Please Tell Me It’s Powdered Sugar… I’m Begging You!

Here I am, friends… prepared to moan and groan about things that don’t matter a wit when compared to all of the other worldly problems.  That’s my nature.  Please engrave “Bellyacher” somewheres on my gravestone family… and while you’re at it I’d like a good selection of my doilies sewn to my dress.

I woke up this morning, freezing my hindquarters off (oh man I wish… wouldn’t that be an awesome weight loss plan… freezing one’s hindquarters off… let’s work on the bane of my existence cold weather), only to look out the window and see this:

Can you see it!?!?!?!  No?  Let’s zoom in for good ole’fashioned kicks and giggles, then…

I’m imagining that’s a gigantic muffin and on top of that muffin, the baker has just strewn a slew of powdered sugar across it.  Whitney done needs to get her fork and take a bite.  TELL ME IT’S POWDERED SUGAR!!  The 4-letter S word will NOT cross my lips (or my typing fingers for that matter)… WILL NOT… you hear me, Snow!? DAGBLASTIT!   Screwed that 4-letter word up already!   I would just like to remind the universe that it was only October 6th today… you need to at least give me the month of October… then it is free reign on the swear words!

Meanwhile… back to the less bellyachey world (oh… who am I kidding… I’ll still be bellyaching… I ain’t worked all these years to grow this here belly just to let it get free rent… the lease is up, honey!)  This week’s cooking adventures came with 1 success and 1 failure.  The failure was the biggest bummer in the universe because it was my first crockpot recipe and I was totally anticipating eating it all dang day.  It only had to cook for 8-1/2 hours… that’s a long time to anticipate!  Mediterranean Casserole… you are OUTTA here!  Ick, ick ick.  It looked good from the sounds of it… carrots and onions and green beans and kidney beans and tomatoes and macaroni… kind of like a minestrone sort of recipe.  Something about it tasted really off to me, though and I won’t be looking forward to eating the leftovers tomorrow.  I even made Madre taste it and she agreed it wasn’t the best (so it’s not just me)!  I didn’t even bother to take a picture of that nastiness.

The success was something called Scandinavian Vegetable Stew.  It’s been wintery cold here this week, thus the stew and casserole resurgence.   This recipe had a full 2 cups of milk in it for the sauce… wasn’t sure how that was going to work with my lactose intolerance, but for some reason if you thicken the stuff up and stick veggies with it… it works.  Can’t drink milk plain or eat it in cereal or oatmeal or yogurt but disguise it and it’s a go… the weirdest intolerance ever!

Scandinavian Vegetable Stew
Serves 4

8 to 10 small red potatoes cut into fourths (3 cups)
2 cups fresh or frozen baby cut carrots
3 Tablespoons margarine
3 medium green onions sliced (1/3 cup)
3 Tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 cups milk
1/2 cup frozen peas
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
2 Tablespoon chopped fresh or 1/2 teaspoon dried dill weed
2 hard-cooked eggs, chopped

Mix potatoes and carrots in 3-quart saucepan; add enough water to cover. Heat to boiling; reduce heat to medium. Cover and cook 8 to 10 minutes or until tender; drain in colander. Wipe out saucepan with paper towel.

Melt margarine in same saucepan over medium heat. Cook onions in margarine 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in flour. Gradually add milk, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens and boils.

Stir in potatoes and carrots, peas, salt and pepper. Cook 5 to 6 minutes, stirring occasionally, until peas are tender.

Stir in dill weed. Cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Top each serving with chopped egg and, if desired, additional dill weed.

For the calorizers of the bunch, depending on how many red potatoes/hard-boiled eggs you put in, this recipe will come out to about 310 to 345 calories per serving.  For some reason my camera lens has this really attractive smudge on it… laws smudge… go away!

Question of the Day:  Are you a fan of cold/winter weather?  If so, you need to kick my receptacle into shape?  If not, what is your favorite season? 

FYI:  Next week I leave on my vacation!  Much anticipated bucket list item, Mission:  Uncage the Singing Bird trip… hotel rooms, bring me your best Lysol.  The point being, I’ll probably not be posting from Tuesdee, the 11th through Wednesday, the 19th… at least.  Catch you all on the flip side! 

11 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Recipes

11 responses to “Please Tell Me It’s Powdered Sugar… I’m Begging You!

  1. Uncle Phil

    I like cool weather. When Melanee says she is too cold when the air conditioner is set at 76 degrees I tell her we have a choice…she can either put on a sweater or I can get naked. Micah then runs to the thermastat and sets it at 65 degrees. It is so nice to have the support of your children.

  2. cl2

    For me–the heat is much more intolerable than the cold, but I do get tired of the long winters in Cache Valley–the inversions–but the one winter that I walked all through January and February, I was in a much better frame of mind. I think I told you before that walking at the local stake center worked that winter. I don’t know that they clean the walks as well as they used to though.

    Personally, I think you should eat something today that you want to eat and not the leftovers of something you didn’t like. Throw it out and chalk it up to experience.

    As my therapist has told me–you have to savor the food. How can you savor something that you don’t like!!!

    That second one actually sounds really good (actually, the first one did, too).

    If I forget to tell you–have FUN on your vacation! You deserve to have a really good time!

  3. Avster

    Me like cold weather? Never! 😉

    It’s entirely too warm here… we’re having our Indian Summer… and it’s been high seventies the past few days! 😦

  4. Liz

    Ah, the joys of October in the mts. I like full on winter for hitting the slopes, but the next 2 months are just blah. That’s when we travel. Enjoy your vacation!

  5. I love fall! Totally my favorite! I also really like summer, enjoy spring, and can find some enjoyment in winter until Jan 1st, then I am totally done with it. I am so sorry about the Snow, but so so so so excited for your upcoming vacation! I hope it is an absolute blast!

  6. Louisa

    Ooo – pretty mountains. Love the pics even though I know you are not looking forward to that certain 4-letter word ( S-N-O-W ).

    Question of the Day: Are you a fan of cold/winter weather? If so, you need to kick my receptacle into shape? If not, what is your favorite season?

    I think Spring and Fall are my most favorite seasons.
    I love the outdoors ( blooming trees & flowers & the changing colors ), riding season, as well as the warm foods and snuggly warmth of a blanket.
    I do love summer and winter as well. So many thing to do in the summer.
    So many projects to complete and trips to take.
    Winter is a lot of fun ( especially with kids & holidays ) but I miss being able to ride the horses in the winter.
    Hard winter doesn’t come for us until after Jan. so I should be able to keep walking and working on my C25K program through then.

    Keeping pushing forward…

  7. jen

    Have fun on your trip. I will miss reading your blog though. I only like snowy weather for the holidays. Then I want it gone by January.

  8. Natalie

    oh boy i like the looks of that, I just got a pile of veggies from the farm share, too

  9. Christie

    Mmm, that soup looks good. Travel photos when you get back please. I actually truly enjoy looking at other people’s travel pics, which I know may be a bit crazy.

  10. Amy

    Hiya Whitney. Soup looks fabulous. I’m gonna try that one fo sho. Seriously didn’t need to zoom in on the gorgeous scenery (emerald fields, golden, rolling hills snuggled into sturdy, fatherly mountains…!). My eyes almost thought about leaking 😛 Hope you have a wooonderful trip n so looking forward to hearing about it. Good luck w the hotels. I have never had a grosser hotel experience in my life. Lol. Congrats to Lindsey on her degree (3rd, 4th?) Fave season? Fall- no explanation needed.

Leave a Reply

