Glory Hallelujah!

This past week I wore a hole in the carpet of my brain through worry pacing.  That’s a talent… the carpet installers have yet to figure out how I got carpet up in my brain.  Why the worn out brain carpet?  I was asked weeks or months ago to sing at a multi-stake function being held this past Saturday.  Of course I said yes those many weeks and/or months ago because I was healthier than Mr. Ed on an All Bran diet.  (Y’all young’uns will have no clue who Mr. Ed is… I barely know myself… but he’s a horse of course… and no one can talk to a horse of course… that is, of course, unless the horse is the famous Mr. Ed!)  I may or may not have forgotten what I was talking about… oh yes… I said yes to the singing because I love to sing and because I was like the rock of Gibraltar of wellness!

Of course, there’s an unwritten fine print disclaimer in the book of the Universe… if someone asks you to do something requiring a vocal cord, you will more than likely get an upper respiratory infection in which you can barely talk let alone sing the week of said performance.  Karma… I don’t know whose karma I done caught but it was someone’s and I was not appreciative.  Keep your Karmas to yourselves, people… or next time I’d rather have the karma payback in which I get run over by a bus… preferrably a yellow school bus since they are obvs made for fat kids… especially when they require 3 people to squish into one tiny seat.

So, anyway… I was worried.  Three days before D-day I had a raspy-sounding voice and it more sounded like a cat in heat when I tried to belt out the musical number… and forget the high notes… ain’t no high notes passing these vocal blobules.  I swear to you I had crud balls/goober clumps 5 feet deep down the ole throat space (oh, quit saying gross… goober clumps are a national tragedy!)  There were many times where I almost picked up the phone to call and tell them I couldn’t do it.  They’d have to understand that… when you sing, your voice is your instrument and when your voice don’t work… you might as well have left your instrument on the bus.  Also, judging from past experience when Whitney gets an upper respiratory infection, we’re talking at least 3 or 4 weeks before the goober clumps fully leave the brain carpet… and I only had 4 days of illness under my belt at that point.

So… we prayed… I prayed… my mom prayed… and Saturday morning came and went… and I made it through my song… goober clumps be durned.  I know I had help from a higher power.  Standing on that stage, picturing the audience wearing a clown shoe on their heads (I had to banish picturing the audience nekked YEARS ago… A.)  it’s not proper in any setting that doesn’t contain a pole and/or disc jockey… and b.)  Just EWW!), having worried the whole week, I felt a strength in voice I hadn’t felt the last 4 days.  Not my best voice… and definitely not under the circumstances I would have liked to have had… but a semi-clear voice nonetheless.  Prayer is powerful… I’m not preaching… I’m just saying.  I can find no other reason for my tiny miracle.

Question of the Day:  Do you have a “trick” for calming the nerves in front of an audience?  I might need to steal it!

 

 

21 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Little Things

21 responses to “Glory Hallelujah!

  1. jen

    That’s a good story about prayer. I am glad you did ok singing. I bet you were worried.

  2. deannawade@gmail.com

    Living right does pay off. The Lord has blessed you with a great talent and sounds like he wants you to share it. Good job.

  3. Avster

    I don’t have much of a problem with my nerves, but if there is a slight problem I just have to tell myself, “Most of these people probably won’t even remember what I looked like by the end of next week, so if I do miserably I’ll still be anonymous.”

  4. Deanna

    That’s great, Whitney! I have no tips for calming the nerves in front of crowds because I just don’t do it. Period. Under ANY circumstance.

  5. cl2

    No–and I never find myself in front of an audience any longer purposely. I taught R.S. for 4 years–I’m shocked I survived.

    • Wow, Colleen. I did not know this about you. 4 years! I bow to you. I had that calling… they fired me after my first lesson because I was such a wreck! It was horrid!

  6. Phil Berger

    I just pretend that I am naked resulting in all members of the audience leaving. Thus, nothing to be nevous about.

  7. Louisa a.k.a. ProudMomOfTwo

    Question of the Day: Do you have a “trick” for calming the nerves in front of an audience? I might need to steal it!

    Preparation
    Prayer
    Deodorant
    Deep calming breathes

  8. Loved the blog, Whitney – – and wish I could have heard you, as I’m sure you are your most severe critic. Amen on the power of prayer. Can’t tell you how many times mine have been answered, especially when I was most in need. Have now tricks that work for the nerves. Wish I did, as that’s always been a problem for me when performing.

  9. You did an awesome job! I cried, which happens quite frequently for me – especially during disney movies and commercials! 😉

    I haven’t had to sing a solo in years. I do fine with duets – but I get awfully nervous if it’s a solo and I’m up there all by my lonesome! You always sound superb! Have you thought about teaching singing lessons before?

    I think I’m going to join a racquetball league this week. It pretty much scares me A LOT, but I figure if I’m really going to get any better – I just have to get out of my comfort zone and do it anyway! I definitely buckle under pressure at times (when there is an audience involved), but I’ve been working on just concentrating on myself. If I quit worrying about my opponent and what he or she may be thinking as well as any spectators there may be and concentrate on just working on my own game – it seems to help. Here’s crossing my fingers!

    Thanks so much for having such an awesome blog! And sharing your sweet voice 🙂

    • Thank you, Taralee… I’m not alone in my weeping at commercials lunacy! It’s really pathetic… and it’s ten times worse during the special time of the month!

      How exciting that you are signing up for the racquetball league… and very admirable if it is out of your comfort zone. It’s so hard to push it to that next level… you’re doing it. Pat yourself on the back! Keep me updated on how it goes!

      I’ve been asked if I’d teach voice lessons but I can’t think of a think I’d be able to offer anyone besides… open your mouth and make sounds come out!

  10. Way to go girl! Wish I could have heard your beee-autiful voice! Hope those goobers leave you alone soon. Love the picture–great mountains, aren’t they?!

  11. My tip for calming nerves – Realize you are going to do it anyway. Yep, you are simply going to stand there and talk in front of that audience. Now, you can do this and be nervous or calm. Either way it is going to happen. The thing is, if you choose to be calm about it, it is going to come off way better. Also you are going to enjoy it more. So – take a deep breath…get your butt up there and do it. It’ll be over in a bit.

Leave a Reply

