I Da Ho… No… U ta ho….

What up friendly friendlies?  The weekend is over I am only slightly dumber than I was last week around this time.  That’s an upgrade from the usual Monday when I end up a LOT dumber than the previous Mondee.  I must have retained a few more brain cells due to the fact that I spent my weekend in my birthplace, Rexburg, Idaho… which, ironically is also the birthplace of wind (sorry, Oprah… Chicago ain’t got nothing!).   The wind mostly behaved this weekend… so unfortunately I could not blame my messy hair on anything but myself.  LAME!!!  We drove up Friday morning and met my cuzzin, Jen-Jen in Idaho Falls where we had promised to help her shop for some maternity clothes to cover her growing pregnant belly.  I can understand why she needed my help with clothing shopping.  I am one of the top 10 fashionistas of the parachute and tent-like clothing fashion council… pregnant women will more than likely own at least one parachute-shaped item of clothing, so y’all… give me a ring next time you need some advice.  I have it growing out my belly button… literally.  Instead of getting right to the clothes buying, we spent the first 30 minutes searching for my missing camera, which I’d left sitting on a sweater at The Gap because I’m just that senile.

Lindsay cannot get away from a shopping trip without trying on at least 800 items of clothing, so she (NOT PREGNANT AT ALL) was not swayed when she found herself banned to the maternity section… and ended up walking out with at least one maternity dress.  Oh my addicted-to-all-things-wearable sister… what will we ever do with your 5 closets of clothing when you leave this earth?

Lindsay and Jen-Jen trying on their clothing.  We set up shop in the dressing rooms pretty much while dad drooled his way to boredom out by the housecoats.

Why yes… that’s possibly one of the UGLIEST MuuMuus yet… and she talked us into buying it for her Christmas present.  Oh laws… does anyone have any blinding glasses I could borrow?  I cannot look at that thing all winter.   We also learned that dad is still winning the pregnant belly contest:

After lunch at Johnny Carino’s where the family ate their weight in fried octupus tenticles (THANK ALL THAT BE HOLY I’M A VEGETARIAN!!!!!), we headed to Jen and Seth’s house in Rexburg where I was going to stay the night.  I tell you, they are the host and hostesses with the mostesses.  They fed me yummified VEGETARIAN tortilla soup for dinner; worried about my warmth ratio; and the fact that her dog, Joey, enjoyed licking me.  I got a turn-down-the-bed gift of 2 adorbs cat food bowls and a book on how to train your new kitten to make money in the circus.  Jen also put on a cleaning show using her Melaleuca Tough and Tender counter spray whilst wearing an eskimo jacket and elbow-length pink rubber gloves… that’s how these Rexburgians roll, I tell you what!

The next morning after breaking into the family’s hotel to eat free breakfast (SHHHHHHHHH… they owed us one after a big ole football dude threw up in the elevator), we headed to the real reason we showed up in Rexburg, my cuzzin Michael’s wedding.  What a beautiful couple they made!

Mike and Jessica were troopers because it was chilly out there for picture time and the rest of us had coats and gloves.  The highlights of the day were hanging out with the extended fam, meeting my aunt Katie for the first time (what up, Katie), and passing around the cute lil daughter of my cuzzin Spencer and his wife, Anne.  Bethany cried approximately ZERO times whilst being passed around the group like a football in China… what an angel baby… and adorable to boot!

Auntie Jess with baby Bethany.

There’s me and Jen-Jen creeping cheesily into the pitcher.  Oh my laws, Whitney… never look like you’ve overdosed on Valium again!  Lindsay was enamoured, especially when the cute little thing enjoyed sleeping on her fur vest.  Shhhh… don’t tell Lindsay that… she thinks the baby liked her for her… not her vest.  I stumbled my way through the singing of 2 songs for the wedding luncheon, L-O-V-E by Nat King Cole and Blessed the Broken Road by Rascal Flatts.  All in all… twas a successful shindig.  Thank you hosts and Rexburg nation.  Let’s do it again sometime… preferrably in the summer!

Question of the Day:  What do y’all think of Madre’s new muumuu!?!?!?!?  Please help me… PLEASE!!!  😛

20 Comments

Filed under Family, Getting A Life

20 responses to “I Da Ho… No… U ta ho….

  1. Natalie

    I am guilty of having at least one mumu at all times! I might even be guilty of having something like a zebra stripe gigantic garment that my kids shun.

  2. Deanna

    It, is ummm….interesting??? Hahaha!

    It looks like you had a great time with your family. Good for you Whitney!

  3. Avster

    ha! Looks as though the madré knocked out Lindsay with that mumu! (Check out the bottom left corner of the photo.)

  4. Karen

    Really, Dessa, No! Have to smilte because if anyone can pull it off it is your mother.

  5. dessawade

    Hey, don’t make fun of my robes. That’s right, they’re called robes, not MuMu’s. And you forgot to mention that I didn’t buy the zebra print but instead got a girafffe print. Much better! Comes in really handy when it’s 5 degrees at our house.

  6. I love it! Actually, I have a sweater that would match. 🙂

  7. Jarvis95

    nice post! congrats to your cousin and the baby is adorable! also you are looking fantastic! lovely smile and great hair, from what i can tell from the creeper picture!! 😉

  8. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: What do y’all think of Madre’s new muumuu!?!?!?!? Please help me… PLEASE!!!

    I had to laugh too b/c of Lindsay cringing in the lower corner of the pic…( still chuckling ).
    Giraffe print? …oh yeh…so much better…LOL!!!!
    This coming from someone that doesn’t own a single robe. Not even a bathrobe.
    No Snugglis either ( don’t know if I spelled that right ).

    Baby Bethany is super cute and so sweet!!

  9. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Oh – I forgot to say CONGRATS TO THE HAPPY COUPLE(Mike & Jessica) !!!

  10. Jen

    Did your Kitty survive you being gone? It was sure fun to have you stay. Wish we had more time to do more things. I guess you will have to come up to Rexburg again someday.

  11. You totally made me want to go buy a maternity dress and a Mumu. I think it would be simpler than walking around with a blanket wrapped around myself 🙂 X the maternity dress, I don’t want people thinking I’m pregnant, just the Mumu I guess 🙂

Leave a Reply

