The List…

I’ve seen this “list” on my calorizing site, MyFitnessPal on several different occasions.  It kept pulling me in and I’ve decided I’m going to bite the bullet (why in the frim fram sauce would anyone bite a bullet on purpose!?  Unless they star on that Weird Cravings show on TLC) and attempt to do it.  Obviously, I didn’t start it on the correct date seeing as today is the 10th of November.  But, I think I can double up some of the days and catch up in no time.   If anyone else wants to take the challenge with me, either use my comments below to answer the question or post the link to your blog where you answered it.  FUNNNNNNN!!!!   Or if not fun, at least self discovering and a step in the right healthy lifestyle direction.

Write one thing you love about yourself that you didn’t before.

Start me out with the hardest question of the bunch why don’t you.  Whatever happened to easing into the pot of magical witch brew!?  I feel like I’m scalding myself.  I can’t say I’ve ever thought about things I love about myself, mostly because I never felt like there was anything about me to love.  I was a big ole fat failure, counting down the days until I didn’t have to think about it anymore… because a dead person doesn’t have to think… do they?  I merely existed, going through the motions of life just because I had to… certainly not because I wanted to… and I lost years of my life living like that stuck in that pathetic little world of self-hatred and depression so thick I could cut it with a knife.  Those years bring up dark memories.  I don’t like to think about them and yet I need to… it’s all part of the healing process because this isn’t about losing weight in the sense that I’m becoming a smaller human… it’s about shedding all of the baggage that got me to the point of weighing 530 pounds in the first place.  That baggage will always be with me… always… I just have to learn how to manage it so that it doesn’t take control of me like it once did.

So, what do I love about myself now that I didn’t before?  My persistence.  I could have given up long ago.  There were numerous times when I was tempted just to say to heck with it, this is how it’s going to be, but deep down I somehow knew that wasn’t what I wanted, so I’d doggedly get back up and try again… and fail again… until one day it clicked and it actually registered in my head space that this was not some temporary thing but a lifelong process.  I wake up in the morning faced with choices… if I choose the wrong thing this day, I can wake up tomorrow and try to choose better.  When you think about it, it’s not all that hard of a concept, and yet it’s the hardest thing I have EVER done in my entire life.

Question of the Day:  What’s one thing you love about yourself that you didn’t before? 


If anyone else is participating in the List of FUNNNNN… I’m posting the whole list here for reference of what’s going to be coming up in the coming days so you can prepare, all the way to December 31st, 2011!

The Master List

1-Nov-11
Write one thing you love about yourself that you didn’t before.
2-Nov-11
Sit down and truly enjoy a home cooked meal.  Identify the flavors you love the most.
3-Nov-11
Take a slow walk and appreciate the capabilities of your body.
4-Nov-11
Eat something you don’t usually consume.
5-Nov-11
Look at yourself naked in the mirror and name five things you like.
6-Nov-11
Drink a glass of cold water and stay completely still to feel how it travels through your body.
7-Nov-11
Make a grocery list comprising of 50% new foods.
8-Nov-11
Find a recipe of a food that you love but is bad for you and find a way to make it healthy.
9-Nov-11
Try an exercise that you didn’t think you could do.
10-Nov-11
Make a list of workouts that you would like to try.
11-Nov-11
List reasons why you want to lose weight.  Do not include reasons that pertain to other people and what they want.  What exactly do you want?
12-Nov-11
Ask someone you know about the kind of foods that they eat.
13-Nov-11
Plan your food diary a week in advance and try to stick with it.
14-Nov-11
Have a day to eat what you feel like without feeling guilty.
15-Nov-11
Make a small motivational poster of pictures and quotes that you like.  It can be as small or big as you like.
16-Nov-11
Look up recipes that you might not like and try one anyway.  You might be surprised.
17-Nov-11
Take a full body picture of yourself and see the progress you’ve made.
18-Nov-11
Do one thing for yourself that you don’t normally do (manicure, a glass of wine, etc.)
19-Nov-11
Make a list of things that have changed in your life since losing weight.
20-Nov-11
Name the people who have influenced you the most since losing weight.
21-Nov-11
Write a letter to yourself in the future.
22-Nov-11
Write a letter to yourself in the past.
23-Nov-11
Write a letter to yourself of today.
24-Nov-11
Make two lists: one of things you can change and another of things you can’t (this can be with weight, money, work, etc.)
25-Nov-11
For the list of things that you can change, write beneath each item what steps you can take to make that change.
26-Nov-11
For the list of things you can’t change, acknowledge why you can’t change them and accept why.
27-Nov-11
Stay up late and dance in your underwear while listening to your favorite songs.
28-Nov-11
Make up a name for your alter-ego… you know, the one with all the confidence.
29-Nov-11
Write a letter to someone who has been there for you everyday, and let them know how much you appreciate them.
30-Nov-11
Compliment yourself… and don’t be shy about it.
1-Dec-11
Look in the mirror and fall in love with ever feature you see.
2-Dec-11
Name reasons why you’re awesome.
3-Dec-11
Name things that you can improve and how you can improve them.
4-Dec-11
Treat yourself to a bath or long shower.
5-Dec-11
Take a photo of something that inspires you.
6-Dec-11
List reasons why you can lose weight.
7-Dec-11
List reasons why you thought you could never lose weight.
8-Dec-11
Talk to yourself for five minutes in front of a mirror about how awesome you are.
9-Dec-11
Hug yourself in public. Seriously.
10-Dec-11
Before you go to sleep, tell yourself one thing you’re going to do tomorrow that you will benefit from.
11-Dec-11
If you’re exercising today, do whatever you’re doing for five minutes longer.
12-Dec-11
Take the stairs every chance you get.
13-Dec-11
Park as far away as possible from where you work or are shopping.  No car?  Take the long way around.
14-Dec-11
Name the title of your memoir.
15-Dec-11
Make a list of all of the foods you would binge on.
16-Dec-11
Come up with a recipe that is entirely your own.
17-Dec-11
Announce publicly how much your love yourself.
18-Dec-11
When working out, imagine future you rooting you on.
19-Dec-11
Make your own motivational picture with a caption underneath. It’ll be fun, I promise.
20-Dec-11
When you weigh yourself, declare that the number doesn’t mean shit.
21-Dec-11
Name one fatal flaw you have.
22-Dec-11
Research new snacks to try.  I tend to always get tired of the snacks I have.
23-Dec-11
Make a list of how losing weight has changed your life.
24-Dec-11
After waking up in the morning, do a morning stretch.
25-Dec-11
Go for a walk outside.  Yes, on Christmas Day.
26-Dec-11
Share with someone (or the world) a guilty pleasure of yours.
27-Dec-11
Identify five awesome things about you.
28-Dec-11
Make a list of your quirks and weird habits.
29-Dec-11
Do one thing today that scares you.
30-Dec-11
Dress up… just because.
31-Dec-11
Make a list of things that you love about yourself and always will.

22 Comments

Filed under The List

22 responses to “The List…

  1. Michaela

    Just FYI… people used to actually bite a bullet during surgeries that had no either or other means of keeping them under during combat surgery (like civil war days and the like). The pain from biting the bullet outweighed the pain of the surgery… they thought. There is your mini history lesson of the day.

  2. Let me tell you a few things a like about you (much easier than naming one about myself):
    You have a fabulous sense of humor–you always make me laugh.
    You have an amazing singing voice–it’s not just pretty, it’s full of life and sass; it makes me smile whenever I here it 🙂
    You are a very talented writer. Read the blog–’nuff said.
    You are an incredibly thoughtful person–I always come away from interacting with you feeling better about myself and about life in general.
    There are a lot of things to like about yourself–so go ahead and do it!!! Those are just a few; I could go on for hours 🙂

    • See.. that right there is your number one thing to love, Alena. You have always been so selfless. Ask a question about yourself and your first thought is never about yourself, but about others. That is so rare to find and makes you the best friend/mother/daughter/wife/sister EVER… You can put that down in writing. Plus, your sarcasm/sense of humor bone is a raring to go… and that is key in this life we have to live.

      Yes… that was much easier to think about things about you! Thanks, Alena for the sweet words!

  3. Samerah

    I love the trust I’ve gained in my body. It’s become/becoming more of a useful/reliable piece of machinery every day. I’ve always been clumsy and hurt myself doing stupid things. Previously would never have considered doing things that would allow me to inadvertently seriously hurt myself. So instead of taking up rock climbing I backpacked. Instead of rugby I joined a curling league. Instead of mountain biking I started running. That’s changing. The more I push my body the more I trust it to not break down when I need it. Mountain biking has suddenly become very appealing. So have the warrior dash and tough mudder competitions.

    And I’m glad you made me think about this today because I have been way too focused on vanity lately and I really need to get back to caring about the differences that actually matter.

  4. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Ok – here goes – making up for the 1rst 10 days in one fell swoop!

    The Master List

    1-Nov-11
    Write one thing you love about yourself that you didn’t before.
    ~ I love that I can run almost 20min – NEVER have been able to do that ( even when I was skinny)

    2-Nov-11
    Sit down and truly enjoy a home cooked meal. Identify the flavors you love the most.

    ~ I sat down and enjoyed a home cooked meal, the flavors and my funny family. Love the sweet and salty and the crunchy and smooth – I love all kinds of flavors.
    ~ I also sat down to a very nice restaurant meal and enjoyed myself immensely, no rush, no bad choices, not overly full either. Very pleased!

    3-Nov-11
    Take a slow walk and appreciate the capabilities of your body.

    ~I love my walks now! I feel good and can appreciate so much more.

    4-Nov-11
    Eat something you don’t usually consume.
    ~ Never had Four Bean Salad up until recently and now I have my own favorite recipe I make and keep on hand all the time.

    5-Nov-11
    Look at yourself naked in the mirror and name five things you like.
    ~ This has never been an experience I have enjoyed even when I was skinny or even when I was pregnant with my kids….so this one is hard.
    1) still have good hair
    2) no excess hair in unwanted places – thank you Lord
    3) tummy flab ( from pregnancies ) has gotten smaller
    4) legs are looking toned and strong
    5) less back fat – YAY

    6-Nov-11
    Drink a glass of cold water and stay completely still to feel how it travels through your body.

    ~ This feels odd.
    Do not …I repeat, Do not lay down after doing this…OUCH!
    Do it sitting up.

    7-Nov-11
    Make a grocery list comprising of 50% new foods.

    ~ I am trying some new recipes this week.
    ~ Going to find and buy some Quinoa and try it.

    8-Nov-11
    Find a recipe of a food that you love but is bad for you and find a way to make it healthy.

    ~ Substituted vegetable oil with applesauce when baking cupcakes for my kids

    9-Nov-11
    Try an exercise that you didn’t think you could do.

    ~ I did some Zumba on a YouTube video – it was fun even though it was just a beginner video to show you some of the basic moves. Got my heart rate up and I giggled a lot too.

    10-Nov-11
    Make a list of workouts that you would like to try.

    ~ I would like to buy the Hip Hop Abs dvds
    If money weren’t an issue –
    ~ I would like to try a Zumba class
    ~ I would like to try Water Aerobic class

  5. That’s quite the list! You definitely are persistent. I should work on that. I give up too easily on some things.

    • It’s a list and a quarter… You forgot to write down one thing you love about yourself, Rachel. I’ll add one to your list… I love that you are always thoughtful and wondering about how to help those who may be less fortunate/need guidance. There’s a bunch of folk who are lucky to have you in their corner.

  6. Pingback: 11/11/11 – This Post is Brought To You By the Number ELEVEN! « craving a life

  7. Pingback: I Will Not Be Looking At Myself In the Mirror Nekked… « craving a life

  8. Pingback: Pumpkiny Muffin Majiggers… « craving a life

  9. Pingback: Healthified Pumpkiny Muffin Majiggers… « craving a life

  10. Deanna

    This is great Whitney! I am glad to see that you are doing this list! One thing that I love about myself that I didn’t before…..My willingness to do what’s best for me, regardless of what others think about it.

  11. Pingback: Doing This Thing For Me! « craving a life

  12. Pingback: Donuts Are Vegetables Now… Hear Me Out!!! « craving a life

  13. Pingback: Photography Distractions… « craving a life

  14. Pingback: Dear Future Whitney… « craving a life

  15. Pingback: The Ghost of Whitney Past… « craving a life

  16. Pingback: Dear Whitty Woo Woo of the Bouncy Balls… « craving a life

  17. Pingback: The Changing of the ‘Tude… « craving a life

Leave a Reply

