Shorties and Mistletoe…

Oh my gadfrey gurney in a box of lame-os (those are Oreos’ lamer cuzzin)!  I’ve been hearing this new “Christmas” song (and I use that word lightly… this ain’t no Christmas song!) on the radio and on television and on my Michael Buble Christmas special (which ended up being semi cheesy when it wasn’t about the music… stick with the music, Buble!)  Anywho, it’s by Bieber Fever who just so happens to have a WHOLE dagnabbed CD of “Christmas” songs… which I will not be buying because a.) I’m not 13 and 2.) I will not be contributing to Christmas songs that have the word “shorty” in them.  Seriously now!?!?!?  If I didn’t know what that word meant (a pet/slang name for a girlfriend), I’d think they were totes degrading short people… short people UNITE!!!  Unfortunately, I’m not one of your people, shorties, but I would volunteer to smoosh anyone via sitting on them who harrasses the shorties of the world… Bieber Fever you’re first in line!!!!   Samplings of the lyrics to this song:

I don’t wanna miss out on the holiday
But I can’t stop staring at your face
I should be playing in the winter snow
But Imma be under the mistletoe

With you, shawty, with you
With you, shawty, with you
With you, under the mistletoe

Excuse me whilst I vomit into my peddle pushers.  I’m a traditionalist, through and through, so when someone writes a new, nonclassic Christmas song, it best be a dagnabbed good song… otherwise, I’m going to hate it and then I’ll make fun of it on my blog.  I am seriously going to be dreaming about shawties tonight, aren’t I?

That said, there have been a handful of recently written, nonclassic Christmas songs that I’ve added to my must-listen-to-Christmas-song list… and that’s what this blog post is dedicated to today… yes, I’m cheating on the top 5 Christmas songs… but add these as top 5 plus a few more!

The first one is from the stylings of Harry Connick, Jr.  Love me some Harry!  It’s called It Must’ve Been Ole Santa Claus.  Love it… it’s catchy and a cute story and catchy and fun and Harry!  What more can you ask for in a new Christmas song!

Next is one of those bawl your way through a song songs… Oh… maybe that’s just for friendly woman hormone hoarding week.  Madre and I sang this song in Relief Society on Sunday.  Mary’s song and point of view… it’s full of such desparate want for comfort and help from above… “Breath of Heaven.”  I love it!

And thirdly… this song isn’t a “new” song per se… it’s just a different arrangement of a very classic Christmas tune… and it ain’t Christmas until I’ve heard it at least once.  Babs Streisand’s version of “Jingle Bells!”

There you go, Shawties… Bieber Fever… take a note from these folks next time… okay now!?

Question of the Day:  What nontraditional Christmas songs are your favorites? 

25 Comments

Filed under Christmas

25 responses to “Shorties and Mistletoe…

  1. jen

    That’s funny you’re making fun of that song because I was just thinking it is kind of cute. Michael Buble has a couple non traditional songs on his new album that I like.

  2. cl2

    Breath of Heaven–one of my all time favorites–helped me through some rough times in my life.

    Don’t know the names of the other 2–one by Celine Dion called I think Christmas Prayer–and then the one that says, “on this very Christmas night” that they play a lot on the radio.

  3. Julie

    I gotta agree with you, Whitney (sorry Jen). Love Celine Dion’s version of “Oh Holy Night”.

  4. Dorothy Dingman

    I have two that I have to listen to each year. The first is “Ding-a-ling the Christmas Bell”, by Lynn Anderson. I grew up listening to it, and I still love it! The other is a newer one. It is “Let it be Christmas”, by Alan Jackson. I love Christmas music, and it plays from the Saturday after Thanksgiving through Christmas Day.

    Hope you holidays are merry and bright. We get to have my father-in-law come stay with us this year and I am so excited! I love that man. We joke because he rotates between the 3 kids, so we only get visitations every 3rd year.

    • Hey Dorothy! That is so awesome that you get your father-in-law for the holidays… but more importantly that you all love it when he comes! Enjoy!!

      I had not heard either of those songs… but I put them on my list to Youtube in the next few days!

  5. Avster

    My sister-in-law also loves Breath of Heaven and has sung it at church several times.

    I believe I sang my favorite non-traditional Christmas song yesterday… ~looks innocent~

  6. Liz

    Brian Setzer has some great Christmas swing albums! Like “Boogie Woogie Christmas”… We also have Jethro Tull, Louis Armstrong, the Peanuts Christmas (a must have), Manheim Steamroller, Bob Rivers (comedy) and Trans Siberian Orchestra. Along with Bing and Harry of course 🙂

  7. Steve wade

    I like the Bar J Wrangler’s version of Mary Did You Know.
    Fun article btw.

  8. Katie Berger

    Several of Harry Connick, Jr.’s are non-traditional, but I love anything he does. His voice and treatment of songs traditional or non-traditional always just help me smile inside. And I’ll always love, “Still, Still, Still.”

  9. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    I haven’t heard this song by Justin Bieber…and it doesn’t sound like I am missing out. I won’t be Google-ing it either, just so you know.

    No one does “Breath of Heaven” like Amy Grant and no one should try…IMO.
    ” Grown-up Christmas List” is another favorite from her.

    I have one of Harry Connick’s Christmas CDs but it isn’t one I listen to very often.
    I haven’t heard much in the way of Michael Buble’s Christmas songs…

    I really like Faith Hills Christmas CD called Joy To The World. So many good ones. “A Baby Changes Everything” is among my favorites.

    Martina McBride’s White Christmas CD is really good too.

    Celtic Women’s “Christmas Pipes” is also one of my favs. I love their CDs!! Never gets old.

    Another is “Green the whole year round”

    Manheim Steamroller Christmas CD is great.

    Trans Siberian Orchestra Carol Of The Bells & Christmas Canon Rock are amazing.

    Jim Brickman’s “Be Thou Near To Me” with Selah is AWESOME.

    • Thanks for the songs, Louisa. My dad is a big fan of Celtic Women… he calls them “his girls.” I hadn’t heard of that Straight No Chaser group but they are totally fun! Reminds me of a local group we have around here called Voice Male… a bunch of talented hilarious guys!

  10. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Oh !! How could I forget the non-traditional Christmas songs of Straight No Chaser – 12 days of Christmas

    The Christmas Can Can – this CRACKS ME UP!! LOL

    and “Who Spiked The Eggnog”

  11. Great songs Whit! Good thing I have you to a) remind me that Justin Bieber exists and b) explain what in the world he is talking about. I am totally an old geezer when it comes to teeny-bopper slang 🙂

    • That’s what they pay me to do… and by pay I really mean in my head! Geezer Alena… stick with me and I’ll be sure to keep you up to date on ALL the teeny bopperish happenings. Bieber Fever will thank me later!

  12. Pat Mackay

    Loved hearing Karen Carpenter again. Whitney Wade and Karen Carpenter are my favorite singers. I love the idea of finding Richard Carpenter and having him give you all of their music. What ever happened to him? Maybe you and him could sing together?? I’ll be your agent!!

    • My name in the same sentence as Karen is soooo out of place… but I’ll still take you up on the agent idea… first job… hunt down Richard and steal all of his sheet music!! 😛 Thank you, Pat!

  13. Andrea Seeley

    I so love Barbra S. “Jingle Bells” I grew up with that Christmas album and can sing the whole thing. My husband doesn’t appreciate it, his problem. On of my non-trad. favorites is the Shoe song, I think it’s called “Christmas Shoes” Makes me teary EVERY time, and it’s been many years. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

