Your Excuse Is Invalid…

I’m going to go out on a limb here and just crown me Excuse Queen of the Century.  Sorry, title is taken… it’s mine… ALL MINE!  *** insert evil laughing from the Wicked Whitney of the West ***

He better hide out from WWW because I have this overwhelming urge to scoop him up and store him in my pocket for times when I need someone to bop me in the noggin and tell me I’m a lazy idiot.  What a kid.  Just look at him… a big ole smile on that precious face of his… running like it ain’t no thing… and here I sit grumping my way through the thought of getting together a better, more consistent weightlifting regime.  If you’d rather not call me Wicked Whitney of the West, I also answer to Grumpy the 7th Dwarf and/or Grumpy the CareBear.  I have a bunch of excuses for why I don’t want to lift weights more consistently… a.) BORING… 2.)  BORING… c.)  It would require me to lift heavy things… 4.)  I hate lunges and squats… d.) I don’t have proper footwear… 5.) We ain’t in Kansas anymore, Toto… e.) Cookies aren’t heavy enough… 6.) Dumb bells have germs… f.) 48 Hours:  Mystery is on… 7.)  Dick Clark is the man!

Guess what, Whit… your excuses are invalid… all of ’em!

Question of the Day:  What’s the favorite “excuse” you use? 

 PS… Happy Weekend friends.  Hope you have a fabulous one… and come back next week because it is my blogiversary and there will be at least one giveaway! 

16 Comments

Filed under Exercise

16 responses to “Your Excuse Is Invalid…

  1. Lindsay

    I love this lil boy! What an inspiration

  2. Julie

    Whitney, your posts are like a gourmet meal… The title’s an appetizer, peaking my curiosity and drawing me in for a bite. Reading the content, gives me a chuckle, hitting the spot dead on. The content with a chunk of meat and a thin crusting of “fat” humor giving it a tender, palatable texture. Then the question, making me think about myself a little more. The reflection like a lingering of perfectly mixed spices having marinated overnight… and finally the tantalizing desert… the photo. The photos are breath taking. They leave me with a warm, sweet feeling. Come to think of it, I’m stuffed and haven’t had breakfast yet… Thanks!

    My excuses:1) I have a tummy ache, headache or some other kind of ache. Something hurts, I’m serious. 2) I didn’t get enough rest last night, or maybe it was the night before. 3) My work out partner isn’t coming, I’ll be too bored alone 4) I was gonna take my dog, and he looks too tired. 5) If I didn’t have to clean up after everyone I’d have time to work out today… I know there’s something messy here. 6) If I work out, I’ll be sweaty and I have errands to run where someone might see me. 7) Isn’t today my rest day for the week? If not, maybe I ought to start my week today, with a rest day. 8) Oh my, look at those photos of those women with bulky man-muscles! I had better slow down. 9) I’ll just go lightly on food intake today. 10) I feel a cold coming on, well my son has a runny nose, and I need the rest to prevent it.

  3. Avster

    “Whitney told me to!”

  4. christie

    Just one? I have a zillion, fully loaded and ready to deploy at any time.

  5. Jen

    Bring your gym clothes when you come up in March. Seth can get you a guest pass at Anytime Fitness and will teach you a good workout. He is good at customizing weight routines just for women. You might find you like it after awhile.

  6. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Love that pic!
    He is adorable and so I had to make him my desktop …lol
    Thanks for sharing it Whitney.

    Gorgeous pic by the way!

    Question of the Day: What’s the favorite “excuse” you use?

    I have several excuses that play like a broken record through my head at any given time during the day so I do the exact opposite ( I know I am stubborn that way ).

    “i’m too tired’ – I get up and get moving.
    “i’m too sore” – I get up and start stretching & make a fresh fruit smoothie with ginger in it to help.
    “i have so much to get done today” – I make the time for myself….just like brushing my teeth…it has to be something I do.

  7. What a darling boy! Love that smile! My usual excuse is I’m too tired or I don’t have enough time–but I always feel better if I actually exercise. I just started listening to a book on tape while I exercise and it has made the time pass much more pleasantly. Have a great weekend!

    • Ooo… books on tape is a fabulous idea. I will have to do that next time I get out my weightlifting equipment. Re: the drinks… I totally have fond memories of the drink making… but only when we made someone else drink them!!

  8. Deanna

    Whitney – I just have to say that I LOVE this post. This one really hits near the heart!

  9. So I learned at my gym (cross fit type stuff) that weight lifting is actually safer without shoes on because your balance stays more in line. There you go! No more poor shoe excuses. YAY!

    Also, the workouts, from my gym, are all on line and they have started adding what they call “Homestyle” workouts. For the times you can’t make it into the gym with all the equipment. It’s a beautiful thing. http://www.gppfitness.com/

    My excuses?

    Too tired. I’ll be a grumpy mom if I get up now to go exercise.

    Surely I’ll find a way to squeeze it in later.

    Sleep is sooooooooooo nice.

    • Rock on with your bad self, Emilie! Thanks for that link… I’m totally going to check it out to get me some varied weightlifting moves. You do know that now that I know about the no shoes thing, I’ll start blaming my “slippery” socks!? 😛

Leave a Reply

