Day 1: From Salt Lake City to Denver to Chicago to New York!

Did I ever mention how weird I think airplanes are?  Let’s load ’em all down with 8 bajillion and 50 pounds of crap and then make it soar amongst the clouds in a rainstorm.  Who came up with that idea anyway?  It’s like flying in a metal death trap up in that there thing.  Day one of Whitney’s Bucket List Slaying adventure was spent traveling.  Which is cool if you like to wake up at 3:30 in the morning to make it to the airport 90 miles away at 5:45 in the morning… basically that means Whitney did not sleep this day!  Who needs sleep when there are vacations to be had!  We had a layover in Denver, Colorado where I got to meet up with my FAVORITE sweater-wearing hottie… and by hottie I really mean, it must have been real hot like in the summertime wearing that sweater!

Be Still My Ruptured Arteries!!!

We then hopped back onto the flying death trap to make our way to the 2nd pit stop of our journey… Chicago, Illinois.  OPRAH TOWN!!!!!!!!!!!  😛  For some reason, I’m pretty durn sure my friend Oprah stood me up at the airport.  For rudeness… after all that stalking I’d been doing.  Instead I got kidnapped by some chic wearing a Peeps shirt and driving a PT Cruiser.  She tied us up, threw us in the trunk amongst our Godzilla luggage, drove us to the nearest Olive Garden, and made us eat stale saltines… no water… I repeat… NO WATER!   Okay, that never happened, but that there part is going in my book I’m writing entitled, The Day I Got Stood Up By Oprah!

What really happened was I met my long lost penpal from years back… the Avster and her Madre!  She was super sweet to pick up these random hitch hikers on the side of the road and drive us around the shady part of Chicago.  She even brought awesome gifts… and homemade peach PIE… oh, and a bag of Peeps, which went untouched by this chick… get it… Peeps chick!  After that, she drove us to the wrong airport and made us hitch hike back to the right one… okay, okay… I’ll stop with the horror stories!

We then hopped back on the plane to head to our final arrive-by-plane destination, Buffalo, NY!  Go Meeses!  That would be a FULL day of traveling… 3:30 in the morning to 10:00 at night.  Then, after we waited for our rental care and I did my sanitize the hotel room routine and dance number, I finally got to bed at 2:30 in the morning.  Plain ole TUCKERED!

I also learned that recycled cabin airplane air makes one crave ice chips and honey roasted peanuts… or so our friendly flight attendants seemed to think so.  I love how they call it “complimentary” peanuts… I spent $400 bucks on my 2 airplane seats and all I get is 3 peanuts and an ice chip!?  I’m thinking gold-plated teeth or you know… thinks like money would be more in order next time I fly.  Oooo… or a date with Oprah!!!  Maybe she likes honey roasted peanuts and ice chips!  I’ll find out next time she decides to feed me stale saltines and crick water!

Day 2:  Niagara Falls… coming tomorrowish… let Oprah know I saved her a seat!

Question of the Day:  Do you enjoy plane travel?  What is the longest time you’ve been on a plane? 

25 Comments

Filed under Tripping 2011: New England

25 responses to “Day 1: From Salt Lake City to Denver to Chicago to New York!

  1. Natalie

    I have been to the shady part of Chicago looking for the smaller airport–yikes! But I finally found the pretty part this month! Look at you getting around like a jet setter! That bucket list must be getting pretty small!

  2. I used to love traveling by plane… when I was a kid (that’s when I could have slept well, snuggled in a hanging cot with a porcupine). But as an adult, I find I’m more sensitive to the smells of people taking off their shoes, disgusted by oily bald scalps (and wondering what was leaning against my headrest on the flight prior to mine), bad breath and the smell of microwaved plastic wrap. Even if I take a sleeping pill, I worry about the beverage cart running into my knee, or heaven forbid I snore or drool like those around me. How often do they clean those blankets and pillows they hand out? Judging by the left over crumbs on my lap tray, the dribbled goo on the dog-earred magazines, and the leftover soggy goldfish cracker and crumpled candy wrapper lodged in the crook of the seat pocket… Well, I don’t think they are worried about sanitation grades. Funny they are so persnickety about taking off or landing with your seat reclined at 5 degrees past upright. BTW- My longest flight was to England and back.

    • Amen, amen, amen… a thousand times AMEN! How did you read my mind all the while I was sitting on the planes? I always laugh when they say to put your seat in it’s full upright position… seriously!?!? There’s a difference?

  3. Deanna

    LOL!!!! Great travel stories thus far, Whitney! I can’t wait to hear about the rest!

    Actually, I love traveling. The longest day of travel I have had thus far though (because I live about 10 miles from the airport in Minneapolis) has been from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. It was a long day of mostly waiting in the airport, layovers and a total of 5 hours in flight.

  4. Avster

    ha! When I saw the small image I thought, “Isn’t that Fred Rogers? No way!” Forget Oprah! Fred is much better!
    Too bad Fred wasn’t at the airport at Chi-town… wonderful opportunity for a flash mob. 😉

    I didn’t take you to the wrong airport! You said you didn’t know where you were so I thought I would take advantage of it. Too bad the airport officials knew where they were. :s

    I would most definitely pick up those two hitchhikers again- especially the older of the two. ~laughs~

    Do I enjoy plane travel? Well, it all depends upon whom I am flying with and you know that sordid story. It is amusing in retrospect though.
    The plane flight from Chi-town to Charlotte, NC isn’t all that long. One to two hours depending which way on is flying (due to time changes).

    I prefer to travel via car. I enjoy having control over who sits next to me- unless I pick hitch-hikers. :s But I like being able to take my own detours… scout out photo ops…
    I’m hoping to travel west in February. I was strongly considering driving until I figured that gas one way would cost close to four hundred dollars! :O I think I’ll have someone else do the figuring just to make sure the answer I came to was correct. (Granted, I was figuring on horrible gas millage and exorbitant gas prices.) Round trip tickets cost $350… which doesn’t figure in the three hour (one way) drive to the airport though. We’ll see what happens. 🙂

    • Fred does not believe in flash mobs… King Fridee does NOT approve!! Which older of the 2? The one who turned a year older or the other one? You wish!

      Where are you heading to, Avster!? CoughcoughUTcoughcough! Traveling is expensive! I totally underestimated what this trip would cost me by a LOT! Stupid money anyway!

  5. You are so hilarious! I can’t wait to hear the rest of the adventures 🙂
    I absolutely hate plane travel! Being surrounded by all those people makes me incredibly claustrophobic!!! I choose to drive whenever possible (I have opted to drive from Utah to Washington for my brother’s wedding when everyone else in the family was flying and from Utah to Wisconsin to house hunt) Although, having my car start on fire on the freeway on the last big drive has made me a little reluctant to do the drive again as well.

    • I did not know this about you, Alena… but I do NOT blame you one little bit… not one bit! Flying is not all it is cracked up to be. I was kind of glad that I bought the 2 seats since it gave me a little extra space with not being shoved in with 2 other people in the row, but I can guarantee you I’d have been hyperventilating into a bag had I been squished up.

      Now you have a doubly whammy with your car fire (which would totally have been the freakiest) and your flying issues! Can you get back to UT by boat? Flying boat, perhaps!?

  6. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: Do you enjoy plane travel? What is the longest time you’ve been on a plane?

    My first commercial flight was when I was in high school. I flew out of St. Louis and landed in Florida. I loved it. It wasn’t a long trip – a little over 2 hrs.

    In college I took a small plane from central MO to St. Louis airport. A layover and then a commercial plane from St. Louis, MO to Chicago, IL. ( talk about short trips up and then back down ).
    Memorable for sure…enjoyable…well, not as much.

    Keep on pushing forward.

  7. Liz

    Mister Rogers must be in every airport… They have a huge display in Pittsburgh. I think that is where he is from?
    We travel almost every year, so I must like planes. Unfortunately my husband likes the window and I like the aisle. So on a 3 seater I cave in and get squished in the middle seat, but definitely encroach on my hubby’s space!
    It can take up to 3 days to travel to Africa with all the layovers and time changes. Leave U.S. on a Monday – arrive in Africa on a Wed! Half a day to the east coast, 12 hours to Europe and another 12 hours to Africa. Although the opposite happens coming home. Leave on a Monday and arrive on a Monday…what?
    Had some great layovers in Amsterdam and London. My favorite was being unexpectedly upgraded to business class from London to Denver. I must have smelled bad or looked pitiful. I got a whole cubicle with a fold down bed! Passed right out after the complimentary champagne!
    Now that I think about it. Flying is kind of fun. We are leaving SLC at 10am and arriving in Ecuador at midnight, very soon!
    Glad you had a great trip!

    • 3 days of travel just to get to the destination… I think it might drive me batty… not that I’m not already!

      You are such a jet setter, Liz! Ecuador! How exciting is that!? I hear you about the middle seat… that is soooo the bad end of the stick. I’d prefer them to take out the middle seat and leave the space free for all the claustrophobia people!

  8. cl2

    I used to enjoy plane travel. Now I have restless legs. It is pure torture. This time to Alaska was a lot better than last time, though, because I allowed myself to get up and walk a little bit. I can handle 1 to 1-1/2 hours. Anything beyond that and I’m DONE.

    P.S. I love Peeps! I just had some pumpkin ones recently. I shouldn’t. That is like pouring poison into my veins (they have to be a little dried out first). My kids think I’m nuts. I also have a Peeps shirt. My daughter gave it to me.

    I’m eagerly waiting to hear about Niagra Falls. Mike asked me the other day what other places I’d like to see–and that came to mind. My daughter just went on a 2 week cruise to the middle east and she was so GLAD to get back to the USA. I have NO DESIRE whatsoever to go overseas. There is too much I haven’t seen HERE (and those long plane flights).

    • I’m glad this flight to AK was better than the previous one. I don’t think I’ll ever love flying, but I guess it’s better than the alternative! That’s so funny that you are both Peeps lovers! I don’t mind a Peep here and there, but I can’t say I’ve ever craved them like I do chocolate!

      Niagara Falls is amazing! I think everyone needs to see it at least once in their lifetime!

  9. Froggy1976(Bonnie)

    I don’t mind traveling by plane too much. It’s always a bit uncomfortable though. My longest plane ride was non-stop from Atlanta to Honolulu. 9 and 1/2 hours. It wasn’t too bad though as it was a very large plane and everyone was walking around so we got to stretch a lot!

  10. Jen

    I am so glad you are doing a day by day play by play re-telling of your vacation. I can’t wait to hear more about it. I am offended that Oprah stood you up. I will have to talk to her. BTW-here is the link to my new blog. I thought my old web address would just re-route to this new one, but I guess not. http://justgiveityourbest.blogspot.com/

  11. Darn that Oprah! Sounds like you had some great adventures. I’m looking forward to seeing pictures and hearing about the rest of it. The longest flight I went on was to Hawaii. It was 6ish hours. The flight there was no big deal, but the flight home was kind of rough! I was super sunburned and we left at night and got home in the morning Utah time. I was so tired. I drifted in and out of sleep, but was sitting in the middle and it was awkward. That being said – I’d do it again in a heartbeat. I don’t mind planes. I found a great way to use the plane ride home. I bring my journal and write about my travels. That way, I know I will remember the things that I want to remember while it’s still fresh.

    • Oh laws… the middle seat would be extraly 10 times horrid!! I’m sort of glad that I bought the extra seat just because it gave me some extra space (and I’m sure Madre enjoyed the extra space too). They really need to invent a less cramped plane. Take out all the middle seats and treat us like people! That’s a great idear to write about your time on the way home. I did that on my laptop on the long car rides… just took some notes so I’d remember.

  12. Lindsay

    Longest time on a plane???? 16 hours! Flying once to Thailand and then a few years ago to Japan TOO LONG for me! Especially being squished in the middle of a 6 person row NOT FUN!

    Laters

Leave a Reply

