InGym-idation…

I’m about to embarrass myself right up here in this blog.  Who am I kidding… I’ve been writing embarrassing tidbits since February.  No one needed to know about my addiction to Q-tips or the fact that I’m actually a bobblehead… but it’s out there.  Tie a bow around it and call it Merle.

Meanwhile, it’s no secret that I’ve never been a fan of gyms.  I’ve been to gyms on several occasions throughout my life, had memberships… even had personal trainers… but I’ve never particularly liked them.  So, it’s actually been years since I’ve stepped foot in a gym.  They intimidate me to high heaven and back… all those skinny chicks with silky pony tails who barely sweat giving their all on the stepper.  The muscley dudes hogging up the weight lifting equipment.  And then there’s me… big ole fat sweaty chick with a claustrophobia issue and a germ issue hyperventilating in the corner.  Not my idea of a fun exercising experience… especially when the self consciousness is on high alert.  For the last, I’d say, at least 10 years, I’ve avoided the gym like the plague.  I did my exercising outdoors and in the privacy of the basement, and I told myself I’d never step foot into a gym ever again.

I lied.  What’s new!?

Last week as I was driving to the gym for the first time in 10 years, I found myself bawling.  I didn’t want to go.  I could not bring myself to walk into that place… I couldn’t!  I pulled into the parking lot and I sat in the parking lot for a good ten minutes… bawling… and then I started my car back up and I started for home… telling myself I had a perfectly good recumbent bike sitting in the basement.  I don’t need the anxiety.  On the drive home, I got mad.  How the heck wussy are you, Whitney?  You’ve come this far and you’re going to let a little fear ruin everything?   I was mad and I was bawling and I was talking to myself, yelling really, and I’m pretty sure every car on the road thought I was some mental patient making her escape from the Behavioral Health Unit.  Where are the men in white coats when you need them?!?  I turned my car around and I drove back to the gym, only to sit in the parking lot again, trying to talk myself out of going in… and again, I started the car up and drove for home… it also didn’t help that this particular gym was next door to a taco joint… and I kept telling myself how much easier it would be just to order an Elephant Meal full of tacos and stuff down my feelings with those suckers.

I played this leave the gym, turn around routine at least 4 times before I finally told myself off… it’s now or never and you better pick now because never is not in your vocabulary anymore!   I dried my tears the best I could and I walked through the door… and guess what… I didn’t crumple into a bajillion tiny pieces of cowardice.  I went about my cardio routine, kept to myself, and an hour later I felt okay about driving home because I conquered that.  Just one step on the road to conquering these beasts of mine… but it was a big ‘un for me.

I signed up officially for a gym on Saturday (not the same one as above) and I’ve been 3 times since then with no issues at all.  It’s a good thing too since I’m pretty sure they’re out of beds in the Behavioral Health Unit!  InGym-idation… I’m over you!!

Try an exercise that you didn’t think you could do.
The gym thing is my exercise I didn’t think I could do.

Make a list of workouts that you would like to try.
– Water aerobics… I remember doing this when I was a teenager, but haven’t since due to the fact that I hate germy pools and swimsuits… I will conquer thee, water aerobics!

– Zumba… my madre is forever going on about how much she loves Zumba.  I’m too self conscious about my flapping bane of my existence to want to give it a try.  Another one that will be conquered.

– Snowshoeing… I did this years and years ago and I seem to remember despising it mostly because I’m a clutz and couldn’t get used to that extra length on the end of my feet… oh, and I hate cold.  I also broke my wrist the last time I went cross country skiing.  I will try snowshoeing again this year.  Mark my words!

Question of the Day:  What’s your favorite piece of gym equipment to use?   What are some exercises you would like to try?

PS – Update on pumpkiny muffin majiggers from yesterday’s post.  I tried sticking a Dove chocolate promise down into the top of the muffin and then I microwaved it for 20 seconds.  Holy died and went to hades in a handbasket, spiderman!!!  New favorite way to eat pumpkiny goodness… and it only added 44 more calories. 

20 Comments

Filed under Exercise, The List

20 responses to “InGym-idation…

  1. deannawade@gmail.com

    Oh Whitney you crack me up. And you are also such an inspiration. I use to go to the gym at 4:30 am because there was no one there and then I decided I don’t care who sees me!! I don’t like to go when it is crowded so I wait until 7 when all the men that grunt while doing weights have left. But I will admit I have yet to use the weight lifting equipment. That whole part of the gym is too intimidating. I really need to overcome that intimidation. My girls say I need to get a trainer and actually learn how to use them–maybe someday!!

  2. Avster

    I think the only gym equipment I’ve ever used are weights…. I did have friends with a stationary bike. I remember we would play video games while sitting on the bike and you had to peddle the whole time you sat on it. ~laughs~

    I’ve never been to a gym… the thought never really appealed to me.

    I can assure you, Whit, that thin and pony tailed I may be I will still sweat up a storm.

    • We have something in common then… the thought of a gym never appeals to me either… still doesn’t!! What I do for insanity purposes! The video game bike should be a real thing… get on that invention!

  3. Randy

    Congrats Whitney!And thanks–I’ve been doing some serious gym avoidance of my own lately and appreciate having something to get me thinking about it again! When I go, I really love the I-Tonic machines at the SARC.

    PS I have a Q-tip thing too. Ask anyone in my family. Wait, don’t–you probably don’t have that much time!

    • I am in dang good Q-tip addiction company then, Randy! It just feels better to have your ears “cleaned” out! I don’t think I’ve heard of the I-Tonic machines… will definitely have to check into those!

  4. What an inspiration. I don’t care who you are, or what your current body shape looks like, I think everyone feels some kind of intimidation at the gym.

    Good for you for sticking to your goal!!!! YAY Whitney!

    And for the record, I don’t think that story was embarrassing, just motivating.

  5. dessawade

    Way to go Whit! That was that determination you talked about earlier that you have. I don’t love going inside a gym but it’s the only alternative for the winter months so I find classes that I actually can have fun doing. I resort to the treadmill when there’s no class to go to but I think it’s kindof boring. You’re on for the snowshoeing now that you brought it up. You get warmed up really fast doing that.

  6. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    WOW – that is a terrific accomplishment, Whitney.
    Way to go talking down those pesky demons. You already have won b/c you conquered that fear.
    Congrats on going, joining, and going again and again. The more you do it, the easier it will get.
    I agree with deanna ( above ) about going at certain times. You will figure out what best suits you as you continue to go.
    Remember you are there for YOU. Don’t worry about what everyone else is doing.

    I love the list of new exercises you want to try. I think they all sound great and I hope you get every chance to give them a go.

    Question of the Day: What’s your favorite piece of gym equipment to use? What are some exercises you would like to try?
    I don’t use any equipment. I had a treadmill but hated it and got so bored with it…I sold it and put the money in the kid’s savings account. LOL
    I prefer to walk and run and bike outside.
    Our weather isn’t always cooperative but on my ‘rest days’ I do a workout video.
    Here in Missouri, if we have a nasty weather day…it usually doesn’t last very long and we have a nicer day behind it.
    I have done a Beginner (basics) Zumba on YouTube to see if I would like it and I thought it was fun and a good cardio workout. I only know the YMCA does the Zumba classes though and we don’t have a Y membership and it is 35min away.
    I would like to get the Hip Hop Abs dvd set ( informercials…) to do here at home – looks fun and effective.

    Keep pushing forward….

    • Thank you, Louisa! I too prefer to exercise outdoors… but it’s hard to do here in the winter with the inversion and the frigid temperatures and the icy road conditions. If you give the Hip Hop Abs workout a try, let us know what you thought of it!

  7. Jen

    I am glad you conquered your fear of gyms. I don’t love going to the gym either and exercise outside as much as I can while the weather is tolerable. And I am super excited that you have chosen water aerobics and Zumba. I did both of those regularly during the summer and loved them. Come to Zumba with me sometime. I will make sure we have matching jingly skirts!

  8. seth

    Cool! Now you can come and work out with me when we stay at your casa…is your NEW membership at Anytime Fitness? 🙂 I’m so excited!

    • Wooo Seth! I was going to sign up for Anytime Fitness but then I found out they were going to charge me 80 bucks for the sign up and 40 bucks a month. Can’t afford that, so I went with Planet Fitness which is a quarter of that price!

  9. Natalie

    So many people live out their entire lives never challenging themselves out of their comfort zone. You are so brave!

  10. Way to go girl!!! I’m so impressed 🙂

  11. Deanna

    OMG Whitney!!!! I am SOOOOO proud of you!!! This is amazing and inspiring!

    Congrats a million times over Whitney!

    By the way, I am in LOVE with Zumba too! You’ll love it as well. So much fun!

Leave a Reply

