Move Over Chef Boyardee…

Cooking is not my thing.  BORING!  To sum it up, basically I’m just lazy… and cooking for one person sucks because the microwave oven was invented for people like me…. you know… the people who like to press buttons and have hypersonic rays cook their food so the micro transmissions can fry your brain.  When I was taking courses at Bridgerland to become a transcriptionist, there was this lady in my class who would always inform me of the danger of cooking in the microwave… especially cooking in tupperware/plastic containers.  And I’m all like… “Honey… you seen my brain lately?  Fried to the maximum!” 

The worst part about cooking for me is cleaning up afterwards.  I make a mess when I cook… and then I get all overwhelmed with the clean up, because a germ-a-phobe has to dirty approximately 4 times the amount of utensils, pots, dishes, etc., than a non-germ-a-phobe.  I’m getting kind of frustrated, though, with my limited meal choices.  Not that I don’t love sandwiches, salads, and salads and sandwiches, I just think I need to mix it up on occasion.  So, I pledged that I would pick out at least one meal a week from my trusty vetrinarian (erm… I meant vegetarian) cookbook and cook it… and make enough to have leftovers for at least 2 days.

My first NEW meal, which I made this past Monday, was Chinese-style veggies and noodles.  And I gotta say… it was mighty delicious… MIGHTY!  I ate it for 2-1/2 days straight… plus it was low on the calories with so many veggies… less than 300 calories for a big serving.  I loved to slice a bunch of graper termaters and throw them on the top of it… HEAVEN!!

Monkey brain boilage!

Vegetables!

DONE!

Question of the Day:  What are some of your favorite (easy) meals!

Side Note:  Happy Birthday on Mondee, United States!  Hope everyone has a fun, safe, and productive 4th of July weekend.  Since it is a holiday on Monday, I will not be posting a blog post, but will return come Tuesdee to the regularly scheduled nonsense!  Thank you all for reading!

16 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Food

16 responses to “Move Over Chef Boyardee…

  1. cl2

    I’ve got one–I had to think for a while for a vegetarian meal–but it is a sandwich. Best sandwich in the world! I think!

    Cheese, black olive, and tomato sandwiches. Two slices of bread, 2 slices of american cheese (you can use others, but I like the american best–sometimes I only use one if I want lower calories), with sliced olives and tomatoes in between–then grill. LOVE THESE SANDWICHES.

  2. Dorothy Dingman

    Here’s my favorite! I really like how versatile it is, everyone can make it fit their unique tastes.

    Veggie Calzones

    3/4 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
    3/4 cup halved and thinly sliced zucchini
    1/2 cup sweet red pepper, chopped
    1/4 cup sliced green onions
    1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
    1/4 teaspoon dried basil
    1 10-ounce can refrigerated pizza crust
    1 cup low fat mozzarella cheese
    1 egg white, beaten

    Heat oven to 425 degrees. Spray cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray. In bowl, combine mushrooms, zucchini, pepper and onions. Sprinkle with garlic salt and basil and mix well. Unroll dough and place on cookie sheet. Roll into a 14 inch square and cut into 4 pieces. Place 1/4 cup of cheese on each square and spread to within 1/2 inch of edge. Top each with 1/4 of vegetable mixture. Fold dough over in half and press edges with fork to seal. Brush each pastry with egg white. Cut 2 or 3 slits in top of each pastry to allow steam to escape. Bake at 425 degrees for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.

    (Ray and CJ prefer it with lots of meat…ughhh, give me the veggies!)

    • You must have read my mind that Italian food is at the top of my favorite food list! I love this recipe and will definitely give it a go! Thanks, Dorothy! Ray and CJ must also love the meat lover pizza at Pizza Hut! Even when I did eat meat, I always wondered why people liked so much meat shoved on one pizza crust!

  3. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: What are some of your favorite (easy) meals!

    It’s summer!! Time for easy-peasy that doesn’t heat up the kitchen meals.
    BLT’s
    5-bean salad
    Dh BBQing while I make up the cool side dishes

    Made a new one this week. I used to make these finger sandwiches with bread but since I am off a lot of breads, I decided to make it with a tortilla instead. LOVE IT even more now. LOL

    Modified Cucumber Sandwiches

    1 flour tortilla ( might be good with corn tortillas too )
    2 Tbsp cream cheese ( reg. or lite )
    1 Tbsp Italian dressing ( or one of your choice )
    1 Medium cucumber, peeled and sliced ( according to your liking – I like them medium thickness)

    Place tortilla flat. Spread cream cheese over entire tortilla. Sprinkle dressing over cream cheese. Place cucumbers around on top to cover.
    Cut with a pizza cutter into 4 quarters. Pick up a quarter, fold and eat.
    Enjoy!

    Hope someone likes these. They are a hit here. My Dh & kids love them too!

    Keep on …keepin’ on.

    • Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

      Of course you can add more protein to this as well or modify it even further to your liking.
      I make it just like in my recipe and it runs about 320 cals. and is very light and summery and satisfying too.
      Maybe add some real bacon bits or other veggies on top to bulk it up but I recommend trying it this way first b/c it is really good.

      • Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

        LOL – I thought of another one

        Easy Tomato- Basil Pizza

        1 ready to use baked pizza crust ( 12 in )
        1/2 cup Philadelphia Italian cheese & herb cooking creme
        1 tomato, thinly sliced
        8 fresh basil leaves
        1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese, divided

        Heat oven to 425
        Spread pizza crust with cooking creme; top with remaining ingredients.
        Place crust directly on middle oven rack.
        Bake 10 – 12 min or until cheese is melted

        * you can substitute drained roasted red pepper slices for the tomatoes.
        Prep Time = 10 min
        Total Time = 22 min
        Makes: 6 servings

        * I don’t have a calorie count on this.

        Creamy Shrimp Tacos ( i am sure this could be modified for vegetarians)
        2 tsp. oil
        1 cup thinly sliced onions
        1 lb uncooked deveined peeled small shrimp
        1 tub ( 10 oz ) Philadelphia Santa Fe Style Blend Cooking Creme
        8 corn tortillas ( 6 inch )
        1 cup Mexican Style Finely Shredded Four Cheese
        1/2 cup shredded purple cabbage
        1/4 cup shredded radishes
        2 Tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro
        1 lime, quartered

        Heat oil in large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat. Add onions; cook and stir 5 min. Stir in shrimp; cook 3 – 4 min. or until shrimp turn pink, stirring frequently.
        Add cooking creme; cook and stir 2 min.
        Spoon onto tortillas; top with shredded cheese, cabbage, radishes, and cilantro. Squeeze lime wedges over tacos.

        YUM!!
        Pret time = 15 min
        Total Time = 27 min
        Makes 4 servings

        I don’t have the calorie count on these either.

        Enjoy

    • Mmmm… these are making me hungry already! Thanks, Louisa. I think I have the ingredients for the tortilla/cream cheese/cucumber one in the fridge… so will have to give it a go! I love easy peasy too… especially in the heat of the summer!

  4. That looks awfully colorful and tasty! One of my favorites is something so dumb and so easy. I take one (or two if I’m hungry) whole wheat tortillas, heat up some refried beans mixed with a little taco seasoning and smear it on the tortilla. Then I add cheese, lettuce, fat free sour cream, and tomatoes. If I use 2 tortillas, I put one on the top and make sort of a burrito sandwich and eat it with a knife and fork. I’m not a ginormous salsa fan and don’t like guacamole or a lot of the other traditional Mexican condiments (olives, onions, peppers, etc.) but for those who do, I’m sure they would be good on this. I love it because it’s filling, nice on the calories, good on the protein, cheap, and easy. Happy 4th of July! Hope you do something fun.

    • Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

      This sounds yummy and totally something I would make.
      Now I want one…lol.
      I will have to whip one up for lunch today ( with all the yummy veggies and then some )
      Dh & the kids will love it!

      Thanks!

    • I LOVE that recipe… I eat a version of it, but instead of the refried beans, I use chili beans, but it is definitely tasty! I call it a modified burrito!

  5. Jen Jen

    Stir fry or soup with vegetables are always something I make often. Wish I could have seen you in Driggs.

  6. Amy

    Ooooh! All that color looks yummy! U should post that recipe. I don’t really have a favorite in mind at the moment since the brain went into veg-mode about 4 hours ago but I do like Allrecipes.com though… very much. It is my hobby nowadays. They have all sorts of recipes there for the trying and tweaking to your own taste. Lack of variety has killed my weight loss ambitions more than once but I don’t have much excuse with that website.

  7. Ally

    I’m a non cooker also. Please share that recipe!

  8. Pingback: I’m Bored… How’s About I Eat An Entire Pizza! « craving a life

  9. Pingback: It Tasted Better In My Head… « craving a life

Leave a Reply

