I’m Like MacGyver In the Kitchen!

Don’t hate… congratulate!   I never watched the show MacGyver whilst it was on, but I hear that dude could make anything out of anything.  I think he once made a car out of some dental floss and an empty toilet paper tube.  Dead serious… and then Chuck Norris came along and powered it with his Flinstone legs.  Coming up on a very special episode of The Facts of Life… MacGyver and Tootie make their escape in Flosstube-mobile!

I tried to become MacGyver in the kitchen tonight… with not-s0-impressive results.  I think it’s because I was missing a cup of Chuck Norris and a dollop of Richard Simmons’s rhinestones.  I first set out to make what’s called Sopa Seca con Frijoles, which is Spanish for dry soup with the magical fruit.  Firstly, who knew you could cook pasta in such a small amount of liquid… and secondly… ALWAYS use a nonstick pan… ALWAYS!!  I done scrubbed all the grease out of both elbows trying to scrape the dried up wheat spaghetti off the bottom of that pan.  I was sure from the moment I put those things together in the pan that it would turn out horrid.  Surprisingly, I was wrong.  It was actually pretty tastee… and I’ve decided if there’s a next time I venture to make me a dry soup that I’ll put more liquid… because this sucker was DRY-EIEIO.

Sopa Seca with 1 ounce of mozzarella on top was only 347 calories with 8 grams of fiber and 15 grams of protein.

My MacGyver moment came when I decided I was going to take a brownie recipe and de-calorize it… aka make it bland and tasteless, but only 122 calories per serving!   Instead of the oil, I blended together 3/4 cup of black beans and 1/2 a cup of unsweetened applesauce.  I also cut the sugar down by half and burnt 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips when I left it on too long to melt in the micro-oven.  Stupid micro-oven and even stupider chocolate chips… MacGyver, Jr. was not to be blamed in this instance… guarantee you it!  When all was said and done my black bean/applesauce brownies came out looking like this:

They look done don’t they!?!?!?  WRONG!!!  Alex Trebek… what have they won!?  I discovered 2 hours later when I went to cut into it that the edges were done but the middle was like brown soup… not an attractive brown soup, mind you.  These brownies weren’t that bad for 122 calories… they were definitely better than the 90-calorie FiberOne brownies that taste like a cardboard box on a shingle to me, but next time I’ll save all the work I went to and eat the chocolate chips out of the bag instead.  All that work for a brownie craving!?  MacGyver does not approve!!

Question of the Day:  Would you prefer to have a bigger portion of a de-calorized recipe or a smaller portion of the REAL thing? 

16 Comments

Filed under Calorizing, Food

16 responses to “I’m Like MacGyver In the Kitchen!

  1. deannawade@gmail.com

    I’m for the smaller portion of the real thing–less work and much tastier. My problem is I have a problem being satisfied with a smaller portion!!

  2. jen

    That’s a pretty picture of the stake ctr. I prefer a smaller portion of the real thing because I am all about quality not quantity. Taste is important. Have I shared with you my healthy brownie recipe? If not I need to find it. It’s low fat and uses whole wheat flour.

  3. Julie

    Smaller portion of the real thing, if it’s something I really love. However, things that I enjoy, but don’t LOVE, I can do with a revised version (like an ice cream sandwich, or chicken salad… not a brownie).

  4. Avster

    A small portion of the real thing… but if no one is looking it my be a regular size of the real thing… 😉

  5. dessawade

    Definitely a smaller portion of the real thing for me. Those brownies were nasty, don’t let Whitney kid you!

  6. Deanna

    That is too funny! I just made a pan of black bean brownies last night – although this was my second attempt at it. The first attempt, was much like yours. You could definitely taste the black beans and the texture was all there. However, I am happy to say that last nights attempt went MUCH better! The black beans were totally undetectible and these puppies came in around 60 calories (for a Fiber One size portion), 6 carbs, 3 grams of fat and 4 grams of protein. Not bad for a dessert, huh!? No really, they taste pretty good!

    Recipe in case anyone wants to give it a try:

    1 can (15.5 oz) black beans, drained and rinsed
    4 large eggs (although to save fat, I used Egg Beaters)
    2 tbsp EVOO
    1 tsp vanilla extract
    1 c sugar substitute
    3 tbsp unsweetened dark cocoa powder
    1 tsp baking powder
    ¼ tsp salt

    Heat oven to 350. Coat 8×8” baking pan with Pam.
    In food processor, combine beans, eggs, oil, vanilla, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, and salt. Process until smooth.
    Scrape the batter into the pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.

  7. OK so black beans in a brownie just sounds wrong! My friend tried substituting pureed white beans for the fat in a recipe for snickerdoodles once. They tasted OK – but they did not taste like snickerdoodles mind you. They definitely would not satisfy the craving (if you were craving snicker doodles that is)! And for me that’s the worst – to go to all that work and then still have the stupid craving for the real thing. Wasn’t the whole point of making the funky kind to satisfy that craving? Anywho – my goal is generally not to have anything around. If I have the real thing that I’m craving around – I can’t eat just one. I can eat none and be OK, but if I eat one – it’s like opening the floodgate you know? Then I have to eat more, and more – until I feel sick 😦 I went to a party with the chocolate candy coated cadbury eggs last week. I probably ate 3/4 of the bowl. They sure tasted good – but I did feel sick after. It reminds me why I don’t ever keep that stuff around. Somehow when Valentine’s Day comes around – my hubby doesn’t get the memo! Nor do my visiting teachers!

    • Oh my gadfrey… those candy-coated Cadbury eggs are to die for!!!! I think I’ll have to pass on the white bean snickerdoodle recipe… somehow this brownie recipe did me in for beans in anything that’s supposed to be sweet.

  8. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    I made brownies last week. I just sub the natural unsweet applesauce for the oil and they turned out great – as always. No one can tell any difference.
    I have never heard anyone put beans in their brownies so that is a new one on me.
    Kind of like broiling grapefruit – never heard of that one either until today but my friend says its tasty.

    Question of the Day: Would you prefer to have a bigger portion of a de-calorized recipe or a smaller portion of the REAL thing?

    I would much rather have a smaller portion of the real thing!!
    I am a real food kinda gal!

  9. Alena

    You totally are like Macgyver. Your sopa seca looks yummy. As for the brownies–sorry for the disappointing results after so much effort. I hate it when that happens!

Leave a Reply

