Roads and Fat Cats…

Yesterday we headed down to Lindsay and Shayne’s place in Centerville to go to church with them.  Lindsay had the assignment to give a talk in church and I had the assignment to thank all things above, below, and sideways that it was not me.  Lindsay has a speaking in public talent.  Whitney has a DUMBing in Public talent.  I have no issues singing in public but put me up in front of a bunch of people and tell me to sound intelligent and I suddenly turn into a stuttering Adam Sandler character.  It’s pathetic.  I lose all train of thought and I find myself thinking about donuts… wondering if there are donuts within a 20-mile radius and/or how long it would take me to get to the nearest joint.  Durrrrr… Donuts…

Anyhow… moving on.  Lindsay did an excellent job on her talk on personal revelation and I learned a few or 15 things… but I also learned that 2 hours of sleep the previous night plus a way-too-warm-crowded room equals Whitney plays the head bobbing game… most likely bobbing for donuts!  That didn’t happen until after Lindsay’s talk, though!   I SWEAR!!!!!!

We also attended a Sunday school class taught by one of Lindsay’s church friends and coincidentally someone who has read this here blog in the past (what up, Emilie!?)  She gave a great lesson where she likened our free agency to a road.  We have choices in this life… we get to choose which road we want to travel down and just because we may have chosen the wrong road at one time or another doesn’t mean that’s the road we have to go down for the rest of our lives.  We can make the choice to turn our hindquarters around and walk the other way… and it doesn’t matter how many times we choose the wrong road, we can always come back… ALWAYS!   Take that to heart friends… it applies to countless life decisions and it’s comforting to know that we are never doomed.  A bit of heard work and persistence and voila… instant donut factory!  😛  Thank you, Emilie, for the reminder.

After church we headed to Lindsay and Shayne’s house to eat dinner (aka the vegetarian of the bunch eats almonds and a granola bar).   They have 2 cats who are pretty much the most spoiled specimens on this here great Earth.  Harley is on a “die”t and only gets to eat twice a day, seeing as he is nearly 20 pounds of fur and fat…. so he spends most of his day trying to get into the cat food that sits on top of the washing machine…

This is the liveliest he is… ever… when he’s trying to break into the treat bags!  Most of the rest of the time, he does this:

Such is the life of a spoiled fat cat!!!  Too bad he can’t buy me any donuts… I’m craving them now!!  😛

Question of the Day:  Do you have issues with speaking in public? 

PS… I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the passing of one of my all-time favorite voices and name twin, Whitney Houston.  What a sad loss… My thoughts and prayers go to her family.  In my humble opinion, in Whitney’s prime, there was no one who could match the power, the range, and the emotional resonance in voice.  To this day I’ve been waiting for a Super Bowl National Anthem to live up to Whitney’s version in the 90s and it hasn’t happened yet.  There have been some nice renditions… but no one has ever lived up to Whitney’s.   I listen to that version on a regular basis, year round, and have yet not to get chills and goosebumps and/or an occasional stray tear running down my cheek.  I hope you’re serenading the angels in heaven, Whitney… Rest in peace!

19 Comments

Filed under Family

19 responses to “Roads and Fat Cats…

  1. Jen

    What a fun weekend you had. I love how squishy and fat Harley is! It sounds like everyone learned a lot of good things at Lindsay’s church too. I was shocked when I heard Whitney had passed away, and also agree that she had one of the best voices ever.

  2. Dorothy Dingman

    Why is it animals are sooo cute when they are overweight and squishy? I wish I was that cute!

  3. Julie

    Yes, sending thoughts and prayers to Whitney’s family and friends. Her talent was indeed a treasure for the rest of us.

    Public speaking is one of my gifts, so it doesn’t bother me a bit… But if you asked me to sing in front of people, or play the piano, I forget the words, the notes, even the tune! I would trade public speaking for the gift of “public music” in a heartbeat. 🙂

    • If I could have some of your public speaking talent, I’d be willing to trade for some public music talent and then we could have the best of both worlds! Next time I get asked to give a talk, I’ll give you a ring! 😛

  4. cl2

    Hate to speak in front of people!!

    Very sad about Whitney. Yep–she was one of the best. I used to walk to her music for a long time–when I used to work at the hospital some 20 or so years ago. I love her music.

  5. dessawade

    I am not a fan at all of public speaking. My heart pounds right out of my chest. I will say however, that it gets easier with practice. I still hate it though!
    To sing a solo in public would do me in however I can sing with someone else and do ok, other than I am stiff as a stick. (Thanks Linds & WHit!)

  6. Pat Mackay

    What a HUGE loss! So Whitney, you can take over Whitney Houstons place in singing. I’ll recommend you sing at the next super bowl. You will be an equal with Whitney!! When is that cd coming out???
    Also, with your writing abilities, you could totally talk in church and do a SUPER job. I’ll be excited to hear it!!

    • How much do I owe you, Pat… my business manager!? 😛 I wish I had 1/100th of Whitney’s range and power!!

      As for the talking… if I could do it behind a closed door with the audience on the other side, I think it would be much easier for me!

  7. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: Do you have issues with speaking in public?

    I have issues if I have to come up with a topic and speak about it or do anything impromptu on stage.
    If you ask me to read something on stage, I am fine.
    No, I don’t sing or play an instrument solo or otherwise, so that would be out…lol.

    My daughter just read a passage at church on Sunday for the first time. She did really well and spoke up enough to be heard in the back also. YAY
    She says next time she will angle the microphone a little bit more toward her cheek so it picks up her voice well and doesn’t squeal like it did with the other reader.
    I am proud of her. She doesn’t have any issues with getting up on stage ( to speak, to sing, to play a game, or read at church ). It is a blessing.
    My son won’t go on stage unless he can go up with his sister and then he stands so close to her you think they are one person or he hides behind her….lol.

    Rest in peace, Whitney Houston. Your angelic voice will be missed.

  8. Avster

    Nope, no problem with public speaking. Better not, what with my job. I’ve been singing in front of people since I was two, so being in front of a crowd has never bothered me. So if you need a speech done, contact me and I’ll come do it for you. :b

    • I used to enjoy associating with the people when I worked at K-Mart and other customer service jobs, but actually having to get up on a platform in front of hundreds and try to talk about something intelligent gives me the heebie jeebies… I will be sure to call you if it ever happens again!

  9. When I heard of Whitney Houston’s death I instantly thought of you my dear, and the times of listening to “I will always love you” on the cassette tape. What a great song 🙂
    Uh, public speaking is pretty much one of my favorite things to do—-NOT!!! When I have that lovely opportunity, I find myself fantasizing of getting hit by a car on my way there and usually spend the rest of the day in my bed trying to recover. However, there is something that would be much worse for me–that would be singing in public. I’m pretty sure I would die right there on the spot (or at least try to so I could get out of it).

    • That song is such a classic! Totes gives me the chills!

      Bwahahahaha… I can’t even imagine why you wouldn’t enjoy the public speaking gig? When we had those stupid speaking seminars in YW (I can’t remember what we called them… workshops) where we would have to do a prepared talk and then an impromptu talk, I wanted to die… I think it’s stuff like that that totes made me insane!

Leave a Reply

