Tricot and Wilderness Training…

Even though my immediate family is on the smallish side… I have a LARGE extended family on both sides of the parental units.  Madre grew up as the 2nd youngest of 6 and Padre grew up as the youngest of 80000000000… okay, maybe not that many but like 10 or so.   So when all of those siblings grew up, married, and had kids of their own and then their kids had kids and so on and so forth, it added up to too many to count on the 4 appendages I happen to own at the moment.  I may be biased but I’m pretty sure my extended family is the best one on the planet… (and I’m not just saying that for monetary donation purposes).

Just one example… Saturday night I arrived home to find a large box on my doorstep.  The return address was from the Alaskan relations, so of course I got all giddy and then crossed my fingers that there wasn’t a bull moose head inside the box.  You never know!  I armed myself with a shotgun and elk repellent and went to the task of opening ye yonder box.  Inside I found a gorgeousfull blanket that my sweet Aunt Marsha had quilted for me.  Aunt Marsha is Madre’s sister and she is something of a quilting genius… I tell you what.  I’ve had this thing for the fabric tricot ever since I was a baby.  Most likely because my grandma made my baby blanket out of tricot and then each year I always got pajamas made out of tricot.  I LOVE tricot now.  It’s a comfort thing.  I have to have some form of tricot on my bed in order for me to go to sleep.  Whether it be in the way of pajamas or bed blanket.  A few months ago I went to the ONLY store in town that carried tricot (apparently, tricot ain’t in fashion any longer… THE NERVE!!!) and bought some fabric to send up North, fully intending on having Aunt Marsha charge me her regular going rate to quilt together me a tricot bedspread.  Instead, she insisted on quilting it for my birthday/Christmas present that year and for many years to come (I told her).  It turned out beautiful… and I now have a tricot bedspread to lull me to sleep at night!

 

There was also a gift from my cuzzin Carl.  If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you may have read about my last hiking fiasco… hiking  a mountain carrying a plastic bag that insisted on ripping 3 seconds into the hike with water, batteries (WHAT THE HELIUM BALLOONS), and cameras in it.  SMARTNESS is totes in the gene pool!  Cuzzin Carl read that post too and I’m sure he was appalled at my utter lack of anything resembling sense or common.  HOW CAN WE BE RELATED TO HER!?!?  I heard him hollering from the Alaskan wilderness.  Carl has been trying to get me to come visit them in Alaska… in the winter no less… and then he followed that with their current temperature readings of 40 some odd below ZERO Fahrenheit!  ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND!?!?!?  He heard me yelling from the Utah basement.  So, I laughed up a storm when I saw his gift in the box… EXACTLY what this wilderness idiot needed!!

My very own camoflauge backpack (so I don’t get eaten by meeses)… rope to tie up a meese to the nearest tree (I think)… a knife (to kill me a meese)… emergency food kits… water bottle… flashlights… and a spifteronio all-in-one toolkit that I’m pretty sure I’ve seen Chuck Norris using.

Isn’t that the nicest thing you’ve ever seen?  I’m going to get good use out of it too… in summer and winter when I take out my snow shoes on the brown snowless grass (though we did get like 2 or 3 inches on Saturdee)… much smarter than a Honks Dollar Store sack.

Thank you, Aunt Marsha and Cuzzin Carl!!  I’m going to ask Carl to send me instructions on how to bag my first meese!!!!  Just as soon as he finishes rolling his eyes and throwing his hands up in the air at my cluelessness.

Question of the Day:  What was your baby blanket like?  Do you still have any of your childhood blankets/toys?

19 Comments

Filed under Family

19 responses to “Tricot and Wilderness Training…

  1. cl2

    No baby blanket that I know of. I do have some doll blankets my grandmother made me–one quilted. I just purchased a “copy” of my childhood doll–as I posted on here. My daughter finds it creepy, but she got me a display case for her.

    P.S. I LOVE Alaska. I always wanted to go there and, as you probably know, I went there the past 2 summers (July and September) as my daughter drives a tour bus for Princess cruises. She loves it there, too–wants to live there the rest of her life. I may be going again this summer.

    • It’s fun to be sentimental. I’m glad you found your childhood doll. Now every time you look at her, you’ll be flooded with good childhood memories! I will get to AK one of these years!

  2. Natalie

    Go to Alaska! Yes! Do it!

  3. Avster

    What awesome gifts!

    Yup, I still have my baby blanket. It’s made out of thermal materiel and has balloons all over it. It is rather tattered with some mending here and there.

  4. dessawade

    No childhood blankets or toys here since if I had kept them I’m sure they would have disintegrated or better yet molded from so much time having passed. In orther words I’m old!

  5. Katie Berger

    Beautiful gifts!! Your Aunt Marsha is a wonder in the quilt department, for sure. She and Phil made a photo quilt for our wedding – – -the one we have hung in our front hallway- – -and she has quilted many quilts I’ve sent her way. Tricot was “the thing” when my children were young, and they adored their tricot quilts. One used it until is was literally shreds of fabric, then we had to have a little “ceremony” to lay it to rest!
    Awesome backpack – – -much better than a plastic bag, for sure! And you’re right about the family – – -al least the ones I know! Good folks!

  6. Randy

    I agree, Tricot is scrumptious–a real comfort feel! And, I agree with your cousin Carl and other postees–go to Alaska! You’ll love it.

  7. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    You have an invite to Alaska and haven’t gone yet? Wha!!!?? Ok – so maybe there is a better season to go than when its –40F but totally GO.
    My mom is actually making plans to go to Alaska sometime this new year.
    She always wanted to do it, never did . Her and Daddy did a lot of traveling over the yrs but they never got to Alaska. Now she, at 81 yrs old, is going to do it.
    Wish I could afford to take the family and go too. I would love to see the whales…among other things.
    That is one sweet family you have. That quilt is GORGEOUS! What a sweetheart cousin to send you a kit to aid you in your hiking adventures. They sound like keepers to me.

    Question of the Day: What was your baby blanket like? Do you still have any of your childhood blankets/toys?

    I am the youngest of five so I just got whatever hand me downs that came my way. I don’t remember any baby blanket or anything special sent my way.
    When I was about 11 yrs old my parents gave me a very soft, very big blanket with two horses on it. I still have it and sleep with it every night. It has only gotten softer over the yrs.
    I bought each of my kids one as well ( My son got one with a white tiger on it with the background of deep dark blues – gorgeous and SO soft and gorgeous. My daughter got a horse one with greens and blues in the background – SO soft and gorgeous )

    I still have all my Breyer (model) horse collection from growing up and I have added to it over the yrs as well. Not so much after the kids were born but some.
    My husband has kept some of his TONKA trucks from when he was a kid.

    • It’s fun to take a walk down memory lane… childhood things do that for you. Your blankets sound fun!

      As for AK… I wish I had more money for traveling funds… but I’ll totally get there one day. So cool that your mom is getting out there and seeing things that she wants to!

  8. Wow-what a great quilt–the stitching looks exquisite! That backpack looks like it will come in handy too 🙂
    I had a peach flowered silky quilt as a wee one made by either my grandmother or my great aunt. (I have such a bad memory) I loved it!

    • Memory fades with age I hear… I couldn’t remember what I ate for breakfast this morning… 2 hours after the fact! Buckle in Alena… it’s only going to get more Alzheimery from here! At least you remembered the color and that it had flowers…

  9. I love tricot! All of my cousins had tricot baby blankets, and I was always a little jealous. So 3 years ago, when I had my daughter, I had a quilt made for her with brown tricot on one side and light pink tricot on the other. My mom did the edging and it turned out beautiful! One quirky side note: when washed, the pink tricot turned into kind of a lavendar tricot. Oh well, it is still scrumptious! 😉

  10. jen

    That quilt is beautiful! Remember my old blue baby blanket? Well I lost it at a hotel and had to find a replacement. Then Seth threw away my replacement when we got married. No more blankets for me 😦

Leave a Reply

