Rest-Au-Rants…

A few weeks back whilst in Ogden, we came across a restaurant called Brixton’s Baked Potato.  I’d never heard of it before, a restaurant devoted entirely to baked taters!?  Count me in!  I was born in Idaho after all… potato country!

Basically they took a baked potato, opened the sucker up, mashed it down with a potato masher and then put any toppings you wanted on top.  What a glorious idea, Vern!  I thoroughly enjoyed my broccoli/cheese mixture.

The word restaurant contains the word rant… pretty much opening it up for a Whitney rant session to the nth degree!  Why can’t there be more restaurants with healthy options?  When is someone going to open up a sit-down restaurant where the menu contains the nutrition facts of each food item?  I have been consciously scaling back on my going-out-to-eat times over the last few months.  I allow myself once a week on Saturday to go out to eat.  The rest I cook from home.  That’s a drastic reduction from the Whitney of 3 years ago when it would be restaurants twice a day most days.  I don’t miss going out to eat as much as I did in the past, but I do wish I could actually go to a restaurant that offered a whole menu filled with healthy stuff… lower calories, lower sodium, lower fat… and the nutrition facts printed right on the menu.  How novel would that be… and no Subway does not count.  I do not consider that a restaurant.  Maybe they do have places like I’m describing in bigger cities… I know I’ve never come across one in Podunk, Utah.   If you build it… we will come!!

Question of the Day:  I find it fun to dream up restaurant ideas.  What kind of restaurant would you like to see open up? 

7 Comments

Filed under Food

7 responses to “Rest-Au-Rants…

  1. In South London we need a decent steak and lobster place. Its all pasta and pizza. Enough!

  2. Avster

    I can’t say that I’ve ever seen a menu like that before.

    We have a few healthful options, though mostly they’re designed to have low carbs as my boss is a low-carb nut.

    Whit, are you sure you’re not planning to visit within the next few hours? The weather yesterday and today is, I believe, rather comparable to your weather… intense fog! Though I will admit that there is very little snow.

  3. Deanna

    I was surprised when we ate at Marie Callendar’s and they listed the calorie count of each item. It does make you stop and think more about your choices.

  4. Natalie

    Exactly! Why does fast food have to be so bad??? When I don’t feel like cooking but I want cooked food, thats when I eat badly. I’ll bet the midwest could carry something more healthy but still faster.

  5. Dessa Wade

    How about a grilled cheese restaurant. I get bored easily with most eating establishments except for Costa Vida sweet pork salad and Fredricos Ham & Cheese salad. Yesterday I asked for the ham and cheese on the side and was alarmed at how much they put on it. Used about half of each and it was just fine.

  6. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: I find it fun to dream up restaurant ideas. What kind of restaurant would you like to see open up?

    As I was reading your post, I was thinking of Subway and Panera Bread. Those are the only ones I can think of that have the nutritional info right up there for all to see.

    Olive Garden has their info online but I don’t remember seeing it on the menu itself.
    http://www.olivegarden.com/Menu/Nutrition/
    That is why if we go there – I do a bit of researching before hand.

    Ruby Tuesdays has an online menu and a PDF printable Nutritional Guide
    http://www.rubytuesday.com/assets/menu/pdf/informational/nutrition.pdf
    as well as a PDF Allergen Sensitivity Guide
    http://www.rubytuesday.com/assets/menu/pdf/informational/allergen.pdf

    Good to know.

    Others might have them too but I think they are just starting to catch on here in Missouri.

    If I opened my own restaurant, I would like to have family style meals. Taste would have to be a HIGH priority. HIGH quality. Nutrition would have to be a HIGH priority. Healthier options for satisfying desserts also.
    I would want it to come across as a classy place as well.

  7. jen

    That potato place sounds good. I like baked potato bars where you can put on any topping. A vegetarian chili would be good on potatoes too.

Leave a Reply

