Photography Distractions…

I’ve been slacking on my List answering… I’m still doing it.  It’s just obviously going to take longer than originally planned!  What?  I’m an ADD tangenter!  I’ll pepper them into my bloggages… pepper is the new salt, said my swollen ankles!

Do one thing for yourself that you don’t normally do (manicure, a glass of wine, etc.)

Jack Daniels!?  JOKES!!!!!  I’m not much of a manicurey/pedicurey/massagey person.  Firstly, they require complete strangers to touch you.  Ew.  PASS!  Secondly, feet are like my worst enemy.  I hate feet.  Your feet, my feet, Lady GooGoo’s feet.  If they have toes, they are nasty!  I take fine care of my feet… the toenails get clipped… the feets get washed and lotioned… but I just find feet gross!!  This is a heads up for Madre and Padre… when you need someone to clip your nasty toenails… let’s best hope Lindsay is available, because Whitney ain’t gonna have it!  Instead, I bought myself a Christmas book and a portable hard drive.  I don’t usually do either of those things, so I’d say that’s right up my alley.  It will take me approximately 2 years to get the hard drive out of the package… who invented those kinds of packages anyway!?!?!  And what are people supposed to do who don’t own a hacksaw!?

Make a list of things that have changed in your life since losing weight.

Oh so many things… I was just thinking about little things the other day.  For example, when I bought my Beulah the Buick car, I couldn’t fit the seatbelt around me.  It wouldn’t fit.  I had read that you could order seatbelt extenders for free, but you’d have to pick them up at the Buick dealership.  I was too mortified to do that.  MORTIFIED!  To have to walk into the dealership and ask someone for an extender because you were so gol durn big, you couldn’t wear a normal seatbelt!?!  NO!  So I talked Madre into doing it for me.  I’ve had that seatbelt extender on for years.  I no longer need it.  I can fit the seatbelt and click it into place with no problems.  I won’t bore you with a whole long list, but here are a few more:

– Bending over to tie my shoes and cut my toenails is no longer some monumental task.  I’d sweat storms before and huff and puff and have trouble breathing because my oxygen was cut off.  I also could not reach my feet whilst sitting down.  I had to stand up, heft my foot up to a chair and then reach it that way.  I now have no problem bending over and doing either of those things… and tying my shoes whilst sitting down… GLORIOUS!!!  Add that to the 7th Wonder of the World list!

– Just going grocery shopping was a task in and of itself before.  The walking was not my thing.  I’d have to stand around and lean against a cart to wait for someone to walk across the store to get some of the things I needed.  Sitting down was a must on several occasions.  I’m not even out of breath anymore and I could walk for days on end in that dagnabbed grocery store.  Plus, my face doesn’t get all flushed and red and no more huffing and puffing down the aisles.

– I haven’t purchased clothing out of a catalog for forever!  I don’t need to anymore.  I had to do that before because no store stocks sizes 5X and 6X… they just don’t.  I guess I could have shopped at the fabric store and just pinned a bolt of fabric to my body.  New Project Runway idea… tent fashion!!  I’m shopping at Old Navy and The Gap and Kohls and places I’d only be able to buy socks at before!

–  No more sleep apnea machine running like a train through my bedroom.  No more several times daily insulin shots or diabetes pills.  No more high blood pressure issues.  I still take a gaggle of medications… thank you failed gastric bypass surgery for the added anemia and mineral and vitamin deficiencies… but nothing for a serious illness.

************

Moving on… A friend and I (what up, Karrie) signed up for a basic digital photography class, which started about a month ago.  We’ve decided to get us through the winter, we’re taking classes… when this one is over, we’re moving on to the next subject!   We’ve been to 4 classes so far (only about 2 more to go), and so far I’ve learned that I need taller bangs to catch all the stuff that keeps on zooming over my head.  WHAT THE WHAT!?!?!?  The teacher is the nicest dude on the planet and he knows his stuff like it ain’t no thang, but he talks to us like we’re supposed to know things… um hello… can we start with turning on the camera!?!?  Because that’s basically why I signed up right there!  The funny part about it… we ask questions… all of us in the class ask questions… like, what settings would you put your camera on in this instance.  I don’t think he’s EVER answered any of the questions with a straight up actual answer… it usually starts with a well, it depends on and ends with a so, it depends on. 

I guess I do know things that I didn’t before… like the terms ISO and shutter speed and aperture… now, getting all of those things to jive in the right direction to “make” a good pitcher… that’s the thing that needs to be mastered… and I don’t think 2 more classes is gonna do that trick!  I think that’s where Google comes in… I’ll just Google me some charts for camera settings in different situations and voila.  Practice makes perfect!  This past Thanksgiving, Lindsay made me do some practicing on her family for their Christmas card photos.  Lindsay is the pickiest photo taker on the planet and she can only stand to look at “modern” and nonposed-looking pictures, so I was happy that she liked a handful of the 8 bajillion I took of them.  Nephews, Christian and Ethan, on the other hand, would have rather been sticking pins in their eye sockets… ANYTHING but picture time!!

Question of the Day:  What’s the last thing you did for yourself that you don’t normally do?

13 Comments

Filed under The List

13 responses to “Photography Distractions…

  1. Avster

    I just ordered tickets for a skating event…

    ha ha ha! The man’s response to which settings to use is exactly what I would say!

  2. jen

    So happy for all the positive things that have happened for you lately, and especially for your good health. Buying new clothes is something I don’t do for myself often, but I have had to out of necessity lately (expanding baby bump). And you get to buy yourself new clothes more often too as your waist line keeps shrinking.

  3. dessawade

    Good photography Whit! I am a fan of pedicures and lately the acylic nails. THe policy stays on for a long while even after doing dishes and they make your nails stronger. I also love massages but haven’t had one for a while.

  4. Christie

    I’m actually getting a massage today! I got a gift certificate for one, so yeah, it’s been a minute and a half since I bought one fer myself.
    Re: the photography, I lol’ed hard at your instructors comments, cuz I kinda know where he’s coming from, but I also know where you’re coming from with not getting answers! I tried to teach a RS class some pointers on ‘improving your photos’ and it was hard narrowing down anything useful into 30 mins! if you want a few more classes we should forget the classroom and go out and shoot, that’s the way ‘ta do it!

    • You may regret that you volunteered that Christie… because I will take you up on it so fast, your head will spin off! Photog extraordinaires are where the tips of the trade are learned.

  5. Awesome pictures! I need you to come take some family pics for me 🙂 I am truly so happy for all the doors that have opened up for you lately.
    I just bought a ticket to a Christmas music program next weekend–I almost never can justify leaving my kids for a night AND spending money on just something I WANT to do. I’m excited!

    • Oooo… how fun, Alena!! I love Christmas music and it ain’t the holiday without some concert filled with the stuff! What kind of a program is it? I’m glad you’re taking some time for you… you deserve it!

  6. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: What’s the last thing you did for yourself that you don’t normally do?

    I guess the biggest change I have made is letting things go. This is the best gift I could give myself.
    Since Daddy’s passing in Sept. I have been UN-able to handle getting overwhelmed with the stuff that I used to deal with on a day-to-day basis.
    I need to focus on ME for awhile – finding my joy & focusing on my health & my wt loss journey.
    I realized that I don’t have to be the go-to person for answers.
    The kids can ask their Dad things and get answers from him or research the info themselves.
    I don’t have to drop everything to do for someone else. They can do it themselves.
    I don’t have to make lists for my Dh – he can remember on his own or not or make himself a list if he needs one.
    Delegate chores & activities. If we get it all in, fine. If we don’t, it’s not the end of the world and I need to let the kids go with other people on occasion. I am not their only source of transportation.
    I don’t go behind my kids to see if they did their chores etc… If it got done, I praise them. If it didn’t get done, then I take away a privilege – no discussion.
    I have given up many worries and concerns to the Lord. I was letting the craziness of my siblings get to me too much. They are the way they are and it doesn’t have to be my problem. I lift them up to God and I pray for them.
    There are lots of other things but this gives you an idea of how I have let some of the control go to make myself happier.

    Make a list of things that have changed in your life since losing weight.

    Clothes fit better
    I sleep better
    I get anxious if I DON’T exercise
    I can tie my shoes without having to hold my breath.
    I can do my own pedicures
    I like water
    My skin feels much better since water is my drink now
    My ring isn’t tight anymore
    I can do more things with my family and not just sit back and take pictures of them doing things
    I can run!
    I can out-run my kids
    My boobs don’t give me black eyes when I run
    Lost a bunch of back-fat – YAY
    The scale is going the right direction and although we aren’t good buddies…I don’t see it as evil anymore.
    I can take a hot soaky bath in our regular size bathtub
    A regular bath towel actually reaches all the way around me now…coverage!
    My feet don’t hurt every day

    Keep pushing forward…

  7. Jenalee

    Ya know what you should do if you don’t like pedicures? Get a facial! I think I like them even more than pedicures. They are so relaxing and I even like it better than a massage because it doesn’t require a stranger rubbing their hands on your body! I’m not kidding if you have never had a facial you totally should!

  8. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    I love the pretty wintry Christmas-ie background, Whitney!!

Leave a Reply

