Dear Whitty Woo Woo of the Bouncy Balls…

The Listage…

Write a letter to yourself of today.

Dearest Whitney of the Bouncy Balls…

I’m torn… torn between the desire to scold and the desire to congratulate.  The Whitney of the past would surely have scolded.  Scolded and then ate the feelings away like a fat kid at the Golden Corrall… but it’s all you can eat leopard lard Tuesdee!!!  Maybe it’s because you’re frustratingly stuck in a rut of not being as conscientious food-wise as you’ve been in the past… and I could scold and scold and scold.  Scold the fact that, particularly over the last 2 weeks, you give in too easily to temptations.  Scold the fact that since March 2010, you’ve only lost a total of 40 pounds.  I could scold the fact that you have a gym membership, yet you haven’t been to the gym since Thanksgiving… opting instead to ride the recumbent bike in the basement… it’s too dagnabbed cold and too long of a drive out there… 20 minutes to get to the gym each way?  Such a waste!  And then, I could also scold you for making up lame butt excuses like the ones in the previous sentence.  I could scold you… but I’m not going to.

Instead I want to say… good for you!  Forty pounds in 9 months may sound pathetic in that skewed brain of yours, especially considering the 100+ the previous year, but it’s 40 pounds less than you weighed in March.  All of the years prior to 2-1/2 years ago had seen a gain of at least 25 pounds per year… in actuality, you saved yourself 65 pounds of grief.  I want to congratulate you for persisting… even when persisting meant getting up each day with a renewed commitment to start anew.  You’ve always said it doesn’t matter how many dagnabbed times you fall down, it’s how many times you get up that matter.  Even if now it seems you’re swimming against the current, it won’t always be that way.  This is a rut on that road of yours… a small, insignificant rut… and one of these days when you least expect it, you’ll climb out the other side.  There will always be a struggle… some times will seem easier than others… but persisting through the bad times is the sign of a winner… and you, Whitney of the Bouncy Balls… are a WINNER!  Charlie Sheen has no idea!

Sincerely,

You Know Who…

Question of the Day:  What do you want to congratulate yourself for today?  Come on… pat yourself on the back! 

 

17 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, The List

17 responses to “Dear Whitty Woo Woo of the Bouncy Balls…

  1. cl2

    Let’s see . . . UMMMM! Not thinking of anything today. I’m not in a bad mood either.

    I think it is great that you’ve lost another 40 pounds–better than going up 40!

    Thinking, thinking, thinking–I’ll think about what I can congratulate myself for this year!

    And those gym memberships! I’ve done that before as have many of my friends–so I never get them anymore. Really, that walking out there in that brisk air does wonders for my mood. It only takes a few minutes to start peeling off the layers even in 5 degree weather. Nothing quite like it.

    (You should congratulate yourself also for this blog–you keep some of us hopeful!)

    • Colleen… I can congratulate you on being loyal and genuinely interested in what someone is saying. When I talk with you in person, I never feel like you are half there and not paying attention… great listening skillz and compassion! So, there you go!

      I can’t believe you walk outside even if it is 5 degrees!!!! My nose hairs would freeze together. The reason I hate walking outside is because of the nasty air. My nose is already having fits… I can’t breathe most of the time because it’s all stuffed and gross from the inversion air!

  2. Julie

    Could you imagine winning an Olympic Gold medal and then later losing a couple competitions of lesser importance? Imagine how that would feel. Although, realistically, regardless of what that athlete felt about him or herself, the rest of the world would only see him or her as an “Olympic Gold Medalist!” You and I did something amazing! We lost an incredible amount of weight the old traditional way of counting calories and burning more. We are Weight Loss Gold Medalists! You are so right! We need to focus on our successes if we want to continue moving in the right direction. It’s about believing we can do it. We know we can, nothing has changed, except we are now more knowledgeable, trusting and forgiving of ourselves. I wish we could give “that” gift to all those reading your posts.

    Congratulations, Julie, for realizing the thoughts in your head are totally in your control. You finally said “no” to thinking about your failures and forced yourself to find what you were doing well… and then continually reminded yourself of your successes until that’s what naturally came up in your mind when you thought of yourself. Come to think of it, you WON that battle too! You deserve another gold medal.

    • I love that Olympic gold medal analogy, Julie. And it’s so true. Thank you for putting it in perspective. Being kind to ourselves along this journey is truly one of the biggest differences from weight loss attempts of the past. At least for me it is. I’d have thrown myself through the ringer in the old days… that’s why I never lost more than 10 pounds on each subsequent diet.

  3. Avster

    I shall congratulate myself on my bad mood. :b After a night of constant bad dreams it’s hard to be in a good mood upon waking up!

    I will give you a high-five for marching on though!

    You would have liked reading the temperature last night… at one point it ready 51*. ~shakes head~ Now it’s a “frigid” 38. Want to visit?

    • 51 DEGREES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will be right over. Holy dee-vine weather right there! I’m already sick of the cold and it has only been below zero for 2 days so far.

      Avster… boo on the bad dreams! 😦 That sounds no fun. Holler if you need someone to chase them things away. I have a broom and a welding mask!

  4. Natalie

    The average American gains what? 10lbs a year? Well you LOST 4 X that much! Not gained! Not even equil to. FOUR TIMES AS MUCH. Yes, you pat your inner child on the back!

  5. Natalie

    Me? I’m trying to move in ways that are good for me, too. It aint easy. It’s easier to lay back down and say I can’t, never did, won’t ever, poor me. It’s harder to succeed and not have those crutches! Suddenly then you have no back up when you fail! Success is hard! You might then fail! Thats terrible self talk. I catch myself all the time doing it.

  6. Deanna

    Good for you Whitney! I love this post. You have such a great attitude and that is why you continue to succeed and will continue to have many more successes to celebrate. Just think of where you will be this time next year!

    Today, I want to pat myself on the back for getting up at 4 a.m. to hit the gym. With throwing 2 dinner parties this holiday season in front of me, I have been beyond busy. I didn’t let this stop me. I am going to give myself the credit that I deserve – Congrats Deanna for staying committed – even when there is plenty of room for excuses.

  7. WINNING! Good job Whit! I think that being kind to yourself and seeing the good you are doing is a huge thing–just as important as any weight loss. I’m glad that you are starting to get a glimpse of the amazing person you are that we all have had the pleasure of knowing all along.

  8. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    This is a great post, Whitney.
    I love that you aren’t scolding yourself for being human.
    This isn’t a diet and we are going to make good choices and bad choices. Now we know the difference and care to make MORE good choices and make time for exercise.
    Excuses, they are tricky little devils aren’t they!? They can worm their way in before you even realize it…
    I think of pruning scissors when I have an excuse worm its way in…SNIP! A quick painless snip to that excuse and then I do the exact opposite just to grind in the fact that I can do whatever I set my mind to.
    I too am not where I thought I would be back in March when I started this wt loss journey. I thought for sure I would be a heck of a lot closer to my goal than I am. But then 48 lbs off in 9months is amazing in itself too. If anyone else ( but myself ) said they lost that much I would be thrilled for them. I need to be thrilled for my own successes.

    Question of the Day: What do you want to congratulate yourself for today? Come on… pat yourself on the back!

    I guess I want to say:
    Louisa, I am proud of you. You have lost 48 lbs in 9 months and you look & feel so much better and can do so much more than before. You didn’t think your weight was keeping you from doing anything you wanted to do but it really was.
    You are starting to look on the outside like you used to and like you remember – that is awesome.
    I am also proud of you because you are running. Yes! You always hated running when you were young and strong and full of energy. You have found a way to like running at 42 yrs old and still over 200lbs ( but not for long – Onederland here you come).
    I am proud of you for pushing through your grief over Daddy. We still struggle daily, don’t we? But you know…pinhole glimmers of light and joy are trying to poke their way in through the grief and that is a start. You will be happy again and in YOUR time.

    • LOVE that letter to yourself, Louisa. Congratulations, indeed. You have accomplished more since March than most people do in YEARS! Pat yourself on the back for all that. I also love the part where you say you would be happy for anyone else who lost any amount of weight in 9 months, so why not extend that to yourself. Run right into Onederland! You got it!

Leave a Reply

