Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Standing Outside The Fire

Golden oldie twanger music alert!!!!  Lock up the twangaphobes, put on your favorite 90s Western attire and for goodness sakes, Aqua Net them bangs!  When this song came out in 1994ish, I was 15ish… full of hormones and high school angst!  And I watched the music video channels on a daily basis, hoping to high tide that this video played… because it A.)  Made me bawl all my teeny bopper hormones out into the atmosphere where they belonged, 2.)  literally fired me up so much that I’m pretty sure I put in a Richard Simmons VCR tape and sweat to the oldies for a good 2 hours’ straight, and C.)  Inspired me to all get out and back.  Sure, the video quality, special effects, and clothing are all 90s cheese that puts Velveeta to shame, but the story is timeless and universal and if it doesn’t touch your heart on some level, then you ought to get yourself an appointment with a cardiologist… see if that ticker is really ticking.

Cheesy testimonial time!  I made excuses for why I wasn’t living life… letting it pass me by, not trying anything new.  I can’t was my favorite, FAVORITE phrase (well, that and do fries come with that?).  I never jumped into the “fire” because I was so dagblasted afraid of getting burned.  I’m here to say now that the jump is totes worth it.  I’m enjoying discovering new things and learning that by golly, I CAN do it if I put my mind to it.  Jumping in that fire was the best thing I could have done for myself.  I deserved it… and so does every last one of you all.

Life is not tried, it is merely survived if you’re standing outside the fire.

Standing Outside the Fire by Garth Brooks

We call them cool
Those hearts that have no scars to show
The ones that
never do let go
And risk the tables being turned

We call them fools
Who have to dance within the flame
Who chance the sorrow and the shame
That always comes with getting burned

But you’ve got to be tough
when consumed by desire
‘Cause it’s not enough just to stand outside the fire

We call them strong
Those who can face this world alone
Who seem to get by on their own
Those who will never take the fall

We call them weak
Who are unable to resist
The slightest chance love might exist
And for that forsake it all

They’re so hell-bent on giving,walking a wire 
Convinced it’s not living if you stand outside the fire

Standing outside the fire
Standing outside the fire
Life is not tried, it is merely survived
If you’re standing outside the fire

There’s this love that is burning
Deep in my soul
Constantly yearning to get out of control

Wanting to fly higher and higher
I can’t abide
Standing outside the fire

Question of the Day:  Do you like twanger music?  Which music genre is your favorite?

8 Comments

Filed under Whitney's Playlist

8 responses to “Whitney’s Playlist Wednesday – Standing Outside The Fire

  1. Dorothy Dingman

    I love twanger music! Believe it or not, I had never seen that video before, totally loved it!

  2. cl2

    Old rock is probably my favorite. I listen to a wide variety–but Billy Joel, Bee Gees, love Gordon Lightfoot, Simon and Garfunkel. Lately I’ve just been listening to a lot of Disney music as my daughter put a bunch on the iPod she gave me (mine was not doing well–it was really old). But I do like some country.

    Personally, I jumped right into the fire (as you well know)–I know that for years I used my weight to keep people away, to stop living and just survive. I know that is one of the reasons I put so much of it on. I jumped back into the fire 6-1/2 years ago. It has had its ups and downs.

    What your post reminded me of today was dogs . . . I don’t know that I’ll ever be ready to jump back into the fire with loving another dog. They give so much in return, but losing our pets is truly one of the worst things I’ve ever been through. So–I’ll protect my heart for at least a while longer (even though I get to dogsit that giant dog–there are ways to not fall in love?!?!?) I’m not dogsitting her this week though–I’m sonsitting ha ha ha ha ha. Dogsitting is easier.

    • Sonsitting… HA!! Good luck with that… at least the dogs you can tie up to a tree or something. I think someone would say something if your son was tied to one! Good luck with that Colleen!

      Meanwhile… I heard a rumor today that you hurt yourself!? What is this about!!? I hope you are doing okay. Do you need anything?

  3. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Good song & video.

    Question of the Day:
    Do you like twanger music? Which music genre is your favorite?

    Well to be perfectly honest my musical tastes have changed as much over the years as I have.
    As a kid, we listened to 70’s & 80’s rock b/c my oldest brother would play it and we thought it was cool.
    At home and at the office my parents ALWAYS had classical music on.
    As a teen I started liking some pop & top 10 country as well as the (then late 80’s) rock.
    In college, I liked the pop and 90’s rock mostly.
    After college, I met my husband. He is all country all the time. He especially likes the old country that he grew up on ( the 70’s old country – Haggard, Jones, Tammy Wynette, Dolly…etc) which I was totally unfamiliar with.
    I guess I should just say I like most all music ( all except Rap which I seem to have NO tolerance at all for ).

    Keep on…keepin’ on.

    OH! I wanted to tell you that a guy was looking for a new home for his Quaker parrot a week or so ago. He has to get rid of his Quaker b/c his new baby is allergic. He was going to sell the Quaker with everything ( cage, toys, all of it ). You know what?!
    I surprised myself b/c I actually inquired about the bird and thought about getting her.
    I didn’t think I was over losing my “Tike” but apparently, under the right circumstances, I could let another bird into my heart.
    I am always amazing myself.
    Just thought I would share….

    ~Louisa

    • I am with you, Louisa… I’m a fan of pretty much all music, except I cannot stand the heavy metal stuff… that’s more just screaming and loud than music!

      Awwww… any bird would be lucky to have you as an owner. You’d take such good care of it. I do not blame you one bit for not knowing if you are ready, but way to go taking the leap to inquire about it… have you gone any further with looking into it?

      • Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

        I inquired to see if he had found a home for her yet.
        He did say he preferred her going to someone with bird experience.
        I asked for pics too. I asked if she was hand-raised and gentle etc.

        I didn’t hear back – so I am assuming he found her a home he is happy with.
        That is fine with me.
        Quakers live quite a long time so it would be a large commitment.
        I was just surprised and happy ,in a way, that I was actually healed enough to even consider it.

  4. Jen

    I have not seen that video in quite awhile, but I still love it. And yes it makes me cry too. You know me, my favorite music is still country

Leave a Reply

