Doing This Thing For Me!

The List, The List, The List, The List

List reasons why you want to lose weight.  Do not include reasons that pertain to other people and what they want.  What exactly do you want?

– A life…

That pretty much sums it up right there.  All other reasons would fit nicely into those 2 little words up there.  A Life.  Plain and simple.  When you weigh 530 pounds and your buttocks is glued to the same cushion of the couch with the only reprieve to waddle to the bathroom and/or get into bed, your options are pretty limited… and by pretty limited I really mean NULL and VOID!!!!   Stamp a fanny pack on that sucker!   But, I’ll play along and thing of other subsets of reasons…

– I want to ride the rides at an amusement park again
– I want to be someone… not just some basement dweller who shoves Q-tips in her ears and eats pizza by the pound
– I want to be successful and have a house to call my very own
– I want to shop in the “normal” people section for clothing and for goodness sakes I want to wear normal pants!!!!!!
– I want to walk down the street and have people look and whisper because I’m rocking my bad self… not because I look like King Kong.
– I want to be taken seriously by society.
– I no longer want to have to worry about the weight limit before I sit down and/or get on a piece of exercise equipment.
– I want to be able to weigh in on a regular scale
– I want to see a 1 before my weight number.
– I want to try new things and be more adventurous
– I want to be proud of myself
– I want a winning lottery ticket and a Mercedes (oops… how did that one get in here!)

A quote from my favorite show pretty much sums it up:

Two years ago, I was afraid of wanting anything.
I figured wanting would lead to trying and trying would lead to failure.
But now I find I can’t stop wanting.
I want to fly somewhere on first class.
I want to travel to Europe on a business trip.
I want to get invited to the White House.
I want to learn about the world.
I want to surprise myself.
I want to be important.
I want to be the best person I can be.
I want to define myself instead of having others define me.
I want to win and have people be happy for me.
I want to lose and get over it.
I want to not be afraid of the unknown.
I want to grow up and be generous and big-hearted, the way people have been with me.
I want an interesting and surprising life.
It’s not that I think I’m going to get all these things.
I just want the possibility of getting them.

 Question of the Day:  What do you want out of life?

20 Comments

Filed under Getting A Life, The List

20 responses to “Doing This Thing For Me!

  1. cl2

    I want my kids to have a good life. If my kids are okay, then I’m okay.

    I’d like to see the 1s again, too. Not too terribly far away, but I can’t seem to get there. I’m at a body size right now I’m caught between CJ Banks and Christopher Banks–actually between sizes. That makes it difficult–baggy or tight. I didn’t think that was possible.

    Personally, I don’t want to be noticed at all–that is why I want to be below 100s (but I’m a lot older than you are). I’m noticed a lot less now than I used to be.

    • That just shows you are a selfless mother, Colleen. Only concerned about your kids’ happiness! I hope you also do things that make you happy like you’ve been doing this year! I know you can hit the 100s… you’ve come a long way!

  2. Dessa

    You can do it whit!

  3. Dessa Wade

    What an awesome post Whit! You can have all of those things you listed. There’s no doubt in my mind. I want to be healthy more than anything and for my daughters to be happy. That’s all that matters to me.

  4. Dessa Wade

    One other thing I want is for the safe arrival of Jen & Seth’s baby boy!

  5. jen

    Your posts are always so well written, thought out, and inspirational! Keep it up. Maybe someday we can go to Disneyland together and ride a roller coaster. That would be a fun trip.

  6. Holly H.

    Love that quote. What’s it from? I like the line ‘I want to learn about the world’ because I totally do. I want to be really good at something (anything), but haven’t figured out exactly what. I also want to travel more but I think that’s on hold until my kids are a little bigger. I honestly love reading your blog because you seriously inspire me. You rock!

    • You are awesome, Holly! That quote is from Friday Night Lights, the TV show (not the movie, which I didn’t like)… forever my favorite show. Coach and Tami Taylor all the way!

      When the kids get bigger, you will be a traveling maniac and I’ll need to get some tips from you!!

  7. Love you Whit! I’m so excited for you and amazed by you!

  8. Deanna

    I just love it. You are simply amazing. 🙂

  9. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Loved your post about List #11 Whitney.
    I think you speak for a lot of us on a similar journey…

    My #11: List reasons why you want to lose weight. Do not include reasons that pertain to other people and what they want. What exactly do you want?

    Growing up, I was always fit and active and strong. I played every sport and was on every Varsity team in school ( even in Jr High).
    I was a kick butt farm-girl that took no crap from anyone. I felt like I could do anything in college and even after college when I started my career. I had it all…
    When I got married & we talked about getting pregnant, we decided that I would stay home with the kids.
    I tried to keep up with it all after my daughter was born.
    Once I had a miscarriage…I became angry and lost. I went from an athletic size 8/10 to a size 12.
    Somewhere along the way I gave some part of me up. I wasn’t confident or very content with myself but didn’t know how to change it.
    My health was no longer as important to me and I lost a chunk of myself over the yrs.
    My son was a miracle but I had complications and gained 25lbs in 3months.
    I had another miscarriage and that threw me for another loop and I gained some more.
    By now I was in a size 14/16….then up to a size 18W.

    It has taken some time…ok …quite a bit of time but I feel like I need to turn this thing around for ME.
    I have tried diets ( SlimFast, a diet pill, a fad diet ) off and on but they were unsuccessful and I gained the weight back.

    Something clicked this time and I am doing it the RIGHT way from now on.
    It was a blessing that I found MFP.
    My faith has also clicked.
    All my older siblings have medical conditions that are weight related and I don’t want to be like that. I finally SAW it and started to make the change.

    My Dad recently passed away and he was very proud of my weight loss journey and he got to see some of my progress. He would have liked to see me the whole way through but I know he would be proud if he could see me today almost 50 lbs lighter and so much more healthy.
    We will see each other again in Heaven one day….
    My wt loss journey and my C25K running program is helping me through my grief.
    I BELIEVE that God sent me that CLICK to change my life and that CLICK to strengthen my faith b/c he knew I was going to need it to get through losing Daddy.
    I think HE knew I would crumble if I didn’t have a goal to focus on.

    If I can get back to happy, content, confident, strong, and independent self again
    ( with a bit of that attitude as well ) then I think everything else will fall into place too.

    I want to get back to that active woman that I know I am. I want to look good in anything I put on again. I want to get rid of or donate all my old clothes and start fresh – little by little.
    I want to say YES to anything that I want to and not worry anymore about things that just don’t matter.

    Keep pushing forward.

    • That was lovely, Louisa. I have been so impressed at your progress even amidst the trials you’ve had this year. You keep on persisting and I know you will reach that final goal one day. You are already killing the C25K thing!! Good for you!

      • Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

        Thanks Whitney.
        Just so you know…I consider you a blessing as well.
        Blessed to call you friend and I love your blog.
        You have inspired me in so many ways and helped me to look at things and put some things into words. Probably wouldn’t have happened otherwise and I appreciate it.
        Everyday with out Dad is difficult but having my C25K program ( and maybe Bridge to 10K program), wt loss journey goals, my kids, and my husband to focus on help me not to drift off and stay more grounded.

        Keep pushing forward…

      • Wow, thanks, Louisa. And ditto it back to you. You have always been so sweet and supportive to me. I think it’s awesome to have a group of pals (even on the Internet) with the same goals. We push each other along. You have come a long way, Louisa. I know your dad continues to be proud of you!

  10. Pat Mackay

    Way to go Whitney!! Keep up the good work. I have always believed in you and I know you can accomplish anything you set your mind to. I’m you cheering squad!!

Leave a Reply

