Day 3: Church History… Will There Be A Pop Quiz?

Day 3 of infiltrate the Northeast with my slightly psychotic presence started out in a liiiiiiittttttllllleee town named Palmyra, New York.  Palmyra is beautiful… rolling hills, fall colors popping out of every corner and crevice.  I could live there if they provided free houses and money (hit me up Mayor of Palmyra… I’ll move out tomorrow… you can get a hold of me at 1-800-DREAM-ON-SCHMUCK!)  For those not familiar with the town, Palmyra is rich in church history for we of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints faith (just helping out that one Baptist minister who says we don’t believe in Jesus Christ… oh, and Susan Sarandon might need some help too).  It was there that many of the key church founding moments happened.  I’m not eloquent enough to explain it, so I’m quoting from this website:

On a spring day in 1820 14-year-old Joseph Smith sought solitude in a grove of trees and prayed to know which church was true. God the Father and Jesus Christ, “two Personages, whose brightness and glory defy all description,” appeared and spoke with him.1

Wondering which of the many churches to join, Joseph had followed the counsel in the Bible’s book of James: “If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God.”

In short, for us, sacred ground abounds in that there city!

Our first stop was to the Joseph Smith family home…

I had no idea that they had orange construction cones and caution tape clear back in the early 1800s… it really does go to show you what a great invention duct tape was!

Y’all… now that’s a sink if I’ve ever seen one!!

I wanted to take a nap on that bed… but everyone was looking at me funny like… it looked cleaner than some of the hotel rooms I stayed in!

An actual Bible opened to James from the early 1800s… I bet it was hard to turn the pages with that glass case sitting on it.  They really did have it hard back in the olden days…

After taking a tour of the houses, the barns, and the grounds, it was time to head into the Sacred Grove.  They let you walk through the Sacred Grove by yourself… at your leisure, which I appreciated because talking in the actual grove seemed like such a waste… there was definitely a strong spirit there and Madre and I walked through it for a good hour and then sat on a bench in silence for another 30 minutes.  Madre said she wouldn’t mind pitching a tent and staying the night… then I reminded her of my failed sleep in the cabin attempt and she quickly changed her mind.

We’re playing a game… Where’s the Palmyra Temple… kind of like Where’s Waldo but without Waldo since he’s napping.

From there we also saw the Grandin Building and Peter Whitmer’s home.  We missed out on the Hill Cumorah because we got some ill-advised advice and then were dumb and didn’t plan our time wisely… but we did drive past it.  I am blessed to have had the experience to visit such sacred places.  We were lucky, in that it was a rainy day that day, but all the while we were walking through the grove, not a raindrop fell… not a one.  When we got back into the car, it began again.

Have a great weekend, friends.  Next week cometh beforeth thou knowest!  Enjoy the last weekend in October!

 

11 Comments

Filed under Tripping 2011: New England

11 responses to “Day 3: Church History… Will There Be A Pop Quiz?

  1. Deanna

    What an experience that must have been! The photos are beautiful too Whitney!

  2. Gorgeous photos! Thank you for sharing. Sometimes I feel like I’m traveling the world just reading your blogs. 🙂

  3. Jen

    OK I am in love with those beautiful fall colors! The sacred grove must of been such a good experience. Hope you have a good weekend Whitney. Look forward to reading more on Monday.

  4. Deanna

    How lucky. It rained on us, but didn’t dampen the feeling of being in a sacred place. Love your pictures.

  5. Deanna

    I was also going to comment. Deanna is not a real popular name and you have two followers with that name. How fun is that.

  6. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Love the post and the pictures!
    Gave me goosebumps…

  7. Another place for the bucket list. That is a stunning place. I can see why Joseph decided to head out there to pray. It’s awesome that you can just kind of wander it on your own without time constraints. I’m glad you were able to enjoy it without being soggy. I think that qualifies as a tender mercy. 🙂

  8. Jacque Hunt

    I love the pictures and reading about your fabulous trip. You have now added one more place to my list of places I must visit. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Gorgeous pictures! Sounds like an absolutely fabulous day!!!

  10. Pingback: Day 5: Vermont’s Finest… Ben, Jerry, and Whitney… « craving a life

Leave a Reply

