Happiness is… PMS!!!

PSYCHE!!!  I would tell you it was opposite day but that seems like something a 7-year-old pulls out of the trunk of grade school sayings… so I’ll just say my glass is half full until the cat came along and tipped the dagnabbed thing over!  I mentioned in an earlier post this year that I was trying to do something at least once a week that made me happy… and smiley and such…. blah, blah, blah, blahblahblahblah!  This week’s happiness included a jaunt up the road to talented lady and her homemade owls!  One of Madre’s sweet friends (what up, Shauna) tipped her off to the land of owly things.

My back history with owls is rocky at best.  A few years back I had a freaky baby owl somehow fall down into my window well where he intended on staying and freaking me the heck out with his big-mongous nonblinking eyeballs staring at me like a crazy dude at a Star Wars convention.  I screamed every time I saw the sucker… do not tell me you wouldn’t if you saw this thing staring at you every time you tried to go to bed:

ACK!!!!  Even to this day I get the shivers when I see this picture!!!!!!  See his feathers all standing up around his head… that means he hates me and if there weren’t a pane of glass separating us he’d go all bat crap crazy on my hairdo!  Needless to say, I wasn’t a big fan of owls after that incident.  I wish I could find the video I took when I first discovered the owl… it was dagnabbed hilarious… me screaming like a pansy at a daffodil convention!   Fast forward a few years to last year when the big owl craze came out… owl fabric… owl stuffed animals… owls, owls, owls.  But these owls are adorbs and have no intention of harming my hairdo… so I’m kind of going through an owl obsession right now.  Lindsay and Madre have the same owly obsession going strong… I think they rubbed off on me.

What was I saying?  Oh yes… we went to this lady’s house who makes the most adorable owl stuffed decorations… and we bought us some because we’re cool like that…

Madre bought the set of 3 Valentiney owls and the cute missionary owl in the front.  I bought the apple owl and the thing behind it is a cool invention to put a hot curling iron/flat iron when you’re traveling and need to put it in your suitcase!  Brilliance!

The other thing that made me happy was the discovery of my new favorite body wash… it’s like bathing in a vat of chocolate… except more sanitary and less calories.

Molten Chocolate body wash from SoftSoap!!!!!!  My skin is sensitive and I usually break out into hives with most body wash brands… except for SoftSoap… so, thank you, SoftSoap for making my dream flavor.  It’s taken everything I have not to just open up the frimm frammed bottle and chug it down in the shower.  Pretty sure that would not be a wise idea… but I’ll let you know when I find out!  😛

Question of the Day:  What made you happy last week? 

Oooo… PS… After mentioning that we hadn’t had much snow in Friday’s post, we got us some on Saturday… heavy and wet and slushy snow… but snow nonetheless.  This was the result down the road in Bountiful, Utah… over confident drivers trying to get down a slushy hilly road… bwahahahahaha… it’s like bumper cars, ice skating style!!!  Sister Lindsay and BIL, Shayne had driven down this same exact road on Saturday morning and they had to go 5 mph to get down safely.  Side note:  None of the idiots in this video were injured… just their pride, their cars, and every other car that happened to be parked along the side of the road.

13 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Little Things

13 responses to “Happiness is… PMS!!!

  1. Natalie

    Oh ma gawd… the last thing I need is to be sucking down my body wash! There was chocolate philly in the grocery store the last 2 times I was there.

  2. Natalie

    Notice every single one of those cars had their breaks locked?

  3. Avster

    The one is for traveling, huh?

    That hill does look kind of fun! I like the idiot who slammed on his brakes. ha ha! And the snow plow waiting for the people stopping!

    Oh, what made me happy last week? My co-worker going to the Peep Store at Mall of America and all of the items being 40% off. 😀

    • Awwww… I bet you’d be in 55th heaven with that percent off… hope you got some good things! That’s awesome.

      The snow plow was being courteous… who needs to do their job when everyone is having so much fun! 😛

  4. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Aw – that little owl was cute!
    I am sure you totally scared the beejeezus out of it ( screaming and taking its pic ).

    Some one gave me a chocolate scented body spray once. It is still sitting in my linen closet. Not something I would wear but it does smell good.

    The kids were on a break from school when we watched that video. We were all doing a lot of “OH!” and “Oo” and “Uh-Oh” ….lol.

    Question of the Day: What made you happy last week?
    Uh…Last week?? You want me to think back to last week?!
    Let’s see….
    The kids & I planned and executed a surprise party for my MIL perfectly.

    My 14yo daughter tried a Role Play Party with her teen group and did very well and had a really good time.

    My 14yo also started taking Confirmation Class at our small church and also at the local ( larger ) church – yes two of them! She wants to get as much out of Confirmation Class as possible and the two churches are VERY different in their expectations. She will, of course, only be Confirmed in our small church and go through the ceremony there. She has only been two times. The first week, our Pastor gave her the books she needs and gave her an assignment to get her caught up with the 7th graders but she has already done that. He was very pleased and gave her another assignment this week and stated that if she can get the material memorized, he will move her up into the 8th graders. That means she will be able to finish sooner as well. She already has been working on it and has most of it memorized for Sunday.

    She rode with her friend to Choir on Friday ( a first ) and that part went well. She has been educated on texting etiquette and so she didn’t like the way her friend was acting on the way back home after choir practice ( plugged into her phone texting instead of talking with her ). She said she put up with it this time but she is going to tell her friend the next time she does it. I am proud of her.

    My 10 yo son has been helping my Dh with some construction & painting projects here at home and doing very well with the responsibilities.

    My 10 yo has also really been making strides in school and since I homeschool – that always makes me HAPPY!

    • I don’t think I could do a chocolate body spray… but the body wash works well for me. I can hide the smell with my sweet pea body spray after!

      What great things that made you happy. Good for your kids excelling in all areas!

  5. jen

    That owl stuff is super cute and fun. Good choice on the curling iron cover. I would have done the same. Hanging out with friends made me happy last week.

  6. Lindsay

    CUTE OWLS! You over exaggerated Whit! We were only going 1 mph and we ended up waiting for snow plows to come before I EVEN DARED!!! It was so dang scary!

  7. What darling owls! We had us some icy roads here yesterday too. I nearly hit a car, that for some reason decided to pull out right in front of me and stop. I applied my brakes, and nothing happened. I actually ended up driving on to the sidewalk to avoid hitting the car ( and luckily I didn’t hit anything else). As soon as I did that, the driver of the before mentioned car miraculously found the gas pedal.

    • Oh my laws… how freaktastic is that driving experience… and that there is the reason I hate driving in the winter. It doesn’t matter how careful you are, there will always be some idiot who pulls out in front of you and stops. I am mega impressed at your quick thinking to drive onto the lawn. Glad you were alright!

Leave a Reply

