Leaving the Giving Up For the Quitters!

“Quit” is a special word.  It can be both a positive and a negative thing in the same sentence.  It’s a cause for celebration if someone quits smoking or quits doing drugs or quits being an alcoholic, etc., etc., etc., but one becomes a lame loserite if he/she quits on a goal or a simple task.  Let’s take Britney Spears for example.  When she quit singing and took up drugs, the world rejoiced… especially my ears!  I KID… just the part about rejoicing about the drugs… the singing part stands… forever and ever and always!  Girl can’t sing her way out of a paper bag.  But then Britney went and decided to pass on the torch of psycho drug and alcoholism to Lindsay Lohan… and she took up singing again.  I bought me some earplugs and a bottle of Jack Daniels and so far, so good.  KIDDING, family… just about the Jack Daniels part… the earplugs stand… forever and ever and always!

What the heck are you talking about, Whitney!?  MOVE ON!  I’ve quit many things in my life.  Most of them in the negative sort of light.  I quit on college because I couldn’t fit my receptacle in the chairs and desks any longer.  I quit on every weight loss attempt I’d ever made.  I quit the 12-member, audition-only Jazz ensemble because I didn’t think I was a good enough singer (even though they picked me over tens of other auditioners).  I quit caring about myself and my health and whether or not I died.  Basically, I quit on myself.  I was trying to make myself content… content that I would live out the rest of my life with a view from my favorite couch cushion.  Shut up… that’s the end of it… you’ve tried, you’ve failed, there’s no more hope. 

That was the quitter fairy talking.  I am living proof that there is always hope.  No matter how many dagnabbed times you fall down, there’s always a way to climb back up.  The trick is realizing that.  This is not exclusive to weight loss… this goes for any dream, big or small.  If you fall 7 times… you stand up 8… and that qualifies as a success.  Leave the giving up for the quitters!

Question of the Day:  Have you quit something in the past that you wish you hadn’t?  If so, what was it?

Quitters by Collin Raye

Nobody thinks about that stuff.
Like, how tall he might have been, or how fast he could’ve run.
They just stare as he rolls by.
All they see is a helpless kid, with no chance to live a life.
If they only knew . . .

He’s got dreams of breaking ribbons in a hundred yard dash,
Climbing up a snow-capped mountain & planting his flag.
He believes one day he’ll stand up & walk away from that chair.
He’s got faith, he’s got hope, and all his Mama’s prayers.
He’s not jaded or bitter,
He’s gonna leave the giving up
For the QUITTERS.

The doctors say no way he’ll walk,
He’s just smiles and says , I’m gonna prove you wrong.
Lots of falls and failed attempts,
His legs keep giving out but his heart ain’t giving in.
What they don’t know is . . .

He’s got dreams of breaking ribbons in a hundred yard dash,
Pushing Earnhardt down the backstretch in a Daytona draft.
He believes one day he’ll stand up & walk away from that chair.
He’s got faith, he’s got hope, and all his Mama’s prayers.
He’s not jaded or bitter,
He’s gonna leave the giving up
For the QUITTERS.

He pulls himself up on the bars and takes a long, deep breath,
Lifts his right foot off the mat and with all that he has left
He takes a step, one step ‘

Toward his dreams of breaking ribbons in a hundred yard dash,
Going long for a touchdown with his buddies out back
He believes one day he’ll stand up & walk away from that chair.
He’s got faith, he’s got hope, and all his Mama’s prayers.
He’s not jaded or bitter,
He’s gonna leave the giving up
For the QUITTERS.

17 Comments

Filed under Little Things, Uncategorized, Whitney's Playlist

17 responses to “Leaving the Giving Up For the Quitters!

  1. Avster

    Quit isn’t in my vocab, but bullheaded is. :b

    To be honest there are some things that I know I have given up on… though none are coming to mind. I’m too stubborn to quit. I will keep pressing on until I reach some sort of success.

    It’s interesting that you posted this. After dropping off the photos at the fair I was feeling as though I definitely would not do well at all. The photos are so spectacular and the printing and framing jobs are very expensive. It’s very hard for a “little” person like me to compete at that level.
    So as I was driving home I was contemplating whether or not next year I would even give this fair a try again as it’s pricey (compared to other fairs) to enter.
    But after a bit pondering I went, “Nope! I’m not giving up! I will keep entering until one of my photos place and then I will contemplate whether or not I want to enter again.”

    • I shouldn’t have said I was a quitter… I guess one is only a quitter if they don’t keep trying… so, I’ll just say that I’m procrastinating and napping on a few things!

      Go, Avy… keep on submitting them photos because you never know what will catch someone’s eye!

  2. Jen

    First of all, that is a really pretty picture of the sun flower. You are becoming quite the photographer. I was just thinking yesterday that I wish I had a nice camera like yours.

    I’ve always liked Collin Raye, ever since he came and performed at BYU-Idaho (10 years ago). What did I quit? Lots of things too. Some were good things to quit…like lame jobs or selling Mary Kay. But I’ve always regretted quitting ballet, especially now that I have to work twice as hard to get my ballet skills back.

  3. dessawade

    Nice post Whitney! You are an example to me of perserverance in spite of the odds. With that kind of attitude you are going to go all the way this time, I can see it in your eyes.
    I am a quitter when it comes to swimming. I am too afraid to learn how to swim and I have been a quitter many times when it comes to daily scripture study. Oh boy, the lameness!

  4. cl2

    Whitney–you are my inspiration. I’ve said that before–but I’m just amazed at you. I liked you the instant I met you and have been impressed all along the way. You keep me HOPEFUL. I had put a little weight back on when I was here in Colorado and when I went home, I lost it again. The fact that you KEEP ON GOING keeps me believing. I know I told you I had a friend (she was 59) who was very overweight and when they told me she had collapsed, my reaction was “let her go–please just let her go.” All my neighbors were saying, “We can’t lose her!” I knew how unhappy she was and “felt” that things would never change for her–and I watch you and read your experiences and you give ME (if not everyone else) hope!!! I’m so proud of you.

    • Colleen… you are way too nice to me. You are totally an inspiration yourself… weight loss, perserverance in all things… and the fact that you are going out to CO to live part time. That’s a big step… very much worth a couple of pats on the back or 15!

  5. Louisa

    Question of the Day: Have you quit something in the past that you wish you hadn’t? If so, what was it?

    Just sat and looked at that pretty picture for awhile enjoying everything about it.

    I have almost quit my marriage a couple times. Seriously, went to the lawyer office and all one time.
    I am glad I didn’t though.
    I quit on myself after our son was born and my body didn’t respond and heal quickly like it always had before. I let the weight creep on and didn’t do a dang thing to stop it. I let the sadness creep in too and quit trying to find my joy. I wanted someone else to do it and that isn’t how it works.
    I wanted to blame others as well and found out that doesn’t work either.
    I gave away my joy. I let those self defeating thoughts in and take over. I did.
    No one else.
    I am on a mission to find my joy and retake my health and I am not a quitter.
    I am a determined survivor.

    Keep on…keeping on…

    • Louisa… that’s so very commendable of you to keep on trying with the marriage! I admire those who can and do… and you know how much you rock at taking care of you’re health… good for you!

  6. Louisa

    Question of the Day: Have you quit something in the past that you wish you hadn’t? If so, what was it?

    I just had to sit and look at that pretty picture for awhile enjoying everything about it.

    I have almost quit my marriage a couple times. Seriously, went to the lawyer office and all one time. Left for a couple weeks another time. My Dh & I are both very independent and bull-headed sorts.
    I am glad I didn’t go through with it though.
    I quit on myself after our son was born and my body didn’t respond and heal quickly like it always had before. I let the weight creep on and didn’t do a dang thing to stop it. I let the sadness creep in too and quit trying to find my joy. I wanted someone else to do it and that isn’t how it works.
    I wanted to blame others as well and found out that doesn’t work either.
    I gave away my joy. I let those self defeating thoughts in and take over. I did.
    No one else.
    I am on a mission to find my joy and retake my health and I am not a quitter.
    I am a determined survivor.

    Keep on…keeping on…

  7. Ally

    I’ve quit things good and bad. I quit smoking 2 years ago. On the bad end I quit college. I’ve been thinking alot about going back. Not sure if it is the right time yet.

  8. That Collin Raye . . . he’s a sanger for sure. I don’t think I’m a quitter, but I fall down a lot. I seem to stay down and wallow for a while sometimes, but I eventually do get back up. Sometimes I think I gave up on myself by not going to medical school and that I was a quitter for not seeing that one through, but in all honesty, I did finish my college degree and that blasted master’s with the thesis when I felt like giving up several times along the way and that is a success. There are some things in my life that I need to quit for sure. I’ll be here all night typing the list out so I’ll refrain. One parting thought . . . I think it’s important to recognize the different between falling down and quitting or else you can do a real number on your good feelers and self esteems by labeling yourself a quitter. Quitting is when you fall down, but stay down. Succeeders fall down and keep getting up.

    • You know I love me some Collin Raye! That’s a good way to look at it Rachel. I guess one isn’t a quitter unless they totally quit trying. I’ve always tried, so I guess I’m just a procrastinator! That’s a better term!

  9. Pat Mackay

    Whitney, you inspire me. I love your honesty and your style of writing. You can make me laugh and cry. I hope you are going to make all these posts into a book when you are done. It would be a best seller. I will always be your cheerleader!! I quit college too.

Leave a Reply

