My 600-Pound Life…

TLC (The Learning About Borderline Insane People Channel… oops, too many extra letters), has a new series they’ve been airing called, My 600-Pound Life.  I wasn’t convinced that I actually wanted to watch it.  I don’t like to go back to that place when I weighed 530 pounds… and seeing these people and the way they mustered through their life at that weight would be bringing up all sorts of unpleasant memories.  But, then I socked myself in the head and decided it would be a good motivational tool… something that would help me be grateful for how far I’ve come and also to propel me forward to finish taking off the rest of this pesky pie lard.  So, I DVRed it.

Basically, a camera crew follows a person who weighs over 600 pounds over the course of 7 years.  In those 7 years, they undergo gastric bypass surgery, a couple of skin removal surgeries, and so many ups and downs in their weight that the roller coaster at Six Flags is jealous.  There have been 3 episodes so far and there is just one more next Wednesday… the series finale… for anyone who is interested in trying to catch them… I’m pretty sure if you look at a TLC guide they’ll probably be reairing all of the previous episodes too.

It was depressing as all get out for me… and yet I did find myself counting myself lucky that at least I was more mobile than these folks.  They all had to ride around in jazzies just to get around… I never had to do that even at my highest… so, I was super grateful for my mobility.

It was also interesting to see that they ALL had trouble with weight gain after their gastric bypass surgeries.  For anyone who has followed this blog long enough, I had the surgery about 11 years ago, and I gained every ounce I had lost back.  It really is a tool… not a miracle cure… and most super morbidly obese people who aren’t ready to change their lifestyle, will not be successful even with the surgery tool.  I definitely learned that the hard way… but I guess you can’t regret it if it taught you a thing or 12 in the long run.

Overall, I was glad I watched this show.  If anything, it bolstered my desire to want to keep going… and also to never return to the quarter ton years!

*********

Meanwhile… a bit of FYI for all you clueless folk out there.  You may have realized that this year was Leap Year… aka add one extra day to February just to make February feel better about itself.  But, I bet you didn’t know that they’ve now added an additional additional day.  Thank all that be holy that my Thomas Light English Muffins let me in on this secret!

So, in case you’re wondering… my muffins expire February 30th… mark it on your calendar… even if you have to pencil in the additional day.  It’s kind of like Daylight Savings Time, except with actual days instead of hours.

Question of the Day:  Have you seen this TLC show?  What did you think? 

8 Comments

Filed under Gastric Bypass Surgery

8 responses to “My 600-Pound Life…

  1. Sarah

    That’s doesn’t surprise me at all. We own a territory from that company and we’ve seen and heard it all. That’s the dimwits that work in the bakery, wherever it may be since they are changing everything with the buy-out of Sara Lee. Call and complain. They’ll send you free coupons. I do it all the time.

  2. jen

    That’s a funny expiration date! I have never watched that show but it sounds very interesting.

  3. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Another beautiful photo, Whitney ( not the muffins )

    Question of the Day: Have you seen this TLC show? What did you think?

    I must not get this channel b/c I have never heard of this show.
    By the way…what is a ‘jazzie’ ??
    “They all had to ride around in jazzies just to get around”

  4. Chelsea

    I’ve seen all 3 episodes that have aired thus far and…I have cried during each and every one. The first one with, Ohh sucks what was the ladies name, broke my heart. To see her in the store and the comment that man said. How could anyone be so cruel. I can’t stand that there are people who feel like it its their place to bring others down. I love every heartfelt minute of those episodes

    • Ooo… that guy in the grocery store made me so angry!! I cannot even imagine there are actually people like him out there, but there are… I’ve come in contact with my share over the years. It’s so sad!

Leave a Reply

