Auditioning for the Michelin Wo-Man…

Firstly, I just wanted to say that Madre is a great driver and I also got the “hates driving in the winter” genes, so all the jabbing I did in yesterday’s post was meant in the most loving way possible… she gives it back with my bobblehead and germ issues!  Secondly, the muumuu degrading is NOT meant in the most loving way possible… they are ugly… end of story!  😛

I was searching for a Christmas DVD last weekend, when I came across a VHS tape labeled Whitney Voice Recitals.  So, of course I popped it in… yes I do still have a VCR… why do you ask?  It was a compilation of me singing at my voice recitals from the age of 15 to 18… circa 1994 to 1997… go 90s!!  I had forgotten I even had it… but a nice neighbor had been kind enough to tape all of my performances (his daughter’s were singing at the same recital) and put them on tape for me.  My folks didn’t have them fangled dangled camcorders back in the olden days.  They preferred to draw our memories in chalk and charcoal… which makes it all the more ironic that we ain’t an artistic family… AT ALL!!!

I watched that VHS tape mostly in shock… did I really look like that at that age?  Was my face really that rotund?  I don’t remember ever thinking it was that bad back in the olden days.  Sure, I knew I was a big girl and that I got made fun of for it… but the picture in my head never matched reality.  I was big boned… that’s not fat!  I kept trying to put my finger on who I reminded myself of… and then it hit me:

Not my picture... Picture courtesy of Google Images!

Pretty much… rotund, no defined facial bones, no neck (neckless!), and puffy.  The similarities were striking, really… and this VHS tape wasn’t anywhere near my highest weight.  I guess I needed that reminder… needed it to kick me in the pancake and get me moving forward on my way to conquering the Onederlands… I’ll always have a big ole head (runs in the family), but no more Michelin Man face, Whitney… Hear?

To end out my favorite Christmas songs week, I’m putting a clip from the video here.  Mind you, I was 17 and it ain’t the best performance, but I think I’ve improved with practice and maturity since.   I’m singing one of my favorite songs with my voice teacher, Sally (who is now a Mormon Tabernacle Choir member… holler!)  If anyone wants tips on how to get that super attractive hairdo… I’m your girl.  It’s called, roll out of bed, slop a barette into the side so it smashes the hair down… and then for goodness sakes… DO NOT BRUSH IT!

Back to the song.  This song always makes me cry… it’s beautiful.


Baby, What You Goin’ To Be?

Baby, Lying in a manger,
slumbering so sweetly,
Whatcha gonna be?
Baby all the world is watchin’,
all the world awaits to see,
what will you be?

Baby sleeping in a stable,
underneath the heavens,
whatcha gonna say?
Baby, did you bring the Good News?
Did you come to light our way?

Oh, look, see the cattle asleep,
see the shepherds beside,
See the Wise Men, they bow unto you.
Are you the one who was meant to be Master?
To bring in the Kingdom too?
Alleluia

Baby, Hope of all the people,
what you come here to do?
What you come to say?
Baby, can you be the Savior?
Come to save the world one day?
Baby lying in a manger,
will you save the world one day?

Note:  As an FYI… I will be taking next week off from blogging land.  I’m going to regroup, get a better attitude, and come Mondee, January 2, 2012, I’ll be back full force with a holeeday recap, a recap of the year 2011, and my New Year’s goals.  2012 is going to include some buttocks kicking… and by buttocks, I mean mine!  We gotta get a move on this thing here.  So many things to conquer yet!  I hope you all have a fabulous holiday season.  Enjoy the family and friends and food (all things in moderation is gonna be my motto).  And to those who are dreading the holidays due to a loss… my prayers and thoughts are with you… big hugs sent from my end.  Thank you all for sticking with me… it is always appreciated…

11 Comments

Filed under Christmas

11 responses to “Auditioning for the Michelin Wo-Man…

  1. Natalie

    WOW! You sang in Church in front of everyone!! I would have died first!! I can-not-do-public-speaking. And to sing would have actually killed me! I don’t even sing in front of people in my own house. You were a beautiful girl! You still have those cheeks and facial bone structure that make you uniquely pretty. Wow, Whitney, you are brave! And, btw, you sing great!

  2. Lindsay

    Why is the song only 34 seconds????

  3. Lindsay

    Ok never mind I saw the whole thing! It is so pretty, Whit is so talented and sings EVEN better now if you can imagine! You are looking AWESOME! It’s hard to imagine you that way now . . . it makes me sad to see you there but then it also makes me SUPER HAPPY for how far you have come!

    LATER,

    YOUR SIS

  4. Holly

    So beautiful! You have an incredible talent/gift! It’s like your voice was made for that song.

  5. Avster

    What! One whole week without the morning’s first ray of light! Boo! =)

    “You still have those cheeks and facial bone structure that make you uniquely pretty.”
    Hear, Hear!

  6. You’v improved beyond that voice? ! ? ! Your voice was ending! I can’t believe you were only 17! Wow!

  7. Liz

    You have some pipes! Merry Christmas!

  8. Jen

    As always, I love hearing you sing. Thanks for sharing it with us. I am looking forward to your new ideas and goals for the year 2012. Tell Dessa I like her muumus! I am always tempted to get my own.

  9. Trisha

    Whitney, my parents are in your ward and I have always loved coming to hear you sing. You have the most beautiful voice I have ever heard! I always get teary eyed when I hear ya! Hope you have a great Holiday!

  10. Gorgeous! I don’t know if I’ve ever heard that song before, but I know no one else will ever do it justice now I’ve heard it by the best. Have a great Christmas!

  11. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Merry Christmas sweetie!!

    Thanks for sharing this clip, Whitney.
    I really enjoyed listening to it and I wasn’t familiar with the song.

    You really have come a long way!
    Keep it up b/c you are getting more and more gorgeous every day.

    See you in 2010 with renewed drive and determination.
    Keep pushing forward…

Leave a Reply

