Under the Weather!? WHAT THE!? More Like Caught In A Tornado!

I hate the term “under the weather?”  What does that even mean?  It sounds like I should be sitting out under a rain cloud like Eeyore… nekked and with no umbrella… there, now I’m totes “under the weather.”  On the other hand, “over the weather” totally makes sense.  I’ve been over the weather starting every January 1st until approximately July 1st.  The term I’d use for the way I’ve been feeling today is… “Batten down the friggin fraggin hatches, Toto… we ain’t in Kansas anymore!”  Turn that into a phrase, all 5 people who read this blog.  We’ll take the world by STORM!

So, I feel like I’ve been thrashed to death by a tornado… some sort of bug or infection or something… complete with chills and goosebumps (wearing a sweatshirt and a Snuggie in 90-plus-degree weather), followed by the hot flash sweats… where I turn into a 60-year-old woman fanning herself with anything that fans and sitting in front of a desk fan for hours like I’m channeling one of them anorexic supermodels during a photoshoot.  I’m assuming the chills followed by sweats is just the fever coming and then breaking.  Then, I feel like I’ve been run over by a Mack truck and thrown into a biker bar sporting a Hello Kitty tattoo.  All rundown and achy and headachey.  Of course, I still worked my hours at my job… I’m that effective with 0/3 of a brain on board.  There should be a law that we can’t get sick in the summer.  A LAW, I tell you.  I had such big plans for tonight.  I had my food menu all planned out… and my dinners were portioned in individual tupperwares in the frig.  I was planning on getting another 10 to 12 miles in on the bike tonight… and most importantly, I was planning to go to the opening of the new movie, The Help.

Instead, I barricaded myself on the couch wearing a sweatshirt with the hood pulled down to my chin, wrapped up in a Snuggie, dozing off whilst watching “Minute to Win It.”  Not exactly my idea of a productive evening.  And since I was feeling all garbagey, I didn’t eat any of the foods on my planned out menu because they didn’t sound goood in my foggy brain.  What did I eat instead?  CRAP!  Snacky foody crap.  This under the weather crapola is major inconvenient.  Why couldn’t it just happen when you don’t want to attend a friend’s wedding… so, you have a legitimate excuse.  I was battening down the frigging fragging hatches, Toto… we ain’t in Kansas anymore!!

Question of the Day:  Do you usually eat more or less when you are “under the weather?”

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Under the Weather!? WHAT THE!? More Like Caught In A Tornado!

  1. jenny

    Depends on how sick I feel. I usually eat for every situation. Happy, sad, sick, and well….I did see The Help yesterday. Fantastic movie. Get better so you can see it soon!

  2. Avster

    It depends which “under the weather” I am. If I have a cold I have the tendency to eat a lot… if I’m down about myself it can go either way. I’ll either eat a lot or I’ll eat a little.

  3. Karen

    Sorry you are sick. Summer colds are the worst! Have a date with Audrey H. to see The Help. Did you read the book? Looking forward to the movie. Get well soon.

  4. dessawade

    I really don’t get sick that often but I remember in the past thinking that I still have an appetite even when I’m sick. You’d think you wouldn’t but not me, still look forward to food.
    Get better QUICK since we have lots to do.

  5. Dorothy Dingman

    When I am sick, I tend to eat a lot and it is comfort food so it is high calorie, ie. casseroles, cream based soups, and stews. The times that I don’t feel like eating, is when it is really hot outside, So food wise, summer is my best eating because of all the healthy fresh veggies available, and we eat a lot of salads, and grilled items.

    I am headed to the theater to see The Help today at noon. I read the book and loved it. I hope you get to feeling better soon, you’ve got a movie to see, a bike to ride, and individual tupperwares in the fridge to eat!

    • So true on summer being a better eating time than winter. I LOVE the abundance of fresh fruits and vegetables and could seriously live on those the whole summer… then, comes the winter with wilted produce… yuck!

      Hope you enjoyed the movie, Dorothy! It looks right up my alley!

  6. I’m sorry you’re sick! Being sick in the summer should be a crime. I generally don’t eat much when I’m sick. If I’m tummy sick, I’m afraid of food. If I’m cold sick, I love me some popsicles and Slurpees.

  7. Amy

    Sorry you’re under the weather n there wasn’t even a reception to be avoided 😦 it still didn’t detract from your word pickin’ creativity… you make my most favorite sin not so much fun anymore. But, then again, who needs to challenge the local sailors when I can go around saying much more funner stuff like “friggin fraggin”? Ha! Don’t worry though- you get the “coined phrase” credit. You can now say you’ve done your good exampleshipmanshow for the month- ur game is funnest. Now for some new sentence enhancers… Sure hope ya feel better real quick. Sprite or Ginger ale… For tummy, pepto= nasty w a capital K. Nose/chest- lemon-lime powerade, or lemon squeezed into hot water, mix w dollop of honey n a dash of salt. Nap n suphedrine w a dash of Ibuprofen 🙂

    • Haha, Amy! We could give them sailors a run for their money… I’ll tell you what! I’m taking your cure advice since you are a professional nurse. Ladies and gents… she knows her stuff! Hope you have a great weekend, friend!

  8. Louisa

    Question of the Day: Do you usually eat more or less when you are “under the weather?”

    I usually eat a lot less when I am sick.
    Sipping water and Saltine crackers is about all I eat when I feel sick. Doesn’t matter what it is…cold or flu or menstrual cramps or even exhaustion or really sore muscles. My appetite suffers.
    Thankfully I don’t get sick very often.

    Keep on…keepin’ on…

Leave a Reply

