Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Fix You

So, this pus-filled toe of mine… oops… totes forgot about my pledge to leave the pus stories for the journaling entry… right next to the entry where I lament the pros and cons of mayonnaise versus Miracle Whip!  Tune in tomorrow for a very special edition of sandwich spreads on this here blog.

Today’s song choice… Fix You, originally made famous by the band Coldplay’s lead singer, Chris Martin (yo yo Gwyneth, Apple, and Moses… yes, I know these things… sue me), but I chose this version, sung by a contestant on The Voice, Javier Colon.  Firstly, Javier can SANG… not just sing… SANG!  Secondly, it gives me goosebumps every time I play it on full blast whilst trying to ignore the flashing police lights behind me.

This has always been one of my favorite songs… and I’ve always thought it was my theme song (dude… cocky much?  Maybe I should change the song choice to You’re so vain… I bet you think this song is about you).  It was this song that helped to jumpstart my lifestyle change.  I wanted… no… NEEDED to “fix” me… and nobody was going to be able to do it but me.  There’s a myth that weight loss (especially for food addicts) is just about the eating and exercising… nope.  Those are the side projects… the main component to weight loss is all in the mind.  You need to “fix” the reasons that you overeat and sabotage yourself… if not fix, at least understand why you eat, so you can have a better handle on it.

I have a lot of things to “fix” about myself.  A LOT.  My family would tell you the list right up front… they have it memorized.  I am not perfect, but no one is perfect and if someone tells you they are perfect… that’s their biggest problem.  It gets overwhelming to think how far I have yet to go, fixing all of my imperfections, but then I think about how far I’ve come and the fact that at least I am consciously trying to become a better person, and it somehow makes it alright.  Rome weren’t built in a day and this here city of Whitney is going to take years to master… she’s a Wal-Mart right now who needs to turn into a Ritz Carlton.  Thank you for your patience with me, friends and family.  Buckle up… it’s going to be a long ride!

Fix You sung by Javier Colon… originally by Coldplay

When you try your best, but you don’t succeed
When you get what you want, but not what you need
When you feel so tired, but you can’t sleep
Stuck in reverse

And the tears come streaming down your face
When you lose something you can’t replace
When you love someone but it goes to waste
Could it be worse?

Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you

When high up above or down below
When you’re too in love to let it go
But if you never try you’ll never know
Just what you’re worth

Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you

Tears stream down your face
When you lose something you cannot replace
Tears stream down your face
And I . . .

Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you       

Question of the Day:   What do you need to fix about yourself?  

 

14 Comments

Filed under Whitney's Playlist

14 responses to “Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Fix You

  1. cl2

    What don’t I have to fix?

    I just read the post about what is going on with your cat. Christmas 2009, the vet told me my dog needed his teeth cleaned and his ears cleaned out really good and they’d have to put him under anesthesia–BUT HE MIGHT DIE under anesthesia they said. He was 12-1/2. I was like, “Oh, okay?!?!?” I said–NO–I only wanted to treat him for pain. Then he had a bloody nose March 2010 and I took him back in and the new vet said the same thing–and I said, “No–I just want him out of pain until he dies.” He never acted like he was “in pain”–he was still chasing the ball right up until the end. My dad loved dogs, too–and we made a deal before he died that I could send my dog to him. I had to hand feed him a lot of the time the last 6 months. It was hard to find food he would eat–could eat. I kept teliing my dad to take him–but to MAKE SURE I KNEW it was time. the day it happened, I KNEW it was time. It was one of the hardest days of my life–and I stood there and held him while they put him down–and I closed his eyes for him afterwards. I still buy balls for him–my ex thinks I’m nuts. My screen saver is a picture of the pile of all his balls that were in the backyard that I bought for him just the past year or so. They’ll always be there as long as one of us lives there. I have pictures all over my desk as I type of my dogs including toy stuffed dogs that look like them that my kids gave me.

    My dogs helped me fix what has been fixed so far. They were there through all the bad years and I couldn’t have made it without them. And as bad as those years were–I’d do it all again just to have my dogs.

    We had a cat during those years, too–named Nala. She died with that cat food scare. My dog who just died–the last 2 nights of her life–and I wasn’t sure if she was dying, but I couldn’t get her to eat–they laid out on the patio half the night together. Then she disappeared. I looked and looked for her. Found her in the spring under a bush. She loved the dogs, too–my first dog–she thought was her mom! She is buried with my dogs.

    There are those of us out here who GET IT. It has only been 4 months since I lost my Jesse. You feel so helpless with an animal–as we can’t tell them what is wrong and they can’t tell us.

    HANG IN THERE!

    • Colleen… your doggie stories made me tear up. I know how hard it was for you to let your pals go… you are a strong woman and I’m sure they couldn’t have lived a better life than the one they lived with you! Take care!

  2. Dorothy Dingman

    There are a lot of things that I need to fix! The one that affects me the most in regards to living a healthier life is my all or nothing attitude. I really struggle with this, I feel like I have to be perfect at it, or I don’t want to do it at all. I don’t allow myself to make mistakes. In my heart, I know that mistakes are OK, and are part of the process, but my brain tells me if I have made a mistake that there is no fixing it, and I might as well wait until “tomorrow” to get back on track.

    I need to remember that it doesn’t have to be tomorrow…it could be in the next 10 minutes, or even the next hour. Because really, 12:00 midnight was only magical for Cinderella!

    • Ha! Love that quote… 12:00 midnight was only magical for Cinderella. I think if you keep on trying to ingrain that in your brain, Dorothy, that there are no mistakes in this lifestyle change, it will eventually click with you. Just takes something to burrow into the depths of your brain and then all of a sudden a light bulb goes up and you’re like… ah ha… that’s it!

  3. Jen Jen

    I need a lot of things fixed too. One thing I would like to overcome is my shyness. I wish I was more outgoing and social, especially around unfamiliar people. I also hate it when I get jealous of other people because I know it is wrong to feel that way, so I need to overcome those feelings too.

  4. Holly H.

    I need to stop over analyzing, well, everything. Not really sure how to accomplish this but I’m sure my brain would love a break.

  5. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: What do you need to fix about yourself?

    Oh Lordy…it would be easier to list what ISN’T needing fixing.

    I think the biggest thing for me is forgiveness…

    I need to figure out how to forgive my older brother for molesting me as a pre-teen.

    I need to figure out how to forgive myself for things I have done to myself in the past.

    I need to figure out how to deal with my husband’s jealousy issues when I am NOT overweight. I need to forgive him for some of his past jealousy tirades that I ended up insulated myself against with food & fat.

    I need to forgive my parents for not knowing what was going on when my brother was hurting me. I know they didn’t know but in my heart I feel like they should have known and they should have done something about it to help me.

    I need to forgive the people that I have shoved out of my life for one reason or another. I don’t want them back IN my life but I do need to forgive them their trespasses against me.

    I need to forgive myself for letting myself get so out of control and overweight. I have only myself to blame and I am the only one that this weight is hurting and I am the only one that can fix what is wrong.

    Keep on…keepin’ on.

    • Hugs, Louisa. Forgiveness is a hard, hard thing… especially for some things that seem unforgivable. Take care of yourself first and then you can work on the rest.

  6. Lindsay

    Things to fix . . .
    1. Patience (need more of it!)
    2. Selfishness (need less of selfishness!)
    3. My perception of my own body image (its’ not kind!)
    4. More self control
    5. More love to give to others ( I NEED MORE OF THIS!)
    6. I need more sympathy and kindness to others

    The list could go on and on!!!

  7. I love this song and I love the way Javier sangs it. He is one fine sanger (and singer – he’s got it both!). I am really rooting for him to win The Voice. He seems like such a classy guy and a cute dad. I actually posted about this song on my blog when I saw the Five Browns perform it. I never thought of it in terms of needing to fix myself, but I totally see it that way now. That’s one great thing about music . . . it means different things to different people at different times. The list of things I want to/need to fix about myself is long. I find myself overthinking the changes I need to make rather than just diving in and making them. This is definitely something that needs to get fixed before I can fix anything else!

    • Javier’s voice is angelic… I was rooting for him too… and then Dia second since she is unique and was from St. George.

      So agree on the music front. There are many ways to interpret a song… it’s all in what you’re needing at the moment.

Leave a Reply

