Healthified Pumpkiny Muffin Majiggers…

Continuing on with The List quest!  I’m like the warrior, Ricarda Simmons… except with less sequins and certainly less shorty short shorts.  PASS!!

Find a recipe of a food that you love but is bad for you and find a way to make it healthy.

I did this tonight and I was sore afraid.  “Healthy” is all relative.  If it were healthy it would contain vegetables and fiber and no sugar and minimal calories.  My version is “healthier” than it would be if it were the regular recipe… so there you go.  Plus, I do have squash in my recipe, which I’d normally hate to eat, but if you mash it up and hide it inside something delectable, it’s totally tasty.  Now, how to do that with asparagus… asparagus-covered chocolate… no, I don’t have that backwards.  I figure I can flick a few sprigs of asparagus somewhere on my Snickers and call it a day.  Got me some veggies today… you best believe it!

Moving on… I’d read about this concoction on several low-calorie recipe sites, so it certainly isn’t my invention and I’d give credit where credit is due but finding out who actually invented this might be harder than finding out who invented the Internet (HINT… it was NOT Al Gore!)  Y’all… this recipe is complee-cated.  I’m talking rocket science here, so I’d buckle in and if you don’t have an IQ as high as mine, I’d totally skip this recipe and just take a nap.  Get your SAT scores out… my score was negative 8… I’m thinking that was pretty good considering I slept through most of it.

Pumpkin Spice Muffins
Serves 12

15-ounce can of pumpkin
1 Betty Crocker Spice Cake Mix (dry mix only)

Okay, I lied… that’s the end of the ingredient list.  Basically, pour the pumpkin and the cake mix into a bowl, mix it all together, and then divy it up into a muffin tin.  Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 15 minutes or until the tops look hard.

Obviously if you hate pumpkin, Charlie Brown, rainbows, unicorns, and whiskers on kittens, you’ll hate this recipe… but it tasted to me like pumpkin bread… maybe next time I’ll throw in a few chocolate chips… because let’s be honest… everything tastes better with chocolate in it… chocolate haters need not apply!  Ooo… or to lessen the calorie load, I’ll just smoosh in 1 hershey kiss onto the top of each muffin before I bake it.   The calorie breakdown is as follows:

Per Serving:  Calories:  145  Fat: 1  Sodium:  268  Fiber:  2  Sugar:  16

For comparison, if you made the cake mix per the directions on the box without the healthier pumpkin version, your calorie and fat breakdown would look like this:

Per Serving:  Calories:  233  Fat:  12

High fives all around!!

Question of the Day:  Do you have any recipes that you’ve “healthified”?  Any suggestions for ways to healthify recipes?

PS – I’ve changed my background color and header… if the color is too blinding on your eyes, holler and I’ll change it to a less gaudy color.  I aim to please! 

11 Comments

Filed under Recipes, The List

11 responses to “Healthified Pumpkiny Muffin Majiggers…

  1. deannawade@gmail.com

    That’s my kind of recipe. I’m going to try that one for sure. I like the new look.

  2. Avster

    Whitney! You made something I will eat!!! ~laughs~ See, leave out the veggies and I’ll eat it! ~laughs~

    I’ve healthified my fudge recipe… not much though, but I did cut out some of the fat calories!

  3. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    That looks totally delicious, Whitney.
    Great idea and super simple.

    I am making 4 big pumpkin pies today. Two will be for Thanksgiving.
    Two will be for Christmas.
    Have to get them cooked and cooled and wrapped and frozen before my Dh gets home or he will eat them.

    Keep pushing forward

  4. Deanna

    These look delicious! Thanks for sharing!

    Yes, my absolute favorite recipe “makeover” has been cheesecake. I make it with Greek Yogurt instead of cream cheese. This cuts the fat to nearly nothing, makes a super creamy texture and adds tons of protein.

  5. Jen

    That sounds so delicious and easy. I am totally putting those 2 items on my shopping list for this week so I can make it this weekend. And I absolutely LOVE your new fall background and photos for your blog. It is gorgeous and the colors are perfect for this time of year.

  6. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    I love the new colors and background!!

  7. One of my “healthier” staples! I use spice cake mix, canned pumpkin, and a half bag of chocolate chips. I make them as cookies, though, not muffins. They are my favorite! I just have to control myself and not eat the entire batch. 😉

  8. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    I am making these today!!!
    I think I will split the batter in half and do half as muffins and the other half as these cookies and see which I like the best.

    (big smiles )

Leave a Reply

