Day 2: Falling For Niagara…

Day 2 in Buffalo, NY began as any day at a Holiday Inn Express breakfast bar does… some chic telling me her life story after knowing me for all of 2 seconds.  I must have a face that says, tell me your deepest darkest secrets… either that or she’s gone mad… come to think of it I do remember seeing her talking to the wall on my way out.  Amidst that conversation, I did get a couple of words in edgewise… asking her what she’d recommend we do while here in her glorious city, to which she responded, eat Buffalo wings (which by the way, I never saw one Buffalo!?!?!?!  And certainly not one with wings… the name is MIGHTY deceptive).  Then, some dude at another table piped up with, and beef on weck!  Okay, then… while we’re in your city, your only suggestions are to eat 8 gallons of food… oh, boy.  Therefore, we hightailed it right on out of there and drove ourselves to Niagara Falls, NY.

When we arrived we pulled up to park in front of this hotel, which looked SO familiar to me.  It took me a minute to put my finger on where I’d seen it before, but then when I remembered, I took the opportunity to take 8 bajillion pictures of it… I’m FAMOUS!!  (by the by… only 2 of my 8 bajillion pictures turned out okay… the rest seem to have the giddyism disease… where I’m too busy shaking and rejoicing to get a nonblurry picture.)

Who else has seen it?  Give up!?!?!  If any of you watch the TV show, The Office, this is the exact same hotel that Jim and Pam checked into on their wedding day.  We then started hoofing it all over the place trying to find our way to the falls.  Instead we ended up at some gift shop/Indian food joint/welcome center and some true New Yorkian was talking us into taking the 3-hour tour (STOP, GILLIGAN!)  I think it was worth the $65 each because we got to see the falls from every angle possible and our tour guide was pretty rocking too… Cal… another true New Yorkian, Yankee fan, and true blue to his state.  He didn’t take too kindly to anyone saying that the Canadian side of the falls was “prettier.”  As he put it, there are no picnic tables on the Canadian side… I repeat… NO PICNIC TABLES!  The US side of the falls is not thriving economically, a lot of the businesses are boarded up and it seems that there are no jobs, unlike the Canadian side which is booming… but the scenery on the US side is breathtaking.

We got a chance to basically walk right underneath the falls when we did the “Cave of the Winds” tour.  They provided us with yellow rain slickers, which I managed to tear up the whole left side when it got caught on my purse while I was putting it on.  They then gave us these plasticy doo-daddy sandal majigs, which I also managed to break when I pulled the strap too tight.  Apparently, walking with half of my foot hanging out the top of the broken sandal (aka barefoot) is not the easiest thing to do… this from a chic who wears her rocking horse shoes 24/7.

Phew... at least ma had her toes did...

 

Smiling because I'm dry... so far...

You walked up these steep stairs onto different levels of decks… the highest one called The Hurricane Deck for obvious reasons because the wind and the spray that those falls put off is blinding!  Everyone else seemed to be fine and dandy in their little worthless rain slicker and didn’t get that wet, but I ended up looking like a rat who drowned in a vat of Cheez-Whiz.  I could wring out my clothing and my hair and Madre was all walking around dry as a fiddle bone… stupid torn up slickers!

When that was done, we hopped back on the bus (20 people deep) to head to the Daredevil Museum.  This museum contained too many psycho people per square inch.  Apparently, some doofuses think it would be a fun day trip to lock themselves up into a barrel and ride off of the falls.  The statistics are pathetic… something like 15 people have attempted to do this at different points over the years and only 4 have survived.  Yet, people keep on deciding to defy the odds!  They had some of the contraptions people used to throw themselves over the falls on display.

Two people rode in this one… notice how it’s all torn and beat up… that’s due to the power of the falls and rocks it hit on the way down.

Some madman even tried to attempt jumping the falls on a jetski… may he rest in peace.  At the end of the tour, we hopped on the Maid of the Mist boat, which actually took us on the water pretty much underneath the falls… For you Office fans… this boat was also where Jim and Pam tied the knot… on the actual boat!

This time they gave us quality blue ponchos!!  I was uber tempted to keep it to use on the rest of the rained out trip, but I ended up chucking it.  Notice Madre’s dry hair.  SERIOUSLY!?!?

Totes fun… couldn’t see a lick out of my glasses when we got back to the dock and it probably would have felt better to be sopping wet on a warmer day, but it was an amazing sight to behold!!  You all need to see the falls at least once in your lifetime.  Worth it!

Question of the Day:  Have you been to Niagara Falls?  Did you get as wet as I did? 

The big buildings over yonder would be the thriving Canadian side.

That’s not fog… that’s mist from the falls… and the boat is the Maid of the Mist!

 

 

20 Comments

Filed under Tripping 2011: New England

20 responses to “Day 2: Falling For Niagara…

  1. I drive over Niagra Falls every summer on my way to a family vacation site, Cleveland’s House, in Canada. We usually stay over in Buffalo the night before we head into Canada. However, I haven’t done the “tour” since I was a little kid. Perhaps I should take my kids. Now that they are pre-teens, they might like it. 🙂 Love the photos! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Deanna

    Amazingly beautiful! It looks like you had a fabulous time! I am so glad to hear that! I have not been to Niagra Falls, but your photos sure make it seem like a great place to visit.

  3. Avster

    Ah! Now my index finger is itchy and Floyd is raring to go! Nope, never been to Niagara.

    I’m surprised you didn’t attempt to sneak into Canada and make your way to Coppins Corner. 😉

    • Avster

      Oh, the west I’m looking at is Colorado for the figure skating event. The tickets still haven’t hit the market yet and I’m telling myself the ticket price will be the determining factor… but I think traveling expenses and hotel expenses are probably really going to be the determining factor.

    • I invited you along… bring that Floyd finger out here during the winter… I’m sure he would love the snow-covered mountains!

  4. deanna

    You have such a fun way of discribing your adventures. I was there the day after you. Beautiful sight!

  5. Karen

    Yes! I have been to both sides of Niagara Falls and stayed near by for most of a week. It truly is one of those things everyone should see in their life time. Almost unbelievable. Think it is great that you went and have accomplished a bucket list item! Good job!

  6. I have never been, but you have definitely inspired me to do it–especially now that I know you can stay at the hotel and go on the boat where Pam and Jim were 🙂 🙂 🙂 I love your pictures–they are amazing!

  7. Jen

    That is so funny that people keep trying to go over the falls, despite the odds of dying. What a beautiful picture of the falls with the bright colored leaves. Sounds like a good day, despite getting wet.

  8. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day:
    Have you been to Niagara Falls? Did you get as wet as I did?

    I have never been to Niagara Falls. Not yet anyway. I would like to one day. I will try and remember to go prepared to get wet.

    I know my folks went on a month long trip up the coast and then up to the Falls & then into Canada. They had a wonderful time. We farm-sat for them for that month. Good memories.

    Keep pushing forward…

  9. Okay . . . Niagara Falls is now on my bucket list! That is purty. Love, love, love the pictures!

Leave a Reply

