh Groban is one of my MOST favorite people ( and if you remember I saw him in concert just a few wks back ). He is genuine,,,,, funny, very intelligent, and oozes talent in everything he does. His appearance on this video made my day!
    Jennifer Nettles is also a fav b/c she is funny and quirky and yet down to earth.

    I really like your ticker for biking from Logan to Las Vegas.

    Question of the Day: Would you rather know before hand how your life will turn out?
    Why or why not?

    I think….no.
    Although life is bumpy and unpredictable, we have more control than we give ourselves credit for on how it turns out.
    I think if Jesus is our Lord and Savior and we are good stewards of our time, money, faith, body, our children, and our loved ones…then we will be ok whether we live to be 20 or 105.

    I have had a good handle on it all up until I let too much weight creep on. I wasn’t being a good steward of the body that God gave me and I knew it. I was unhappy but unwilling to change it. I am much happier and a much better daughter, wife, mother, friend, and neighbor now that I am making the changes to get healthy and balanced again. I still have a ways to go but I am optimistic and learning to enjoy the little things and am giving thanks for it not being too late before I figured this out.

    Just keep swimming…just keep swimming….
    ( dory from NEMO )

    • I agree with you, Louisa re: Josh and Jennifer! I love the down to earth folks. That
      business makes a lot of the celebs self-important.

      And amen on your outlook about life!

  2. cl2

    The thing I’ve learned in my 54 years is “life is what happens while we are making plans.” Nothing in my life has gone as I had planned.

    Would I want to know ahead of time–No. If I had known some of the things that would happen, I wouldn’t have been able to continue on. I’ve had some pretty harrowing experiences, but I’ve had some wonderful surprises along the way. BUT truth be told–if I had known at age 20 what was to come, I don’t think I would have had the strength to keep living.

    • You have had quite the life, Colleen and you are still a strong, caring woman… so you need to pat yourself on the back for coming out of it all with flying colors. I hope this time in your life is the time you get to be happy and content!

  3. Avster

    I think if we knew what was going to happen to us in life we would just lie down and moan about it and thus never accomplish anything.

  4. Ally

    No. Unless I knew for sure it would be a perfect life. So I guess we know the answer. No. I agree with Avster.

  5. Froggy1976

    Absolutely not. I love surprises, I guess I’m a romantic that way. Gotta take the good with the bad. I would never give up the great feeling of a good surprise to know if something bad was coming my way.

  6. Thanks for the shout out, Whit. I love me some Sara Bareilles and this song especially. I love the line about being out of fool-proof ideas. I’ve been out of those for YEARS if I ever even had one! There are some times I would like to know the future, but I have to MAKE the future. I won’t go as a passenger, no . . . waiting for the road to be laid.

  7. Jen Jen

    I wouldn’t want to know how my life will turn out because then there would be no adventure, surpises, disappointments, and excitement.

Leave a Reply

