… And Then There Was Day 2…

Day 2 of what?  Mini vacation Whitney time… DUH!  I am reliving my childhood by using the word “duh” so much.  I think that was my top one word growing up.  Because obvs when you are between the ages of 11 and 18, you are the all knowing globulation of cells and brainpower and pretty much everyone else is a bunch of clueless mudsuckers without a brain cell to be found.  OBVS!!  And then one day you get smacked in the head with a baseball bat (thank you, world) and you come to your senses and realize how truly clueless you really are.  That was a glorious day if I remember it right… all-you-can-eat chocolate buffet on that there day… and by buffet, I really mean any leftover stale Halloween/Christmas/Easter candy I had stashed underneath my bed.

Moving on… day 2 of Whitney’s mini vacation time was not exciting as day one… but that’s just because a big part of it included shopping for a certain womanly support undergarment (you can thank me later for being so subtle, men).  So, bra shopping (oops) SUCKS!!  I hate it with the passion of 5000000000000 burning summer suns.  I had pretty much been into every store down at this end of the world, trying on, tugging on, scrunching on, blah, blah, blah… every single last garment known to man!  And the ones that fit I hated because they were too itchy or too diggy or too wirey and on and on and on.  I came up with an excuse why I hated every last one of those things… I think one of my excuses was that the color clashed with my irises.  You try wearing something no one will see when it clashes with your irises… I rest my case.

So, because this valley failed to produce what I needed and I was desparately in need of smaller-sized support, I had to venture down South to Salt Lake City area stores.  I know what you’re thinking… if you hate shopping for those things so dagnabbed much, why don’t you just buy the ones that fit and get it over with?  Um, obviously you ain’t ever been a woman… sit down and be quiet until you grow an ovary.  😛  Meanwhile, back in PMS land…

I ventured in to Lane Bryant aka we’ll give you 2 pieces of clothing for the price of your first born child store… why the crimeny puffs is everything so expensive in there!?!?  Seriously, I picked up this tank top with approximately 2 inches of fabric and they wanted 50 bucks for that thing!?!?!  Seriously!?!?!   Hi, my name is Whitney and I only buy things if they are on the clearance rack with an extra 95% off at Walrus World.  Of course the shop girls at such stores are never annoying… every 5 seconds a new one was asking me if I needed any help and/or if I wanted to be measured for an undergarment.  Uhhhhh… did Jack Kevorkian love funerals?  HECK TO THE NO on that one.  I’ll just go with my usual illy-fitting number and keep my dignity.  It’s a miracle I managed to walk out of that place with some undergarment purchases in hand, 5 sizes smaller than the ones I have at home in my drawer.  We’ll see how long it takes before I return them.  It’s 2 different things trying the things on for 5 seconds and wearing them for 16 hours… I’ll let you know on hour 5 if it was a success or not.

Question of the Day:  What item of clothing do you most hate shopping for?  Why?

We stopped at Lindsay’s on the way home, just so she could show us how good she was at hefting up Mr. Harley Butterball… he was kind of pissed off because he couldn’t reach his food dish up that high.  I don’t blame you, Butterball… I don’t blame you one bit!

I was camera-less on a bike ride tonight when I saw this rainbow, so I had to call dad and make him got out rainbow hunting with camera in hand… thanks, dad!

 

16 Comments

Filed under Shopping

16 responses to “… And Then There Was Day 2…

  1. cl2

    I think I said yesterday that I hate shopping for things like capris. I look hilarious. I think part of the problem is that I see so many women with capris on that go to their lower leg–not just below the knee. Where do you find some for a 6 foot woman that really go to your lower leg??? I think I’d look okay in those. Underwear–I refuse to try on. Luckily, I hate to say, I buy a Playtex type in Wal-Mart–yep, Wal-Mart. It has given me the best support so I don’t look like I’m sagging so much. Your post makes me want to buy a new one!

    I keep trying other stores for stuff–INCLUDING PRODUCE–I buy most of my produce at Wal-Mart. I noticed you said you don’t like Wal-Mart produce. I got some grapes at target the other day. They looked beautiful. They tasted like water. I got some at Safeway here in CO and they were kind of old. The only good grapes I’ve had this year were from Wal-Mart. And they always have gala apples, which Target doesn’t. I’m not really that impressed with the grocery stores here . . .but they have really GOOD clearance sales here, Whitney! I’m amazed every day that I go shopping.

    • That’s awesome, Colleen. I love me a good clearance sale… especially if there are some good things for good deals. I will have to make a note of that the next time I venture over to CO! That’s funny on the produce front… maybe I’ve just bought produce there at the wrong times. The best place in the universe for produce, though, will forever and always be Sam’s Club (in my humble opinion)… everything there looks beautiful!

  2. Avster

    “scrunching on, blah, blah, blah… every single last garment known to man!”

    Wouldn’t it be know to woman? :b 😉

  3. Jen

    I hate shopping for jeans because I can never find them long enough but tight enough on the waist. I also hate shopping for swimsuits because my body is awkwardly shaped for those things.

  4. Lindsay

    I just want to comment on how cute that cat is!!!

  5. Kaylee

    I hate bra shopping! I have only found bras in my size at one store. Because I have a large band size and a small cup size, they are very hard to find. In fact, the last two bras I found in my size (an A cup, by the way) had to be taken in because the cup size was too big! I finally got frustrated enough with the bra search that I decided to give eBay a whirl, thinking that if anyone out there was holding on to bras for big ladies with little lady parts, then they would surely be selling them there. A week later, the best fitting bra I have ever know arrived in the mail. I have since bought 4 more.

    • Kaylee… how frustrating!! I can see where that would totally be a problem and so not fair. They really should get a panel of women together, all different sizes, and then have them give input on how the bras should be!

  6. Katbaran

    I agree on the bra shopping! Hate it with a passion!!!! @Kaylee–I feel your pain, sister. I wear a 42 band and a B cup that is a little loose. The bras I find either make me look like a viking woman with too much padding or are so flimsy that what little I have falls out the bottom! Who the heck designs these things? Men, obviously!

  7. I agree with the Lane Bryant statement! I only buy things when they end up on the clearance rack, or I have a coupon…When I first started shopping there (in college-probably ohhhhhhh 8 or 9 years ago) I was a lil less smart with my money, but now I know better.

    I don’t really care for undergarment shopping either…It’s been a while for me, so I am overdue for buying new ones…!

    love the cat…and the rainbows!

    • Lyndsey… amen on the expensiveness of the clothing. I was the same way when I was younger… buy whatever I wanted and then have credit card bills up the ying yang. I now would rather do the cheap and leave the credit card stress for the newbies!

  8. Louisa

    Oh pretty rainbow pics & sunset.
    What a pretty kitty too…Butterball is very cute and rather put-out…lol.

    Question of the Day: What item of clothing do you most hate shopping for? Why?
    Probably swim suits. I haven’t felt like a swim suit has flattered me since …oh…college.
    Bras.
    I have to get those frumpy plus size bras and I don’t like them. None of them are pretty or flattering. I am excited to get a decent looking bra one day soon.
    If these suckers don’t go down as I lose this weight…I am saving up for a reduction ( my husband can just deal ). Thankfully, as I have lost 45lbs so far, I have seen my bra size going down. I don’t think my breasts have actually changed but I have lost “back-fat” and that effects bra size.
    I will take it …for now.

    • Swimsuits are another of my hated… but I haven’t even purchased one in YEARS!!! So, I can’t say I’ve ever done it often. As for the reduction… heck yes… you do what makes you happy… the husband will adjust!

Leave a Reply

