I’m Bored… How’s About I Eat An Entire Pizza!

Blugh, blugh, blugh, blugh, blugh.  I’m just going to start with that and wish I could end with that too… GOOD NIGHT!

I had grand plans to talk about going to a RO-D-E-I-E-I-O in this here first post back from a holiday weekend, but that’s going to have to be postponed due to a concussion I suffered whilst watching the rodeo…  pretty sure it was a sympathy concussion… when one of them Wrangler dudes got bucked into the gate head first, I automatically contracted a coma.  Boy oh boy… remind me never to go to a boxing match.  MOVING ON… more about the rodeo later in the week.

Impromptu topic of the day was inspired by my horridly craptastic weekend of eating.  Did I mention the word craptastic yet?  Well… it was craptastic!  I haven’t been so disappointed in myself in a long time… it’s like I turned into one of those little (except BIG in this case) Pac-Man dudes who was wandering around the house eating everything in it’s path.  Mmmm… carpet!  This was bigger than my usual numbdumb eating… this was a full on RAVENOUS IDIOT ON THE LOOSE!  Out of control on so many levels accompanied by that hopeless feeling I was so used to feeling 217 pounds ago (well, I’m sure it’s now only 214 pounds ago).  I’ve been thinking about it tonight… trying to pinpoint why I felt the need to go so out of control, not even bother to keep track of my calories, and have the durndest time finding the gumption to stop myself and say, hey… this is not you anymore!  Knock it the heck off! 

Instead, I just ate 15 servings of cookies… 8 pieces of pizza… 18 servings of baked steak fries… 6 servings of vegetarian baked beans… 3 mini Fat Boys (ironic, ain’t it)… and a rootbeer float… over the course of 4 days.  I did also manage to snack on other things that I can’t even remember now because I did not even bother to log them in my food diary.  If this had happened in the past, it would have just turned into this wicked out of control bulldozer, bulldozing on down the path of gain all the weight back and then some… proving those staticians right who say over 90% of people who lose weight gain it back.  I’d have just gone back to my old ways 2 years ago.  But it’s been so long since I’ve visited “my old ways,” that I’m not even going to entertain that thought.

Since I won’t be choosing the bulldozing option, there’s only one other option.  Move on, forget about it, and try to fix it for future reference.  As I’ve been thinking tonight about why I went so out of control, I came up with 3 reasons:

1.)  PMS!!  (oh quit it, men… like you ain’t ever read those words).  By the by… these are NOT excuses… just me trying to find ways to deal with Pac-Woman Syndrome.  I always find that I snack more just before happy woman hormone hoarding week (okay, fine… and during HWHHW)… but I’m also usually able to curb that at least somewhat.

2.)  Sadness… As usual, I stayed home from family vacation weekend.  I had come up with all sorts of reasons for why I couldn’t go (some valid, some not so much)… they left on a Friday morning and I had to work on Friday… I hate dealing with germiness and that cabin had to be full of it… Anxiety was on high alert, etc., etc., etc.  So, I stayed home and chose to bore myself to death by not doing anything 4th of July-ey… even though I did have a friend who invited me to hang out (thanks, Rachel).  I don’t mind spending time with me, myself, and I.  I’m not the social butterfly kind of person who always has to have some place to be and someone to do it with.  That’s just never been me… but in this instance it might have helped distract myself some.

3.)  Habit.  Back in the olden days, when I wasn’t allowed to eat anything without sneaking it behind the family’s back, I used to anticipate the times when I’d be alone for the weekend… I’d order me 3 pizzas and eat until I turned green… because I couldn’t do that when the family was around.  It became a habit… family would leave, I’d pig out.  Even when I’d moved out of the house and the family leaving wasn’t an issue… if I was alone for a weekend, I’d pig out…  I’ve had better control over that the last 2 years, but I think it resurfaced when compacted with the other issues above.

When looking at all 3 of those issues… they all come back to the same problem… emotional eating.  I eat when I’m bored (especially when I’m bored), sad, frustrated, angry, happy, and PMSey.  It’s been difficult to teach myself to only eat when I’m hungry… that’s the only emotion that should be stuffed down with food… HUNGER!  Time to take action… I’ve decided I’m going to start charting my feelings every time I eat… at least for the next week or so.  I found a chart online that I’ll be using (feel free to join me any of you who want to get a handle on emotional eating):

Emotional Eating Chart (PDF Format) 

Yes… it’s 1800’s format… print the sucker and adopt yourself a quill pen with dipping ink.  Just like they used to do back in Punky Brewster days!  When I’ve charted my emotions every time I eat for the week, the next step will be to come up with a plan… something to replace eating with.  I’m anxious to get back into a better routine.  I’ve been plateauing now for at least a month or so and it’s probably adding to my emotional eating… the frustration of not seeing the scale move, despite the fact that I’ve been exercising at least 6 days a week.  I have no problem with the exercising… it’s a habit now.  Time to make eating only when hungry a habit and I’ll have this thing nabbed down to a science.   Because… hey, Whitney… this isn’t you anymore.  Knock it the heck off! 

Question of the Day:  Are you up for the emotional eating challenge?  Which emotion do you tend to have the biggest problem with when it comes to eating it away?

I was frustrated until I came across this lil dude on my bike ride tonight... Don't Worry, Be Happy!!

A few people asked for the recipe I talked about in Friday’s Post, here she be in all her glory:

Chinese-Style Noodle Salad with Vegetables
Serves 4

4 ounces (100g) thin egg noodles
2 teaspoons olive oil
2-3 cloves garlic, chopped
2 tablespoons finely grated ginger
1 bag broccoli slaw (I bought mine in the produce section at the grocery store)
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 yellow bell pepper, diced
1 cup canned baby corn, cut in half lengthwise
4 ounces sugar snap peas or snow peas
6 scallions, finely sliced
4 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
1 teaspoon Asian sesame oil (I substituted olive oil)
3 tablespoons fresh cilantro leaves (I left these out because I cannot stomach cilantro)
3 tablespoons salted peanuts, finely chopped

1.  Bring large pot of salted water to a boil.  Cook the noodles in boiling water according to the instructions, then drain them well.
2.  Heat the olive oil in a large frying pan and stir-fry the garlic, ginger, broccoli slaw, bell peppers, baby corn, and sugar snap peas for 4-5 minutes.
3.  Add scallions, drained noodles, soy sauce, and sesame oil.  Toss everything together over a medium heat for another minute, until they are thoroughly combined and hot.
4.  Finally, add cilantro and peanuts, toss together once more, and serve.

Nutrients per serving:  Calories:  236  Protein:  9 grams  Fiber: 5 grams

11 Comments

Filed under Calorizing

11 responses to “I’m Bored… How’s About I Eat An Entire Pizza!

  1. Jen Jen

    The recipe sounds so good, I will have to try it, as I am trying to eat more vegetables. I have been really hungry and eating a lot more than normal too. I think it is my PMS week too.

  2. cl2

    I’m not up to the challenge–at least not today! HEAT. I don’t do well in heat and I tend to eat more then–when I feel rotten anyway. You talked about anxiety–I eat when I know I’m going to have to be social. Right now, I eat during the week when Mike is at work. Always waiting for everyone to be gone so I can pig out. So I can finally be alone.

    The thing that works the best for me? Being broke! Can’t buy any junk and have to eat what I have. I need to get back with it, too, as I finish off my last few items of junk food that I bought Friday. Don’t have a lot of money until payday–so I’ll be hoarding my money rather than buying junk food, so I can probably do better this next few days.

  3. Avster

    It’s good that you didn’t get off your bike and turn the ball around so that he was frowning! 😉

    “Move on, forget about it, and try to fix it for future reference. ”
    I definitely agree, Whit! You can’t change the past, but you can change the future.

    “If this had happened in the past, it would have just turned into this wicked out of control bulldozer…”
    But see, you have learned that while it may control you for a while, you’re strong enough now to step in front of the bulldozer and take the keys.
    We all know you’re capable of conquering the bulldozer. 🙂 Humans are smarter than machines.

    ~hug~

    • I’ve always wanted to know what it would look like to have your eyes underneath your mouth!

      Thanks, Avster… I appreciate it and I totes agree… just a blip on the road. I know how to do it!

  4. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    First of all – Whitney, you need to forgive yourself and move on.
    This bit of a bump in the road won’t make you gain it all back.
    It threw you for a bit of a loop but nothing that you can’t navigate yourself through.

    Drink lots of water and flush out all that garbage and jump back on Rumpita. Exercise will help chase away those blues.

    I think your idea to take control of the habit by logging it and analyzing it is a great idea.

    Question of the Day: Are you up for the emotional eating challenge? Which emotion do you tend to have the biggest problem with when it comes to eating it away?

    I used to eat for ALL the emotions.
    I think my worst one is — out of boredom.
    I feel like I have a pretty good handle on my eating now and eating clean is really working for me.
    I have substituted boredom with a variety of activities to help me and I always take a bottle of water and a protein snack along wherever I go. I don’t let myself get hungry and that has really helped me. I eat high protein snacks every couple hours.

    I was mistakenly eating when I was really thirsty as well so drinking TONS of water every day has also helped me in a lot of ways.

    Keep on…keepin’ on…

    • Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

      Thanks for sharing that yummy recipe too !!!

    • Yes… definitely have moved on… probably wormones not helping things. I still rode the bike everyday for an hour, so I’ve got that down… moving on!

      Awesome that you have a good handle on your eating… that’s an accomplishment. That’s something I will always work on… I was born with that gene, I guess! But knowing it is winning half the battle!

      If you make the recipe, I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

  5. I’m so sorry you had a crappy weekend. I think you are smart to recognize it for what it is and try to move on from it. One of my favorite quotes that I need to be better about remembering when stuff like this happens is from Ralph Waldo Emerson. It says, “Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could; some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; you shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.” I still find yself encumbered by my old nonsense a lot, but every day is a new opportunity to become the best version of ourselves. I know you’re good being by yourself, but if you ever need a distraction, I’m your gal. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

