Well, That’s Just Peachy!

Ode to Peaches:  Peaches, peaches, peaches, peaches, peaches, peaches… sing that to the tune of Mary Had A Little Lamb… What!?!?!?  I don’t do odes!  This past Saturdee was Peach Days in Brigham City.  PEACHES!  I would venture to say that, given the right time of the year, peaches would have to be my favorite fruit.  PEACHES!  (Sorry… just have to shout that word every few seconds to try to contain my giddyism!)  In fact, back in the olden days coughcough the 80s coughcough when I was just a spritely young fry, my favorite Barbie Doll in the world was the one called Peaches and Cream:

Why?  Because I love peaches, dur!  When my sister and I would play Barbie Dolls as youngsters, I’d always have to be Peaches… and then I’d sit and dream about chocolate.  PEACHES!  To make a long story short:  Once upon a time there was a girl named Whitney… she loved peaches… and she loved chocolate… but she didn’t love them together.  THE END!

We went to Brigham City fully intending to attend Peach Days festivities, instead we found ourselves driving up and down the fruit way, searching for the best peach prices and discovering that the Early Elberta peaches (our favorite) are still a good week or 2 out owing to the fantabulous spring we had (and by fantabulous, I really mean cold and rainy and snowy and cold… and peachless).  We finally settled on a bushel of peaches for $15… not bad at all for glorious heavenly goodness.  We tried to make a peach cobbler last night, but the peaches weren’t ripe enough, so it was more of a peach cement mixture.  Patience is not in my vocabulary when it comes to ripening time!

Sister Lindsay and cuzzin Jen-Jen even came out for the peachy occasion… here they are squinting into the sun, trying to pick the best unripened bushel of peaches.

WINNERS! 

Then, instead of heading directly to the Peach Days festivities, we instead spent our time dinking around Brigham City (there were no parking spaces within a 6000-mile radius!)  Some of the dinking we did:

Discovering that one honey bun has 700 calories and 30 grams of fat!?!?!?  WHAT THE!?  Seriously?  Not that I’ve ever in my lifetime (even when I was eating like a lumberjack or 15) ever had a desire to eat one… I was just curious.  Now I know and now I know what 2 meals look like!

Madre also found her a new rug, aka toupe, in case she ever goes through a car wash drunk one night and the polishing arm scalps her.

And who says Billy Bob Thornton wasn’t doing anything these days… he’s making hairpieces attached to hats!

We also visited Padre’s place of work, Maple Springs Assisted Living Facility aka the place of the free yogurt!

Remember the short bus ride I blogged about a month or so back… look at her now… ain’t she peachy!?  So, we never made it to the actual Peachy festivities, but I’d call it a successful morning anyway… got me some peaches, found out a honey bun clogs arteries, and learned if I ever get tired of my blender hair, Billy Bob has an attractive alternative!  I’d say that there was just peachy!

Question of the Day:  What would you say is your favorite fruit and why?

Disclaimer:  The “delicious” egg rolls I talked about in Friday’s post can also be made to taste not-so-great as I learned when I made them for family Sundee dinner.  No flavor this time and I think it’s because I added more vegetables and not enough of the sauce.  You can’t win for losing in the cooking portion of the world!  Seriously now!  Sorry family… but I swear they were good on Thursdee!

19 Comments

Filed under Food

19 responses to “Well, That’s Just Peachy!

  1. Louisa

    Oh peaches and apples have always been favorites of mine. As a kid on the farm, my Dad was always planting fruit trees.
    I remember Mom & Dad would call and call for me and when I wouldn’t answer…my Mom says all she had to do was bend down and look for my feet hanging down out of one of the apple or peach trees. Yep – that was me. Always gorging on the apples and the peaches….lol.

    It is apple season here in Missouri. We will be heading into pumpkin & gourd season soon and our leaves will be changing colors too.

    • Apples are another favorite of mine… but only if they are crispy! I cannot stand a soft, mushy apple! Fresh off the tree is the best!

      That’s a cute story about you always being up the fruit trees! Enjoy the apple season, Louisa!

  2. Louisa

    Question of the Day: How are you coming along with your bucket list items? What do you do when you get that stagnitis feeling?

    I know this is a few days late but I have been giving this some thought since you asked it…
    My newest goal really isn’t fitness related so much.
    Of course, I plan to keep walking and I have my 5K coming up this Saturday.
    I plan to get back to cleaner eating once I get home.
    My Mom is starting to talk about us going home, so it won’t be long now before she is ready.
    She wants me to take her back to Dad’s gravesite soon, so we need to do that for sure.
    Mom doesn’t want to have Thankgiving or Christmas here at the farm anymore.
    She did the big spread for all of us but wanted to stop a few yrs ago when it got to be too much for her. She kept doing it for Dad.
    I understand why she doesn’t want to do it anymore now.
    Anyway, I talked with her about it and asked her if she would like to come and stay with us and have Christmas at our house. I told her we do all the same traditions and everything …just scaled down.
    You know what?! She said she would love to. I was thrilled.
    She has since decided to spend Thanksgiving with my one brother and his family ( but she wants to stay in a hotel there b/c of their very small children ).
    I have a bit of planning to do to get it all done and to make it special. Thankfully, my Dh & my kids are all willing to help and I know it will be great.

    It will be a good goal for me to focus on over the next few months and my exercise routine will help a lot in pulling it all together.

  3. Avster

    Peaches are probably my favorite fruit as well. I actually don’t eat a whole lot of fruit by itself. I generally prefer fruit in dessert form… for example, right now I’m eating an apple cream pie.

    When I was in western Iowa and headed back home I purchased a cheese Danish. I almost didn’t purchase it when I saw the fat calories and calories in general (I think it was around 1,000nd calories! 😮 ), but I knew it was going to be a long drive in which I would have to concentrate the whole drive. I started out driving in a freezing rain and by the time I reached eastern Iowa I was driving in a snowstorm.

  4. dessawade

    That’s a hard question but I’d have to say it’s between blueberries and peaches. There’s nothing better than a juicy sweet blueberry – that’s why I love the Oikos Greek blueberry on the bottom yogurt. Delicious! On the other hand, when peaches are in season I pretty much overdose on them. I eat them in my cereal every morning and am even willing to drive to Brigham City to find the very last bushel of Elberta peaches at the end of the season.

  5. Jen

    I think my favorite fruit is also peaches! Though I never had me one of those barbie dolls. I thought your egg rolls were good dipped in the sweet and sour sauce. You should have tried it even though it was cooked in the same pan as the chicken!

  6. I totally had Peaches n’ Cream Barbie–one of the all time best 🙂 Also, you’re pictures of peaches totally made me drool–I am so jealous! I Love peaches and plums and nectarines and watermelon and strawberries. Mmmmm-fruit!

    • I bet we dressed them Peaches n’ Cream Barbies in ALL the clothes. No skin showing! All of those fruits are mighty delicious, Alena the Stupendous! I’m just a fan of the freshness… boo to winter!

  7. Ally

    You really love peaches, huh? Here in Georgia I see and eat alot of peaches. I like ANY fruit or veggie for that matter. Except beets!!

  8. kitty wampus

    lychees!

    For flavor, ’tis the berry from God,
    though admittedly with a scary facade.
    A red prickly outer shell
    it can be mistaken for a spawn of hell
    and the insides look like an Aliens seed pod!

    • Kit… I can honestly say I have NEVER had a lychee. I don’t think I’ve even ever seen them. The spawn of hell and alien thing makes me curious, though. Thems are my people! 😛

      • kitty wampus

        For sweetness nothing rivals a lychee
        google a picture if you want to see.
        Unfortunately a tropical fruit,
        so in California they do not take root,
        thus from China I’m a major importee.

      • Kit… have you ever thought about quitting your day job and becoming a professional riddle writer? I think you would ROCK at it!

        I Googled a lychee… those are the most interesting looking fruits ever. Kind of like a dried up raspberry on the outside, but the inside is totes the coolest!

Leave a Reply

