When Kindness Attacks…

I’ve been thinking lately… DANGER!!!!… thinking about why it’s so easy to remember the people who wronged me throughout my life… the times I’ve been made fun of or been made to feel stupid.  I can sit down right here and make a list 2 miles long of all of those instances, but I don’t think I could do the same for the instances where people have gone out of their way to be kind.  I know it’s happened a LOT in my lifetime.  I am surrounded by a plethora of generous and loving people.  Maybe it was the fact that I had such a low opinion of myself that I focussed on the bad instead of the good.  I’d so often try to write off the kindness as oh, they had to say that… they were just being nice… they didn’t really mean it.   That’s the war cry of low self esteem and even lower self confidence.  But it really does something to that hardened heart to be on the receiving end of a kindness.  A lightness to step and a mysterious tugging upward of the corners of the ole mouth… and suddenly you’re on top of the world… ready to conquer anything that comes your way.

I have no idea if any of this is making any sense.  For all I know I’m writing in Swahili.  I’m working on brain fumes tonight (aka this morning) and I swear to you a chipmunk nearly peed in my Cheerios this morning… figuratively… not literally!  Chipmunks in the winter are known as Otter pops around these parts!

So, I’m making it my mission to acknowledge and appreciate the kindnesses that are thrown my way.  Write them down and take them to heart.

This week’s kindnesses included the sweet ladies and gentleman at both of the assisted living centers we sang at, who went out of their way to mosey on up, some in their walkers, to thank us for coming to sing to them.  They didn’t have to… they could have saved their energy to walk back to their rooms, but they did it anyway… and that made it all worth it.

The second one happend as I was shopping in the crafting store for my Afghanistan Afghan Yarn Stash… I hadn’t bothered to get a cart, so just loaded down my arms with approximately 85,000 skeins of yarn.  Whilst I was standing in the middle of the aisle looking like the Good Year Blimp’s Cousin, Good Year Yarney, a lady passed by with a bunch of crafting supplies in her cart.  She stopped, turned around, and offered me the coupons she had… saying that she knew there was some reason she brought them in.  Did she have to do that?  Absolutely not.  She could have kept to herself and been on her merry way, but she chose to make my day instead.  Warm fuzzies!  Now them’s the kind of things that make you walk around with your head held a little higher.  Thank you, sweet lady with the fabric.

Question of the Day:  What’s the last “warm fuzzy” you recieved or gave?

 

13 Comments

Filed under Little Things

13 responses to “When Kindness Attacks…

  1. deannawade@gmail.com

    Thinking of how my daughter with her 3 young daughters, one being a new baby, often feels like her “hands are full” I saw a girl in the grocery store the other day struggling to get her toddler in the cart while holding her tiny baby. I took just a second and lifted the toddler into the grocery cart. It was such a small thing, but every time I passed that young mom she couldn’t thank me enough. It made my day and at the same time I’m hoping that when someone sees my daughter with her “hands are full” they will offer help.

  2. dessawade

    Nice Deanna! It truly is the small things that matter most. I am always impressed by men that hold the door open for women and it happens alot down at the Sports Academy as I am coming and going. I always thank them really loud so they know how much it is appreciated hoping that they will keep it up.

  3. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: What’s the last “warm fuzzy” you received or gave?

    Friday evening our insurance people wanted to come by at 5pm for us to go over our policies and make any changes etc. This process always takes over an hour.
    I made dinner for them even though they didn’t expect it but they were very happy and thanked me profusely.
    Saturday, when my husband took us all out to lunch and shopping, I found a pin-board with the ribbon that holds cards and pictures etc. Maybe you know what I am talking about…
    Anyway, I thought of the 93 yr old lady in the nursing home that we visit each week and was going to spend a whopping $6 to get it for her. She doesn’t have any place to put up her cards that we send each week or that her son sends from Minnesota. She loves to point them out and tell her roommate and the nurses about the cards and who sends them.
    I plan for us to give it to her tomorrow when we go to visit. I think she will be pleasantly surprised.

    I feel like I go out of my way to do nice things for people that I know and people that I don’t know.
    Not very many people return that kindness but I am always happy when someone does.

  4. Karen

    The last few years I have made it a habit to carry and envelope with “give away” money. It makes me more aware of times I can step forward and offer to help. I get $100 at a time in 5,10 and 20’s. It has been fun through the years and have had some simple wonderful experiences .. JUst keeps me aware of simple acts of kindness that can be given.

  5. Susan

    I try to do little things, like compliment total strangers on a haircut, or cute purse, or something like that. Recently, I helped two very elderly people get to their car – they were both on walkers and trying to carry leftovers. They were so appreciative.

    It is easier to remember the bad, but I am trying to focus on the good. When it comes to the bad, I like to think karma is just around the corner. There was a grumpy dude on a flight seated next to me, on a small plane, and he was mean. He thought you could “catch” fat by sitting next to the fat girl. So, he had me moved. But when we arrived at our destination, he didn’t have a rental car. I literally picked up the last car. CAR-ma.

    Anyway, Be blessed. Be a blessing.

  6. jen

    That’s a good idea to think of kind things rather than focusing on holding grudges. I had a lady a Kohl’s share her coupons with me too

  7. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Your coupon lady and Jen’s coupon lady reminded me of a time we all went to Six Flags for the day. There was some special price if you brought empty Coke cans ( or a Coke product can ) and gave it to the ticket person. Well, we took the empty cans with us in the hopes that it would get a discounted price for my husband. Well, it turned out I got a free ticket for the kids & myself through a Six Flags Reading Program and we didn’t need all the empty cans. I turned around to the couple behind us and asked them if they would like to use them to get a discount.
    I swear they looked like deer in the headlights….EEEK stranger danger or something!! I almost laughed.
    Typical city people – they get freaked out if someone talks to them or does something nice or out of the ordinary.
    Literally, they looked totally freaked.
    I set them down on the ground behind us and told them they were welcome to use them if they wanted and we went on through the line.
    I’ll never know if they used them or not but I would like to think if they didn’t …someone else that could use the price break used them.

    Oh and my kids are those kids that will hold the door open for someone else. They don’t have to be old. They have been taught to see a need and fill a need. That is how we all live and I wish everyone would live their life.
    Along these same lines, I agree with Susan ( above ) – Be Blessed – Be A Blessing.

Leave a Reply

