Play it Again, Sam… and Again and Again and Again…

Y’all… it’s Christmas week!!!!  Can you even believe it?  I swore I heard reindeer hooves on my rooftop the other night… and madre in her MuuMuu, and I in my paper bag of embarrassment had just settled down for a long winter’s nap (SERIOUSLY!?!?!?  Is that a thing?  I thought it was called hibernation, but y’all… I’m totally the first one to volunteer to nap through winter…  straight up!  Call me, Sleep Clinic!)  I guess it’s time I start my Christmas shopping.  Oops… did I do that!?

Tonight we had our annual “Neighborhood Christmas Program,” which is an ironic name since it really isn’t a neighborhood.  If so it’s a really spread out neighborhood… basically it’s a bunch of folk from two different wards congregating in the church to listen to talented folk sing and play Christmas music.  I look forward to it every year because it always brings the Christmas spirit.  This town has a bunch of talented folk.  So many they usually leave a chunk of the talent out… let’s face it… the program would be 47 hours long if every talented person participated.

I had to laugh, though… of the 7 performances, 3 of us chose the exact same song… Oh Holy Night for the win!  They should have just changed the name of the program to Oh Holy Night… Again and Again and Again… and if you don’t like it, don’t let the door hit you on the way out.  Y’all neighborhood peoples… let’s coordinate it up for next year… why don’t we all sing different versions of Grandma Got Ran Over By A Reindeer!  Start practicing now… I’m already borrowing one of Madre’s camel-print muumuus for the occasion.

I wasn’t complaining, though.  I’d have to say that Oh Holy Night is on my list of top 5 favorite Christmas songs EVER… EVER!  This week I’ve decided to share those top 5 favorite Christmas songs, in no particular order… mostly because no one will be reading blogs this week… and secondly, because I love Christmas music!  There are countless versions of this song… one of my favorite is definitely Celine Dion’s version.  She has the gift of SANGING… no doubt about it.

Question of the Day:  Do you have a favorite version of this song?  Tell me whose version I’m missing out on in the comments!

Welcome to the Naaaayyyyyy-borhood Christmas party!  😛  That’s right… I did it.

20 Comments

Filed under Christmas

20 responses to “Play it Again, Sam… and Again and Again and Again…

  1. jen

    What a fun Christmas tradition for your neighbors. I like Josh Groban ‘s version of that song also.

  2. deannawade@gmail.com

    I will be reading your blog. In fact I’m sad when I turn on my computer on the week-ends and you don’t have an update. It would be hard for me to pick out a favorite–I just love Christmas songs. We have Escape in our car and it seems everything I get in the song “Baby It’s Cold Outside” is playing. Sorta fits our Idaho winters wouldn’t you say.

    • Thanks, Aunt D! I love Baby It’s Cold Outside… and you are absolutely right that it fits ID winters. I was talking to a lady last night who said that she read that Idaho Falls was in the top 10 cities with the coldest winters! Crazy!

  3. Avster

    Not read your blog? Who are you kidding?

    I already sent you my favorite version of “Oh Holy Night.”

    Not certain on a favorite carol… I can give you a long list of carols I don’t like. :b If you tied me down and made me choose I would probably choose ‘Oh Holy Night.’

    • I NEVER kid… EVER!! I would actually like a copy of your list of carols you don’t like… laminated and framed! I’m already mouth agape at the few I know you don’t like… SACRILEGE!! Maybe you just haven’t heard the right version of the songs on that list!!

  4. Karen

    You were first, so you win. I will be checking your blog, Christmas week or not. It was great to see you, and you do look like your mother. None of us want to say that, but it happens.

  5. cl2

    I wonder why it keeps changing my status?

    What I don’t like is when they don’t sing ALL THE VERSES the way they are written.

    Another one they always mess up is “What Child is This”–never sing the whole song and “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day.” I remember they always used to sing the first 3 verses in church and not sing the last 2–which are the best 2.

    Anyway–the first time I ever heard “Oh Holy Night” was as a kid and Perry Como sang it. I’m always looking for someone who sings the whole song.

    • Status? You lost me! The verse rearranging conundrum! It’s ironic that you mentioned “I Heard the Bells…” that one is definitely making my top 5 and I totally agree with you… the last 2 verses are the best!

  6. Julie

    Congrats!
    Wish I had a vocal talent. I’m like a jack of all trades, okay in most things, but not great at any one thing. Well, at least I can enjoy others talent!

    • See, Julie… you are just good at everything… and that, my friend, is a talent in and of itself. Plus, you have the writing gift and I’m sure many more that I’m not aware of.

  7. O Holy Night is my favorite Christmas song! I wish I could have been there to hear you sing it! Put it on your Christmas CD, okay?

  8. dessawade

    O Holy Night, Bring a Torch Jeanette Isabella (what does that even mean), Come oh come Emmanuel, and What Child is This are just some of my favorites because I have ALOT because I LOVE Christmas Music. I have been playing Christmas music since just before Thanksgiving on Pandora Radio at my work computer. My favorite version of O Holy NIght is by Whitney Wade! She’s famous in these her parts for that song.

  9. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    The neighborhood Christmas program sounds like a very nice time.
    Love the Celine Dion version of “O Holy Night” – thanks for sharing it.

    Question of the Day: Do you have a favorite version of this song? Tell me whose version I’m missing out on in the comments!

    I love Josh Groban’s version of “O Holy Night”.
    I also love his “It Came Upon A Midnight Clear” –

    I love Christmas music and have been listening to it on Athena365.com for months…
    Good thing my kids also like Christmas music…lol.
    My Josh Groban “NOEL” CD probably gets played the most out of all my Christmas CDs though…

  10. Lindsay

    I love “Blue Christmas” by Brenda Lee as well as “Do you Hear What I Hear” by Vanessa Williams

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Christmas Music!

  11. Andrea Seeley

    My fav. Christmas song, too. Good thing they didn’t ask me to sing at the concert, ’cause it just would have been a 4th version! My favorite performance is Michael Crawford’s. The Phantom singing “O Holy…” is AWESOME. I bought the album, very used, very cheap, for that one song.

Leave a Reply

