Clear Eyes, Full Hearts… Can’t Lose!

That quote is from my favorite TV show, Friday Night Lights.  I like it because it’s not deep and yet it’s deeeeeeeeeppppp… like drowning in a pile of quicksanding cow manure.  Let’s face it, I ain’t going to win everything in this life I’m living.  It ain’t possible.  Sometimes I am going to lose, but I believe that even if I come out on the losing end of the stick, I can still be a winner just by having had the experience… just by having gone through the journey.  That’s some deep heifer crap right there, right?

I can definitely say right up front that I’ve not always had that attitude.  I’d say from about the age of 13 through the age of 29, I just thought I was on a downward spiral of losing.  Nothing I did turned out right and things were just getting worse and worse.  At one point, I couldn’t even walk half a block for crying out loud!  I had no control of the situations I was put into, nor the results.  I was a victim of my bad luck… my surroundings… I was just a girl who would always get the bad end of the stick.  It was a gradual decline over those years into the pit of despair and hopelessness.  I cried a lot… I thought a lot… I woe is me-ed a lot.  It was like living in a sewer hole in the town of Patheticville.  I’m not only a resident… I’m the town Mayor.

Having come out on the other side, I can truly see why I needed to go through that heifer crap.  It’s like lifting a veil; I can now see so clearly what my problems were and I now know what needs to be done to get them fixed… and I’m willing to work for it.  I’m not winning all the time even today, but it’s that constant desire to keep trying that I didn’t have during those years that keeps me trucking along.  Those battling years weren’t a loss… I came out having won the war.

Clear  Eyes… Full Hearts… Can’t Lose!  Ever!

I bought this necklace to wear as a reminder.  I stil have things to win up in this here joint.  DO IT!!

Question of the Day:  Do you have a favorite quote? 

21 Comments

Filed under Quotes

21 responses to “Clear Eyes, Full Hearts… Can’t Lose!

  1. deannawade@gmail.com

    Whitney–can you hear me clapping for you–good attitude!!!!

  2. cl2

    “I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”

    from Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (not like I liked the movie or anything, but love this quote. My kids LOVED the movie.)

  3. jen

    What a cool necklace! I like that tv show too. You always come up with such inspirational stuff on your blog. Thanks for not quitting. I love reading it every day.

  4. Avster

    The only quote coming to my mind is “People who don’t like cats seem to think there is some peculiar virtue in disliking them.”

    I was going to ask if you found the necklace on etsy and then I read the url. 🙂

    • Avster

      You’re amazing, Whit! One would have thought that it was the purple dinosaur’s song that was stuck in my head as that’s what was mentioned, but no, you correctly answered with the neverending song!

    • I thought you were going to give me your favorite dog quote! GEEZ! As for me being all psychotic… PSYCHIC… I totally know which songs you love the best. I could sing you some other annoying songs, but I’ll save it for another day when you need something annoying.

  5. kim

    Hi Whitney…Love it, Love it, Love it!! Thanks again for your encouraging words!! Kim

  6. dessawade

    Thanks for inspiring me Whit! You always know just what to say. I am STILL a proud mom!

  7. Deanna

    You are just amazing, Whitney! I love it!

    You are such an inspiration to everyone! So many people are feeling those same feelings you were years ago and hopefully they will feel some motivation, inspiration and HOPE from your words!

  8. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Gorgeous necklace, Whitney!!

    Question of the Day: Do you have a favorite quote?

    I have several favorites. Here are a few…

    “Some people want it to happen, some people wish it would happen, some people MAKE it Happen” Let’s go out there and Make It Happen ~~ Unknown Author ”

    “May the rain wash away your worries. May the wind blow strength and courage in your direction. May the sun shine light on your path and be your guide”

    “Start by doing what’s necessary; then do what’s possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible”. ~Unknown

    ” Success is a journey not a destination. The doing is often more important than the outcome. ” –Arthur Ashe

    “Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming — ‘ WOW, WHAT A RIDE!!!! ‘ ”

    “You must act as if it is impossible to fail.” – Ashaniti proverb.

  9. Lindsay

    Love the necklace and the quote! GREAT INSPIRATION

  10. Dena

    Wow, you gave me lots to think about today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

