Milestone SLAYED: Twoberland!

Excuse me whilst I jig like a balding, drunken Irishman!  Y’all WISH you could see me jigging.  It’s a sight, I tell you what.  Notice I never said it was a good sight.  Again, like the jogging… my jigging is really called jiggling.  Shut up, Whitney.  Seriously now.  Every once in a while you just have to say that to me.  Otherwise, I can be like one of them rambling drunken jigging Irishmen.  There I go again.

Yesterday morning’s weigh in brought with it a milestone.  A milestone that was a LONG time coming.  I’m usually not one to tout accomplishments… I always used to think people would think I’m vain if I’m proud of something I’ve done.  So, I usually play things off as if they are no big deal.  And I think I need to change that way of thinking.  Milestones need to be celebrated and touted… they need to be celebrated because it spurs the person on… lights a fire under their receptacle and makes them want to work even harder to reach the next goal post.   It also can do a heckuva lot to motivate other people.  If that weird jiggling chic can do it… I can too!  

For anyone who has read this blog more than once, y’all know my story.  I started this journey weighing 530 pounds… basically a death wish waiting to happen.  Then, one day the fire was lit underneath my receptacle and I got to working and I worked hard, slaying those beasts one day at a time… and I conquered those 500s and made it into the 400s… and I was proud.

I kept moving along, tripping, stumbling, and conquering and before I knew it I was saying farewell to the 400s… hasta la vista 4s!  And I was proud.  The 3s seemed to last forever… a neverending road of peaks and valleys and several sewer hole fallings… and I thought I’d never see the end…  When I woke up yesterday morning, I saw a 2 in front of my weight for the first time in my entire adult life.  A TWO!  The last time I’d seen a 2 in front of my weight, I was 14 years old, weighing on a scale in my parent’s bathroom in the midst of one of my many “die”ts.

Today I’m saying farewell to the 3s and embracing these dagnabbed 2s with open arms.  Twoberland… I think I’ll like living in you for the next little while… but not forever… Onederland is the next destination on this map of mine… and I have no doubt that I’ll get there one day.

This is for my pals who are in the 3s, 4s, and 5s… the rest of you can go take a nap or play a game of parcheesi, whichever flips your dress up in the air.  It can be done, friends.  Hold your heads up high and keep on marching through that jungle… you’ll find your way.  My motto has always been two-fold… One day at a time… and Persistence, not perfection!  Get you a ticket to Twoberland… it’s a beautiful place.

Marchin’ On by OneRepublic

There’s so many wars we fought,
There’s so many things we’re not,
But with what we have,
I promise you that,
We’re marching on,
(We’re marching on)
(We’re marching on).

Right, right, right, right left right,
Right, right, right, right left right,
Right, right,
We’re marching on.

We’ll have the days we break,
And we’ll have the scars to prove it,
We’ll have the bonds that we save,
But we’ll have the heart not to lose it.

This is probably 100 pounds off my highest weight... don't have any of those pictures!

33 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Motivation

33 responses to “Milestone SLAYED: Twoberland!

  1. jen

    You look amazing! So excited for you.

  2. Lindsay

    WHOOT WHOOT! How the crap did this ever happen? Way to go Whit I am glad to finally see a whole body shot! Your lookin super!

  3. Natalie

    Oh my holy stars you look good! You are crossing that mountain! There isn’t a whole lot left that can hold you back!

  4. Mandy

    Yaaaaaaayyyyyy! Congratulations!

  5. Katrina

    YAY!!!! I’m so happy for you! I know you have been working towards this day for a Long time!! So excited to hear that you finally got your receptacle out of those dang nabbid 300’s. And thank you for touting your own horn cause you deserve it! I can’t wait to hear your horn the next time it plays! Congrats to you!!

  6. Parvy123

    Oh Whitney, this is the best news I’ve had all day – well done to you!! You are truly someone that inspires me. I am teetering on the edge of two-derville and something is stopping me… but here you are breaking into all these different towns 4-der, 3-der, WOW, if that’s not motivational I don’t know what the heck is.

    Thank you

  7. Avster

    More proof that Whitney rocks!! Oh, wait, I forgot… I’m supposed to be taking a nap.

    How about we get together and celebrate in a few weeks? ;

  8. Kale

    What a terrific accomplishment! You deserve to toot that horn, girl! Congratulations; you look great!

  9. Hip hip hooray! ! A great big congratulations!

  10. Rex Wade

    Way to hang in there Whit I’m turely proud of you!!!! Love Dad

  11. Deanna

    Beautiful post Whitney! I agree, you should definitely toot your horn! You should scream your accomplishment from the rooftops! Bravo, my friend! You are amazing and you should celebrate your hard work. Truely an inspiration to everyone!

  12. Angie

    Congratulations! Yeah for slaughtering a milestone!

  13. Bill

    I think the thing I am most proud of for you is that you are willing to take a picture of yourself during your journey and post it. I have followed you for quite a while now and noticed that we get pics of everything and everyone else but you, and it was worth the wait you look beautiful! Enjoy your successes your deserve them!

  14. cl2

    CONGRATULATIONS! I’m so proud of you!

  15. Congratulations, Whitney, you are such an inspiration to me. I’m stuck back here in the 3’s still and every. stinkin. day is a struggle. I’m so grateful to you for giving me hope! 🙂
    Jaana

  16. Karen

    Whitney, you look fabulous. Good work, proud of you for the example you are setting whatever our challenge. Congratulations. How can so many people have read your blog and commented before me.! You have reason to tote your horn!

  17. jenny

    YAHOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! I’m so happy for you! Reading your post has made my day! So so happy for you! I look forward to your blog everyday, and I loved seeing your pictures! Keep them coming! You are an inspiration, and you have given me the kick in my receptacle to hit my next milestone! Good for you girl!

  18. Nellie

    You are looking FANTABULOUS Whitney!!! So awesome.

  19. Bec

    blimey, I started at 306lbs & looked way way bigger than you look now. I would have put you in the mid to lower 200’s for sure so you are carrying it well. Well done for the moving down to the 2’s. Next stop 199. 🙂

    Bec

  20. Christie

    You look so good! And good for you to just take a moment and be proud!!! WOW! Just WOW!

  21. dessawade

    I’m a super proud mom with a tear in my eye right now. I can feel the fight and the determination in you right now and have NO doubt that you’ll make it into onederland. I’ll be right there cheering you on! Just think what lies ahead for you!

  22. Jacque

    Whitney, I’m so excited for you. Your success encourages me everyday. You look absolutely beautiful. But you always were. Thanks for the pictures.

  23. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    I am so happy for you Whitney. You have achieved so much and done so well.
    You are a terrific inspiration to me and a wonderful motivator.
    Your now pic sure is amazing. Going to have to call you “the amazing shrinking woman”…stunning really.
    I am doing a happy dance right now for you!

    I am getting close to ONE-derland and am optimistic.

    You inspire me.

  24. Way to go Whit!!! I am so impressed by you and so glad you’d share your accomplishment! Everyday when I read your blog, you make me want to be a better person. Thank you! And you look beautiful, by the way 🙂 🙂 🙂

  25. Way to go Whitney! You have every right to be proud of your accomplishment because it is amazing. You look great! I’m proud of you, inspired by you, and glad to know you. Keep on trekking to onederland. You will get there. I have no doubt.

  26. Andrea

    YAAAAYYYY WHITNEY! I’m glad you’re proud of yourself and I’m glad you can see how many of us are proud of you too. You deserve to be proud and we’ll all love you more for it. You are an inspiration to so many (and many more you don’t know…yeah, I share your amazingness, bet others do too) Enjoy your success and thanks for sharing your journey.

  27. WOOT WOOT! Congrats Whitney!! So happy for you!!!!

    Chantal

  28. I’ve been reading for the past hour.. I just wanted to say Thank you.

  29. Liz

    Whitney that is such great news! CONGRATULATIONS! (It has to be in all caps because it is just that awesome). You have such a positive outlook and mindset about the whole process, and I think that will get you far. Keep it up girl! And get those hikes in before the snow flies (brrr!)

  30. You look awesome! I’m so proud of you! Amazing transformation! I know that feeling of moving into the next bracket down… it’s the best. You sooo deserve it too. I couldn’t be happier!

  31. karen8095

    Love reading you blog and this one was particularly wonderful – many congrats on this milestone and best wishes for the next one 🙂

  32. Katbaran

    I’m a little late to the celebration but don’t think for a minute that I am not over the moon happy for you! You are absolutely AMAZING!!! So happy for you!Kathy

Leave a Reply

