Day 6: Shakers, Pumpkins, and Turkeys

Not in that order… which came first, the pumpkin or the turkey?  Why did the chicken cross the road?  Y’all… I’m trying to be all deep up in this here paragraph… but apparently I’ve already run out of deep questions.  In the meantime, what’s up with Kim Kardashian, y’all!?

Day 6 began with a jaunt down to the Canterbury Shaker Village, which is not an operating Shaker village, but a museum of sorts.  I’d definitely heard about the Shakers… mostly knew about their hard work ethic and quality products, but it was interesting to learn more about their way of life.  We watched a documentary on Shaker living and why the religion dwindled into oblivion, and now I think there is only one working Shaker village in the US.   Then we had to hit the gift shop because Madre is in love with all things Shaker workmanship.  If she could have, she’d have bought one of each item.  Everything they make is of high quality.  I came away with a cool-looking carved wooden crochet hook (ALRIGHT, WHO’S GOING TO TEACH ME TO CROCHET A SWEATER!?!?!?), a candle that reminded me of Thanksgivingy smells, and a Shaker pie cookbook.  We also ended up with a pumpkin whoopie pie (who knew whoopie pies were so popular in the Northeast) because it came highly recommended by pretty much every person we talked to.  It did NOT disappoint!!  Holy night DEE-VINE!

I pretty much fell in love with their white picket fences and rock walls and vowed that I’d have one of them put in my invisible mansion… STAT!  The builders in my brain are working on it as we speak.  We then took off for this highway our hotel front desk chic said was a MUST DRIVE… something about Cowabunga Highway… Kookabura Highway?  Dang… I just Googled it… Kancamagus Highway.  You can see why I couldn’t remember the name.  I reverted to the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle language… Cowabunga Dude… heroes in a half shell… turtle power!   It was supposed to be beautimous and fall colory and leavey… I wish I could tell y’all what exactly was going on up in that there highway but too many sleepless nights were catching up to me and I pretty much drooled my way through Lacucaracha Highway.   Maybe Madre could tell y’all what she saw in the comments (HINT HINT MADRE!!!)

On the other side of ArabEmigration Highway was another recommended place of lunching… Hart’s Turkey Farm.  I might be hallucinating, but I swear to you that the Food Network show, Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives visited this turkey farm once?  Anyone?  Anyhow, a turkey farm is a fantabulous place for a vegetarian because they have broccoli… mmm mmm fibery!  Madre really enjoyed her Thanksgiving meal complete with side order of pickled beets.  I wasn’t complaing too much because I had a rocking good pile of broccoli, a sliced apple, and some gravy-less mashed taters.  They also served this carrot relish on saltines… who knew carrot relish would be tastee!?

Carrot relish...

Madre is mighty tempted just to fly the family back out to New Hampshire for Thanksgiving dinner.  I’ll be sure to dress as a turkey in a pilgrim hat.

Thanksgiving over and done with, we headed for Portland, Maine… on the way we passed this cool-looking farm/farmer’s market majigger.  Such an adorable place.  If it didn’t cost so much to ship pumpkins home, I’d totes have bought a bushel or 5.  We pulled up just as a crowd of people were standing around a crane hoisting up a blanket full of pumpkins.  Apparently, they were going to drop the pumpkins and have pumpkin guts for dinner.  We missed the drop by about 15 seconds as we were running from our parked car to the field.  Eh well… there was plenty to see.

We LOVED these adorable pumpkin displays they had pretty much everywhere!

Inside they had assortments of beautiful-looking fruits and vegetables.  I wanted to buy one of each, but I settled for some apples, which were super crunchy and flavorfull!   Fun little produce stands are always a fun find in our book… even if none of it would fit in my suitcase!

Question of the Day:  What is your favorite thing about Autumn? 

 

23 Comments

Filed under Tripping 2011: New England, Uncategorized

23 responses to “Day 6: Shakers, Pumpkins, and Turkeys

  1. What a wonderful vacation day! The photos are lovely!

    My favorite thing about autumn would have to be… watching brightly colored leaves dancing in graceful corkscrew patterns. Or maybe the familiar, clean smell of approaching winter that wafts in at times on a late afternoon. Perhaps late weekend mornings and a hot cup of joe, even the birds oversleep in the fall. This time of year offers calm satisfaction as we hold hands, sinking them deep into the corner of a shared coat pocket. Ah, the pleasures of autumn are many!

  2. It is Kancamangus… Pronounced locally as Kane-ga-main-gus. My Husband grew-up about half and hour away from Hancock Shaker Village (and even wrote his 1st thesis on it) so we spent a lot of time there doing research, It’s a great place.
    I grew-up in Maine in the Portland Area so I can’t wait to see what you say tomorrow!

  3. Natalie

    You are having so many adventures I feel like a stick in the mud!

  4. Avster

    The best thing about autumn is the colder temperatures. =D

  5. cl2

    Everything. I love autumn. It is my favorite time of year.

    But here I sit in Colorado in the midst of the second huge snowstorm of the year–as the second 10 inches melts. The leaves on the oak trees across the street are still there, though–shocker! They are beautiful. It is 20 degrees outside. Time to go home to Utah. I’ve had just about enough of this.

    • Oh laws, Colleen. WAYYYYYY too early for that much snow to be falling! We’re having snow and cold this weekend, so I wouldn’t get too excited about the temperatures back here… but maybe it will melt off and we’ll have a decent November!

  6. dessawade

    Thank you Whit for blogging about our trip. It is so fun to read and re-live our vacation all over again. Such a great time. And yes, that highway you spoke of was fabulous. It was a short drive but because of the switch backs and narrow road it took quite a while. It was lined with beautiful fall leaved trees and waterfalls. At the summit was the Smugglers Notch Ski resort. Sorry Whit, I know you don’t want to be reminded of Smugglers Notch Inn. HaHa.

  7. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Loving the day to day events and pics of your vacation.
    Sounds like it was wonderful and the pics are amazing – the colors!

    Question of the Day: What is your favorite thing about Autumn?

    I love Autumn for many reasons.
    The cooler temperatures.
    The colors of the trees.
    Bringing in the harvest.
    Fall festivals.
    Apple picking.
    Pumpkin patches.
    Decorating.
    Halloween.
    Getting the farm put to bed for the winter.
    Smell of wood burning.
    Glorious smells of baking for Thanksgiving,
    Seeing family at the fall reunion.
    Picking up gifts on lay-away and wrapping Christmas presents.

  8. Wow, I think your photos have captured the beauty of autumn! I love them!!!

  9. New England in the fall seems like the perfect time to go. So pretty! I love the fall. Spring is my favorite season, but fall is a close second. I love the leaves, the temperature change, and the fruits and veggies from the harvest. I used to really enjoy school starting again. I am a big fan of new starts and that was always a good one. Now, I’m glad I don’t have to start any more!

  10. Lindsay

    Autumn is great because . . .

    -Cool weather
    -Colorful Leaves
    -Pumpkins
    -Squash
    -Vegetables
    -Farmers Market
    -Halloween Decorations
    -Thanksgiving
    -Sweaters
    -First time you get to turn on the heater inside the house!
    – Plus the end of summer! ! ! ( only because I HATE SUMMER!)
    What’s not to love?????

    • I cannot believe you do not like summer… at all!?!? It is my FAVORITE! I like all those autumn things you mentioned though. You need to teach me how to like winter, though! I hate that!!

  11. jen

    If I lived back east then my favorite thing about autumn is the fall colors. But over here in desert land Idaho, the only thing to look forward to in the fall is the food since it’s too cold outside to do anything.

    • Boo Jen… let’s move!! Pack up the car and get the heck out of here. Or you could come down this way for some of fall. We have some beautiful colors. That’s settled… just move here, Pen!

  12. Wow. You are an amazing photographer. Those photos are incredible. I love the Shakers! I just had the opportunity to interview Deborah Woodworth who pens the Sister Rose Callahan (Shaker) mysteries. http://tinyurl.com/78qenuo
    You may enjoy them. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

